We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Middleport Pottery - Home of Burleigh
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Burslem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Middleport Pottery Home of Burleigh is a unique visitor attraction. We are open to the public and have a whole host of things to see and do. -Burleigh Factory Shop Open Mon-Sat 9am-5pm/Sun 10am-4pm -Middleport Visitor Centre Open Tues-Sun 10am-4pm -Cafe Open Mon-Sun 9am-4pm (Service ends at 3.30pm) -Factory Tours Tues-Thurs at 11am and 2pm, and Fri at 10.30am (all guided tours must be pre-booked) On arriving at the visitor centre reception situated in the old lodge you can collect a map designed to guide you through areas of the factory that bring to life the history of the building and the people behind the pottery itself. Enjoy tea and cake on the canal side in the cafe. Understand the whole production process on one of the pre-booked guided tours. Then finish the day off with a visit to the Burleigh factory shop, where we have a wide range of handcrafted pottery. The Prince's Regeneration Trust raised £8.5 million to purchase the Middleport Pottery site and to carry out restoration work which prevented existing jobs and skills from being lost from the area and will ensure the future of this unique site. The funding came from a range of sources including the Regional Growth Fund, Heritage Lottery Fund, English Heritage and European Regional Development Fund as well as from private donors, Stoke-On-Trent City Council has been a key partner in the project. Middleport Pottery continues to be the 'Home of Burleigh'; the pottery business which occupies approximately half the site. Burleigh is now owned by Denby Holdings and they continue to produce beautiful ware in the building which has been their home since it was built in 1888. Opened in 2014 Middleport Pottery features a visitor's centre, Tearoom, Middleport Studios, Burleigh Factory Shop, Exhibitions and fully restored Steam Engine.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A step back in time - may this remain the same forever! Bought some beautiful gifts. Unforgettable experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    60
    8
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just go and see it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The best that the Potteries has to offer! This place is a gem and anybody with an interest in pottery, elegant tableware, lovely cups and jugs and a nostalgic whiff of times gone by should go right out of their way to experience this place. I only live a few miles away and make sure to take family and friends here for a visit - it makes a lovely little trip out. Even those with no apparent interest are converts by the time they leave the shop. I tell you, driving through the rather degenerate urban landscape of Burslem, this is the very last thing you'd expect to see. Hopefully the Heritage fund and the extra spotlight shed on this place by HRH Charles will help to ensure the longevity of this wonderful pottery.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyMel14d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took part in a tour whilst this pottery is undergoing refurbishment (hard hats and high viz jackets provided!). Booking is essential, as only six people allowed per tour, at a suggested donation of £5 each. Our guide from the Prince's Regeneration Trust was knowledgeable, but also so charmingly enthusiastic. The workers in the pottery were friendly and welcomed our questions. It was a privilege to see their unique technique of under-glaze tissue transferring and marvel at the skill of the workers. This tour was our highlight of a four-day visit to the Potteries, holding its own with our experience at Wedgwood and Moorcroft, which says it all! The pottery shop is full of beautiful wares, in nostalgic designs - we shall cherish our soapdish, having watched one of the women piercing out the plugs of clay, before sponging the rough edges off each hole! We hope to visit in Spring 2014 when the work will have been completed, but are so glad we have seen it at this stage.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“dont miss this old place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really good chance to take in how the old pot banks used to be. Still do tissue printing here which is unique to the Potteries. Fantastic setting. Will only get better now heritage funding has started. Quirky shop with local old school fixtures and friendly staff. Fire going in colder months so you can sit and enjoy a cuppa and a warm. Nice touch - help yourself to a cuppa and donations to local hospice. Typical of this friendly and welcoming old canal side factory. Absolutely charming place and wonderful ware.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Middleport Pottery "Burleigh"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We own a guest House and one of our visitors was working at Middleport Pottery. We have in the past seen places that say you are able to visit the factory but when we have looked the leaflets don't as yet publicise it. The guest assured us that you are able to visit so we booked over the telephone. It was really great to see the work being carried out as part of the regeneration of the pottery and to hear of the plans for the site in general, which are going to take some time to complete. The lady doing the tour was knowledgable and was able to give a good history of the building. Which is right next to the canal.
The cost to do the tour is £3, The tour is not suitable for disabled people and there are a number of steps to walk up and down. This is unavoidable because of the age of the building. We usually take mum to visit the different attraction but left her behind for this one. We would however revisit in about 18 month when the work should be nearing completion and the cafe will be open then!
I loved watching the workers transport the pottery via a plank of wood balanced on their shoulders up and down stairs, you just know that if I were to try it there would be a huge crash.
We enjoyed visiting the factory shop, where the staff were very friendly, a nice touch is the free tea and coffee that you are able to help yourself to.
The factory tour takes about 3/4 of an hour but you do need to book in advance and don't take place every day. I did take some photos but checked with individuals before hand an interesting visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mandjankers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleport Pottery - Home of Burleigh also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Middleport Pottery - Home of Burleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing