We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mix bag..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a work course. The room was a good size and comfortable. But as mentioned in another review the mattress was not so great.
I ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night and took the 3 course deal which was amazing value. The fish and chips was just a huge portion and great value for money. Quirky done Creme Bruise served in a cup and saucer..
Staff were friendly and attentive.

Breakfast however disappointed me. There was no love on that plate.. Deep fried mushrooms.. Not good and use smaller plates that way you don't have to fill it with beans..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank bullchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 389 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed for just one night whilst on business in the area. Check in was very easy and the lady who did this made me feel very welcome and she was friendly. I tend to avoid the major chain hotels as they lack personality so I thought this hotel would be just what I needed.

I upgraded to an executive room ( 23 ) which was not too bad at all. It was in an annex just away from the main building. I did not mind the dated bathroom as the room was warm and spacious...it had personality which is what I like about places like this.

I ate in the hotel and the food was not too bad at all. Again the staff were really pleasant and helpful. I had whitebait to start which was excellent. I then went for the mixed grill which was not so good. The black pudding was rock hard and the triple cooked chips that were advertised looked very dubious and I would have betted next months salary that they were frozen! I did not think the mixed grill was particularly good value for money at £14.99 and I have had much nicer for cheaper elsewhere on my travels. It was not really bad or anything but it could have been so much nicer with just a little more care.

So far I was satisfied with my stay and would have certainly come back if I was ever in the area but then came the biggest bug bear of any stay in a hotel. The matress in the "executive" room was so poor. I could feel every spring and it was just a cheap and nasty domestic type. The most important aspect of any stay in a hotel is a good nights sleep for a business guest so why disappoint in this critical area? I just dont get it as I would never return here as a result. I would never return anywhere that had uncomfortable beds! ( no matter how good everything else was ).

As I drove away from here I was quite sad that it had let itself down with such an elementary and important part of the stay...a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went for late lunch yesterday with 2 friends. Probably the best fish and chips, I've ever had! Absolutely delicious. My friends both had reasonable meals, good but not amazing. Service was attentive but not overbareing. We sat there for about 2-3 hours with no pressure to leave. A very pleasant afternoon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Don't let the title or review put you off. This is a perfectly fine independent hotel. It is too big to be niche or boutique but not perhaps big enough to interest a major chain of hotels. Hotel was spotless if a little 'lived in'. Some refurb work wouldn't go amiss, but staff were all good. Breakfast was pretty good, not the best but by no means the worst (that would be the Ibis in Carlisle). But best of all was the value - family of four, one night in a family room including breakfast - £65.00 very good value value indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eebeegeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It was my second new year at the Himley,shocked anyone could give a bad review,what on earth do people expect for £10 which includes a buffet and entertainment!! The Staff,dressed up for the 80's theme and I certainly didnt begrudge them joining in to welcome the new year.Claire, the Manager goes above and beyond her duties to make sure everyone has a good time,if anyone has cause to complain she does everything in her power to resolve any issues.My partner and myself had booked a room for the night which was warm,comfortable and clean.WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Room 8,very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a perfect way to start a New Year! Greeted warmly at the door I attended the NYE extravaganza with family and friends. We all experienced the most amazing hospitality from all staff. The events manager and team cultivated a welcoming party atmosphere which pleased the most fickle of our adolescents and the rest of the group. The talents of the staff were endless; a very polished performance of the Macarena whilst multi-tasking was a joy to behold! The hot buffet was plentiful and delicious.It was difficult to prize us off the dance floor but even though we weren't first in the buffet queue there remained plenty of choice. The DJ and 80's theme night was impressive. Staff were helpful and informative whilst creating a festive fun atmosphere. A truly awesome NYE and one we shall never forget. Huge thanks and a well deserved Happy 2014 to the event manager and team. We are returning soon to sample the wonderful menu. Julia xxx

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 180Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to the Himley for New Year's Eve. We paid £10 for our tickets and must admit it's money well spent. The atmosphere, staff and entertainment were fab and food was delicious with more than enough to go round and if anything was running low it was soon topped up so no one was left without.The 80s theme was great and many got in the spirit with some great costumes. The staff went out of their way to make guests welcome and made the night a memorable one so a big pat on the back to everyone involved. Looking forward to the next one

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himley
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
3.5 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
5.1 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
946 reviews
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel

Address: Wolverhampton Road | Himley Near Dudley, Himley DY3 4LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Himley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing