We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Himley in the heatwave” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Himley Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Himley Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Himley in the heatwave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived on a coach for an overnight stay there was no porterage so we had to carry our cases to room 223 which seemed to be miles away upstairs and through a warren of passages. The room was clean and modern but had no aircon which would have been handy on such a hot weekend luckily the room was shaded by trees .The meal was good, a choice of starters a carvery and a choice of desserts. The bar was quite expensive but there was a good pub The Dudley Arms only about 100yards away. It was a buffet breakfast so could have what you wanted all good

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear brishaw

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the meals you had with us and I am sorry to hear you found the bar to be expensive as we are very competitively priced in the local area. We don't offer porterage as a standard but usually have someone that can help with bags if requested.

I hope you will consider the Himley Country Hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    135
    144
    108
    165
See reviews for
121
225
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Living in the South East where hotel prices are exhorbitant and having a son at Wolverhampton Uni, we have now taken this hotel as our nest. I agree, it is average but if you have booked via the internet at a very competitive price you can only expect average facilities, yes the rooms are a bit dated, the shower is not the most powerful but the receptionists are polite and helpul (once there was a big party and we asked for another room and it was immediately provided).
If you want quality you need to pay for it and for us it is functional and extremely reasonable (we haven't tried the breakfast as my son cooks it...so may be we ought to try it!!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Domino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear 1Domino70

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that the Himley Country Hotel has become your nest and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel the next time you visit your son.

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the himley hotel recently on a Saturday night as we were travelling to the area to attend a christening on the Sunday. Good location, 5-10 minute drive from the M6 in a secluded spot. We arrived late in the evening around 10.30pm(following a long motorway delay) but a gentleman on reception was awaiting us. Friendly & pleasant check in and we were offered a half price breakfast which we declined (tea/coffee provided in the room anyway) & directed to our room. I'd requested a twin room in quiet location, both of which were granted; allocated a room towards the back of the hotel on the ground floor. I've never slept so soundly in a hotel of this size! The room was spacious, adequately clean (we did find 2 woodlouse in the bathroom but we think they had crept in with the weather being so hot outside!) with a large tv, wardrobe and a large bathroom with a shower over the bath. The shower was warm but not very powerful & the toilet water tank was noisy when flushed, but this the only negative. The room a little dated but the beds were comfortable (we took our own pillows which I was grateful for; the ones provided looked flat!) I paid £20 for a night here which quite frankly was a bargain! Cheaper than a traveldoge and actually (although unexpectedly) better quality! I wouldn't personally choose to stay here for anything other than a stop-over; for which it was very convienient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Patch90

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stop-over with us. Where possible we always try to honour requests and I am delighted that we were able to provide the quiet twin room you had asked for. It is also great to hear that your welcome was friendly and pleasant as first impressions count and we pride ourselves on our customer service.

I do hope you will choose the Himley Country Hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

3 Star Hotel - Average across the board.
Staff are friendly and reasonably attentive.
Bar prices less reasonable than expected.
Room pretty average, nothing worth writing home about. Additional bed for my son was a bit pathetic - it even sank when he slept on it and he's 8!!
Breakfast, again, average. Steered clear of the greasy eggs and sausages.
Would I return again? At a push. It's a tired looking hotel - could so with a bit of attention around the communal areas.
As a hotel it's not bad but it's not amazing either. I think - meh! Sums it up!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuLou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear JuLou23

Thank you for your review. We offer value for money accommodation at three star level. We pride ourselves on our customer service so are pleased you found the staff to be friendly. I am sorry to hear that the bed your son had was not adequate, we have now looked at all of our 'z' beds to ensure they are of a good standard. We do hope you visit the hotel again and if your son is joining you, please ask for a single bed to be put into the room as we also have these available if you feel the 'z' bed is not suitable.

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked a three night stay from 28th June to 1st July. First impressions as we arrived were "oh my god!" The place was very grim and dated. Receptionist was friendly, however, when we got to the room it was dusty, dirty and dated. The double bed was actually a small double and the mattress was lumpy, with very cheap foam pillows, I would not have called it pillow. When taking a shower the shower head shot off and hit my husband in the back of the head. It had actually been attached with electrical tape. We tried to fix it but were unable to. After having it fall off and hit my husband several times, we gave up and walked over to talk to reception about it. The response was "we are full at the moment but can move you to a different room on Sunday afternoon." She said if they could get a hold of a maintenance bloke she would, but no one came and fixed it during our 3 night stay. We were there for a wedding and had no shower with which to clean up and get ready. The cooked breakfast was adequate at best. The sausages, if you can even call them that, lacked meat of any kind. The buffet ran out of hot food so we had to wait for more to be cooked. There is only one toaster for all patrons, and it only toasted one side, so each piece had to be put through twice, hence a long line developed. A main reason for booking this hotel was that it was a Best Western, so a certain standard was expected. Between booking the hotel and our arrival Best Western dropped them, yet we were not informed of this. There is NO way this place can be called a 3 star hotel!

Room Tip: DO NOT ever book this hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Twincaz

I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations on your recent visit. We decided to withdraw from Best Western in March this year but our hotel rating remains at three stars.

The shower has now been fully replaced and I am sorry that we could not move your room during your stay as we were fully booked that weekend.

Our breakfast, although buffet style is cooked as freshly as possible so your wait for food would mean it had not been sitting around all morning. Our sausages are supplied by our butcher and I can confirm they are pork sausages.

I do hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we can provide a three star hotel service to our guests.

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Himley hotels

Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were staying for an all-day conference with dinner in the evening. The conference facilities were good except that the roof window blinds let in too much light. So the slides were not as visible as they could have been. One of the blinds was broken and couldn't be closed. The buffet lunch and the dinner for the conference were very good, but we had booked an extra two nights and otherwise the food was pretty basic.
Our room was quite spacious but the fitting-out was very ordinary. The shower (no bath) was in need of attention. Turning it off needed several attempts.
The service was mixed. Some well-trained staff who worked very hard, but others left much to be desired.
It was very good value, nevertheless. But we'd rather pay more for something better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sidcol

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found our conference facilities and meals to be very good. We have now resloved the problem with the blind in the conference room so all are in fully working order. The showers are part of our on-going maintenance programme in the bedrooms so will get the attention you have suggested.

I hope you will visit the hotel again in the future

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We also attended the Paperweight conference in June but fortunately had fewer problems than a previous reviewer. The hotel is in a quiet, semi-rural location with a large car park on two sides. Our room was on the ground floor and quite small (our fault for booking late!) but well appointed other than a bedside lamp which didn't work. The real downside of the rooms is that the bathroom fans sound like Vulcan bombers taking off and can be heard from room to room - bad enough in the day but a real nuisance in the night. The conference venue was well organised and the staff very helpful in terms of bringing more chairs, etc and the buffet lunch was excellent and far more comprehensive than we might have expected. The evening meal was good if not exciting and breakfast was very good. I will say, however, that the coffee was appalling at every turn! I'm not a fan of strong coffee but something apparently made with one grain of coffee to several gallons of water is also unacceptable. The staff were excellent other than a largely absent (and rather brusque) barman on the Saturday night but, to be fair, we had seen him throughout the day doing a number of jobs - is this another hotel which is badly understaffed? When will hotel owners learn that the only way to give really good customer service is to have a really full complement of staff? In essence, as a venue for a conference, the hotel was more than adequate but the smaller bedrooms would be restricting if the stay were for more than one night or you had to spend any time in them. Size can be important!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerseye45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himley, General Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Tigerseye45

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found the conference well organised and the staff helpful. We take on board your other comments and will use them in our staff training.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again

Kind Regards

Matt Pullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himley
0.2 mi away
Himley House Hotel
Himley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
18.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
3.9 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himley Country Hotel

Property: Himley Country Hotel
Address: School Road, Himley DY3 4LG, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Himley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Himley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Himley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himley Country Dudley
Himley Country Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing