We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit, 12 months on.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pattingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having visited the hotel last year and was delighted with the whole package we decided to return this year and booked our rooms before we left. Hence first problem. On arrival we were told that some of the rooms we had booked were not available. Alternatives had been given. Therefore booking for a party of twelve, 12months in advance and paying a deposit was a waste of time.
The golf course itself is beautiful and a credit to the greenkeepers, but the booking system does need to be looked at. Too many tee times crammed in (obviously for money) is resulting in five hour rounds. This is far too long, especially when you then have to rush to get ready for dinner.
On one of the nights, all the people who had the lamb had to return it as it was too tough to eat (also other tables not in our party).
Some parts of the hotel are starting to look slightly tired. To enable our group to sit together for coffee we moved a sofa round a little and found what looked as if the floor hadn't been hoovered for months.
Having been negative so far there is definately one plus - two gentlemen who are a credit to Patshull, they are Steve Moore, the starter (hopefully got his name correct) and the Pro in the Pro's Shop.These two gentlemen went out of their way to be helpfull and friendly and deserve recognition. Well done guys.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish-golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Trish - golf ,
Thank you for your comments , and for the positive score following your recent visit .
I believe your party all received Lakeview rooms and I am sorry if they were not the exact room numbers requested but we do our best to meet the ever changing requirements of over 18,000 sleepers each year.
Our teetimes have always been set at 8 minute intervals ; Patshull is a very popular course and we do try to maintain reasonable speeds of play by restricting novices through handicap stipulations .We also offer advice on ways to speed up play via the Blogs on our web site , however slow play has been an increasing problem for some years throughout the golfing world.
I will most certainly pass on your praise to our Golf teams ; like all of the staff they take great pride in their efforts to provide good hospitality - I will also speak to the Night Manager about the lounge areas .
Hopefully we will see you back at Patshull Park .

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 649 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from our annual pilgrimage to Patshull Park. Once again had a wonderful few days there Staff very helpful friendly & attentive, food & accommodation up to usual high standards - the evening meals were exceptionally good & a great varied selection for all 3 courses. Golf course very well presented & in great condition.
All in all a perfect break - a big thank you to all the Staff at the hotel & look forwards to our next visit !!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Sue- Liverpool ,
On behalf of the entire team , may I thank you for your all- encompassing
praise . It is pleasing to know that we are maintaining our standards , and even exceeding the expectations of our regular clients .

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Attentive staff, wonderful location, excellent food - and unobtrusively helpful to our disabled guests at the MS Society celebratory meal.

The event was perfect in every detail - Jo understood the needs of the group and made sure everyone was comfortable from booking until we left. Plentiful parking, good disabled toilets and a relaxed atmosphere - just what we need.

Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear KarenKew ,
Thank you for you kind words following the recent celebratory meal at Patshull Park ; we have excellent facilities for larger groups , and I am delighted that you found all aspects of the event , from planning to execution , to your satisfaction .
We hope to see you again at Patshull Park Hotel .

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The settings for this hotel are out of this world it is set in wonderfull lakes. If you like golf or fishing this is for you. Even people who just want to chill out it is fantastic. The hotel is very clean and the staff do every thing to help make your stay very pleasent. The food is very good we did have a small problem as one of our party is gluten free and it was a problem finding her things on the menu that she could eat. They did there best but it would help if they could do more. The only downside was our view from our room which was a large hedge but this was our bad luck as all the rest of the party had either golf course or lake view.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear BarbaraMPet,
Thank you for your input following your family get together ; I am delighted that you found the hotel staff friendly and helpful . We have wonderful scenery and great facilities , and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .
I am sorry if a member of your party experienced a limitation of food options ; we do maintain a stock of gluten free bread , and thickening agent so that any of the sauces can be adapted to this specific dietary need .
Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a Golf break at Patshull Park and had a great time.
As other reviewers have observed it is a Hotel specialising in Golf breaks and boy does it do them well!
The Course was in tremendous condition,the staff very friendly,and the food in the restaurant was top quality.
Only small area of disappointment was the Sports Bar where the snacks although very tasty were overpriced,the cappuccino was not of the best quality,and the bar closed at 7pm every night.
Great place for a Golf/Leisure break, not reccomended for a Romantic weekend away!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyA104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Andy A 104 ,
Thank you for such uplifting comments regarding our friendly staff , the quality of our food , and the standard of the golf course - they are all much appreciated .
We are extremely popular for golf breaks , particularly May - October , and believe we have one of the best presented and most scenic resort golf courses in the midlands . Patshull also offers Leisure Breaks , and Wine and Dine Breaks which are more popular for couples in the winter months .
Your feedback regarding the cappuchino will be investigated ; the main lounge bar opens every day at 6.30 pm offering a full range of bar snacks and beverages thus offering our clients continuous and unhindered access to refreshments .

Best regards
Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club sits in rather large grounds that incompass a large lake and a golf course. The drive up to the hotel is lovely and the entrance is beautiful too.
I was made aware on arrival that there was a wedding on so the hotel was busy.
Through from the reception you past through the main bar to the rooms. The impression I got straight away was that it was dark. The corridors were dark and the wallpaper tried and dated.
The rooms themselves were large and clean, but again the furniture was dark wood and rather than an the antique feel they were suppose to give, again it felt tired and dated. Which is a shame because the room decor had been recently done.
The Leisure facilities were excellent, a 15 metre pool, a very hot jacuzzi and both a stream room and sauna in each of the changing rooms. Plus a gym and workout facilities if you wanted.
As mentioned the hotel was busy due to a wedding, plus added to this large groups of men away on golfing breaks. So the bar area at night was very busy and the only thing on the TV was (you guessed it Golf!)
We ate dinner in the main dining room, which I must say was a little expensive given the bar prices. A main meal around £17 where as a pint of larger was only around £3.60?
The food was good, but I would expect that given the price.
Again the Breakfast the following morning was very good and I think fairly priced for what you got. I can't fault the staff at the hotel as all were kind and courtious. The AA has given the hotel 3 stars. I think if they worked on the internal appearance it could be 4?
So overall a good hotel but for how much I paid, a little pricey. Oh and you must really like golf

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keefyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear keefyk ,
Thank you for your comprehensive feedback , I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay , and found our staff to be kind and courteous .
Golf is one of our main products , and golfers represent almost 50% of our bedroom sales - Weddings are also a key element of our revenue streams , and both these sectors thrive on the wonderful scenery that you also identified in your feedback .
If you would like to learn more about golf , we have a Class A professional available for lessons on our extensive practise range .

Best regards
Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Would highly recommend Lakeside Restaurant at Patshull Park to anyone wanting to escape the wooden floors and wipe clean table tops restaurants currently in vogue.
Lakeside offers a warm, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, with starched table linen, perfectly cooked food attractively presented and served by friendly attentive waiting staff and the icing on the cake is the pianist in the background who plays a medley of popular music. Excellent value at £17.95 for a 3 course Sunday lunch with coffee and mints included (plenty of choice, including vegetarian option) and in such an idyllic setting overlooking a beautiful lake. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Jean B ,
Thank you for your review of our Sunday lunch offering , we always endeavour to sustain our AA 3 star (78%) rating by retaining some of the more traditional hospitality values, and we are delighted that these are appreciated .
I will convey your positive comments to our team , and also to our resident pianist Richard .
Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pattingham
4.6 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
828 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
21.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
529 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Patshull Road | Nr Wolverhampton, Pattingham WV6 7HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Pattingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pattingham
Price Range: $63 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy access of Wolverhampton and Telford, Patshull Park Hotel offers a relaxing retreat with beautiful surroundings and great leisure facilities. The 49 bedrooms are well equipped and have really comfortable beds. The hotel is situated within 250 acres of spectacular Capability Brown parkland which includes an 18 hole 6400yd Par 72 golf course and overlooks the Great Lake. The Health and Fitness Club has an indoor pool, solarium, gymnasium, cardio suite, saunas, steam room, and beauty therapist . Friendly, helpful staff provide a warm welcome and excellent assistance during any stay. The 49 well appointed bedrooms are all tastefully furnished, with many overlooking the golf course and those with a lake view are complete with a balcony or patio. All rooms are equipped with modern facilities i.E. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and TV with Sky channels inc. Sky Sports. The family rooms comprise a double bed and a single bed, whilst the superior rooms are guaranteed to have wonderful views. The Lakeside Restaurant serves imaginatively created dishes made from local produce, and for less formal meals there is Earl's Brasserie that offers a range of tasty snacks and bar meals throughout the day. The Kingfisher Bar in the hotel lounge is perfect when you just want to sit, relax and perhaps enjoy a bar meal with a drink or two. There are two main banqueting / meeting rooms that are very popular for Weddings , Conferences , Corporate Golf Days , and Dinner Dances. Patshull Park Hotel has a lot to offer ; great golf, extensive health and fitness facilities, walks and relaxation , all in addition to superb trout, pike and course fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patshull Park Hotel Golf And Country Club
Patshull Park Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing