We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite country residence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieul
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exquisite country residence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during a driving holiday around France and absolutely loved this beautifully restored country house. The hôtel is easy to find by car, located in beautiful parklike surroundings and has ample free parking. We had a deluxe first floor room tastefully decorated, very large, with handsome antique furniture accessed by a beautiful staircase. There is no lift which didn't bother us but could be a problem for disabled people. King sized bed, great pillows, and a very large bath, just the thing for a good soak after a long randonee. Other people have mentioned the blue polar Bear statue in the lounge area, which is out of place, especially since none of the staff could tell us its' significance; if it has none removing it would perfect the ambiance. We dined in the hôtel restaurant 2 nights and enjoyed expertly prepared haute cuisine at a very good price. The staff were all excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    50
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
30
93
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After a seven hour drive from London enroute to Mallorca we were delighted to arrive at this Relais Chateaux hotel just outside Limoges.
The property is set in beautiful parklands which invite you to take a peaceful walk before dinner or breakfast.
Our room was spacious, clean and everything we'd expected. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully designed.
Dinner was a romantic affair with excellent cuisine and wonderful wine. Breakfast was taken on the terrace overlooking the vast parklands under a warm summer sun. The homemade apple puree, conserves, breads, Coffee and most of all, home produced honey set us up for our contined journey on to Barcelona!
We were rather sad to leave so soon and would very much like to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I picked this place as Nieul was roughly half way between Cassis and Mont Saint-Michel. It turned out to be rather good. It is a Relais et Chateaux property and I booked the room. Room was £75 and dinner and breakfast for two came to £171.18 - this included a litre of sparking water, a bottle of excellent Collioure wine and five courses. Menu was limited - just the one option with no choices but it was well presented and good quality as well as being delicious.

The staff at dinner and indeed throughout the stay, were a high point.The dinner was served by a very charming older waiter - very knowledgeable about the dishes and wine. The meal was also served by a young waitress with possibly the nicest smile one could hope to see. All of this was served outside overlooking the formal gardens / park being the house.

Breakfast was good, if not exceptional - although the hot chocolate was very good indeed. It was not great value for money at 17 euros per head but again well presented in a nice setting.

I didn't have time to try the swimming pool or the tennis court but have no doubt that they were very good. I notice another reviewer has commented on the seemly odd choice of furnishing, in particular the life size blue polar bear. I loved the decor and especially the blue ceramic polar bear! The decor is, in my opinion, in very good taste and a great mix of traditional and modernist - but I can understand if not to everyone's taste.

Other plus points are excellent wi-fi and a lovely big friendly labrador.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the top floor has a lovely feel to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbd119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
255 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Thorougly enjoyed a wonderful stay at this Relaix Chateau property outside Limoges on our drive to Southern France. It's in the middle of the countryside and the property itself is expansive with a beautiful outside backyard terrace. The service was impeccable, from check-in to our wonderfully delicious meal to the very comfortable night's sleep to the early check-out the next morning. After checking in we came down for our meal and started with a nice "aperitif" on the outside back terrace. What a beautiful property! We proceeded inside for our delectable "Menu Bourgeoisie" meal with appropritely selected wide accompaniment. Great service and all dishes well prepared and timely served. We concluded with a nice nightcap on the terrace and off to a dreamy and comfortable night's sleep. We had an early check-out the next morning and one of the staff kindly let us out through the front locked door. A truly wonderful one-night stay!

Room Tip: If you're looking for good value at this premier hotel try to book the special room on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoyed our first visit to this hotel but this time the restaurant was open and the service and food were excellent.We had a 3 course menu for 55 euros quite limited choice 2 starters,mains and deserts but the food was of a good standard so this did not bother us.Good wine list with varying prices.Beer still very expensive.We went for a superior room this time and it was lovely and very french with a great view of the garden.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The staff was kind enough to allow us to choose our room upon our late arrival, suggesting a garden room might be the most convenient with our dog.
We were very happy in our room, as well as with the dinner we had at the hotel. Great wine suggestions, and delicious french fare.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is very well presented and sits in beautiful grounds amidst trees and water. The staff were excellent, well informed, multi- lingual and ensured our stay was perfect.

We stayed 7 nights looking for property in the region and had dinner twice which was very good, the chef more than willing to cater for any special requirements.

One of our parry was a wheelchair user and the hotel made every effort to accommodate , we could not access the bathroom with the wheelchair but this did not impede our stay.

We found a house to buy and we will return here for dinner during our next stay.

Room Tip: We chose an apartment with a terrace facing the pool/lake which had enabled our family of 3 to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanyweany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieul
11.5 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
#4 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles
Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chap...
#1 of 1 in Oradour-sur-Vayres
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Citotel Les Alizes
Citotel Les Alizes
#22 of 44 in Limoges
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin

Property: Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin
Address: 33 Saint Martin du Fault, 87510 Nieul, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Nieul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nieul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin France/Nieul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing