We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful, efficient & clean”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hundon B&B and Inns
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful, efficient & clean”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

6 of us were attending a family wedding and stayed at the Plough for one night. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Not much more required of a hotel except good food and, whilst we only partook of breakfast, it was very good. As plentiful, or not, as appetites required, proper ingredients, well cooked and tasty. The only minor criticism was that the time-slot allocated for breakfast (8.30am - 9.00am) was very narrow and was not really designed for those who might have needed to get up and away earlier, or indeed for those who might have preferred a bit of a lie-in (perhaps having attended a wedding the previous day).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
58
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have eaten at The Plough Inn twice, the food is high quality home cooked food and the service is amazing. The staff are very friendly and welcoming in a very comfortable surroundings. Will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for about 10 random nights throughout August.The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and rooms are very clean and modern. There is tea and coffee and biscuits which to me is always a winner. Breakfast is amazing and cooked fresh and good quality. The ingredients aren't cheap crap u get in other hotel breakfasts and the sausages and bacon are amazing. The hotel is attached to a pub and the food in the pub smells amazing. There is rarely noise from downstairs and its a very quiet area. The staff here are welcoming and make you feel like they can help you in any way they can. They are very approachable aswell. I had to be up and out early and my breakfast was always ready in time. I would recommend this hotel for a break away with friends or a partner

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights beginning of Aug 2013. We are 43 & 50 years of age. We stayed in Room 5 which we were told was one of the bigger rooms. Huge bed. Mind your head on the ceilings though as one side is sloped due to the roof! Bathroom could be updated. Sink was ok. Bath and shower ok but reported shower was boiling hot one minute then cold the next. The toilet was located very close to the wall - unsure as to the thinking behind that ! The room was well stocked at all times and the bed made daily. Quiet location - would say its in the middle of nowhere but obvs as we had a car this was no problem at all. Lovely views front and back. Carpark very large for people staying although there arent that many rooms so not cramped. Good sign that locals not only go there to have a drink but also to eat. Not rowdy at all and in fact the whole place fell quiet well before midnight which is a huge plus for me. I cannot praise the staff enough - it made such a nice difference to have people who were not only friendly but also willing to chat and smile ! The youngsters working in the restaurant were a true credit to the place so I hope this commendation is passed on as I believe give praise when its due! The food was out of this world and portions huge. It was definitely 4* + for the food - nothing to be faulted at all. Overall a huge 9+ out of 10 (but sort the shower!!!) When we next venture back up that way from here in Surrey we will definitely consider staying there again. Give it a go :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a night during July. A beautiful hotel, with beautiful surroundings. Being able to sit outside and watch the sun set over hills was breathtaking. The staff were all wonderful and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondWebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I plus six friends stayed here for two nights on our yearly visit to Newmarket races. We had a great time. The garden area is really nice. We were blessed with fine weather and met up about three. The bar closes at three till six every weekday which is a bit strange ( as we were residents) but Emma the assistant manager agreed to serve drinks as she was waiting for a delivery. The food is very good with large portions all freshly cooked. Our room (6) was nice although very warm due to hot weather. All the staff were very helpful, professional and extremely pleasant. A special thank you to Emma who looked after us all weekend. We will definitely return and would recomend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haventravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here as a gift from my bro in law for my 50th birthday... Newmarket and Bury St Eds all nearby and lots of others places also.

Cant fault the plough at all, the warm greeting on arrival the pleasant welcome from the ever so friendly and helpfull staff, the room was spotless and very welcoming also.

The food was excellent though we ate with family nearby, but the menu was fabulous and the views from the garden second to none.

The "Mega" breakfast.... WOW!! would deffo recommend... cant wait to go back for another! Lol

All in all would deffo recommend and cant wait to go back ASAP

:-)

Room Tip: Book direct for best prices :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedave789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hundon
3.1 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
127 reviews
12.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
11.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
881 reviews
7.0 mi away
Old Red Lion Inn
Old Red Lion Inn
#1 of 3 in Horseheath
126 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sturmer Hall
Sturmer Hall
#1 of 1 in Sturmer
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Brockley Green, Hundon CO10 8DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Hundon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hundon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing