We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BB with style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Stores Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ship Stores Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Clare B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BB with style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at at the ship Inn on a rainy night not really knowing what we would find:

Received with a very warm and helpful welcome before being shown to our room. A lovley annexe in a small courtyard with every need taken care off: fresh milk, fridge.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and served in a sunny dinning room although there was a wedding party breakfasting.

we would stay again

Room Tip: the annexe gives the vacation feeling and our room was bright, warm and clean We missed having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maralyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Received a very warm welcome at Ship Stores after a long journey in July. Our room was in the annexe & pleasantly decorated, clean & functional for an overnight stay - a bonus was the fridge with milk in & everything we needed was provided. Only thing I missed was a bath, shower was okay.

Outside space was decorated with lovely plants with an attractive seating areas. Breakfast excellent with even a dedicated veggie option, very unusual!

Would recommend the Ship Stores & Debbie a great hostess, plus good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this on the same day I wished to stay there as my car had broken down nearby. This is an absolutely fablous place to stay and I would definely return and recommend. It is within walking distance of the village, very clean, really lovely staff with warm rooms. The place had a lovely inviting feel to it and it was very peaceful.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofholsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lovely setting we satyed in the annex it was nicely decorated clean and comfatable bed. A nice touch having fresh milk for the drinks and outside seating.The only thing we found lacking was fire safety notices there were none and no smoke alarm or sprinklers in the room .
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Any room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent Saturday night in Clare, staying at the Ship Stores. We paid £70 for our room including breakfast which was a bargain given the quality of the room and the great choice of food for breakfast. Friendly, helpful owners and free WiFi (the password is on the back of the remote control). Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniem68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nontron, France
Level Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Ship Stores in Clare. It is a small immaculately kept B&B in the pretty village of Clare in Suffolk. Our room was on the first floor and in the oldest part of the building. It was tastefully decorated with plenty of wardrobe space, the usual selection of teas and coffees as well as a stocked mini fridge. It was good to have fresh milk for our tea and coffee, nothing worse than those silly little cartons.
Admittedly the en suite bathroom was small, but unless you plan on having a party in your bathroom it is more than adequate to have a lovely hot shower etc...
Breakfast was amazing, freshly cooked to order and plenty of cereals and juice also on offer. We had the Full English (kept us going until dinner!) but American, vegetarian and continental breakfasts were also offered.
We had to leave early to get to the airport but our host Debra gave us a bag with 4 enormous freshly baked croissants. (Ethorpe Hotel Gerards Cross take note!!) We ate these at the airport with our morning coffee!
This is a B&B we would certainly return to if the opportunity arose and we definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the beauties of Suffolk as it is ideally located for this, with quaint, beautiful villages such as Lavenham and Cavendish nearby to name but two.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very friendly and helpful people. I requested a good sized double (which I got) and the room itself was fine. Only disappointing thing was the bathroom which was tiny - shower cubicle (small) one end, loo at the other end and basin in the middle. More like a walk in cupboard! It was OK for me as I am reasonably slim and was on my own. If I had shared the room it would have been more of a problem as I think it would have been hard to shut the bathroom door and use the handbasin. However all in all it was modern, very clean and had good facilities in the room that made up for this. Breakfast was quick to arrive and there was a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
0.2 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Haverhill Hotel
2.2 mi away
Pickwick House B&B
Pickwick House B&B
#1 of 4 in Clare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Hundon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Stores Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Stores Guest House

Property: Ship Stores Guest House
Address: 22 Callis Street, Clare CO10 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Clare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ship Stores Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ship Stores is a former village store set in the historic small Suffolk town of Clare. Now converted to a family run guest house with 7 Bedrooms all en-suite and AA 4 star rated. Walking distance to a host of Resaurants and Pubs. A short drive from many historic villages like Cavendish,Long Melford and Lavenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ship Stores Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Stores Guest House Clare, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing