We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Cooked food”

The Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Said to be the oldest pub in Suffolk, The Four Horseshoes is a family run, 12th century Inn, offering home cooked food and accommodation seven days a week. As well as offering great food and comfortable accommodation, The Four Horseshoes is also the ideal venue for meetings, functions and parties. We have two separate function rooms and a whole acre of car parking space.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooked food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great home-cooked food, lovely friendly pub, families welcome. Wish more choice on the menu or vary the menu every now and then

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MummyP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    65
    26
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stowmarket
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely traditional pub”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

T he Four horseshoes is a beautiful old world traditional pub. The food is excellent and the service very good and friendly. Try their cheese platter for lunch it is fantastic, there is so much on the plate my friend and I have to share it, there is more than enough for two hungry people. This pub is a must if you are in the area. Happy eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melody m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having re-discovered this gem of a place after a few years break I can't keep away now.
The area around Thornham has an abundance of country walks so it made sense a few months ago to pop into the Four Horseshoes for some lunch. I was so very impressed that its now a regular haunt for an evening out or a quick lunch. The food is well cooked and tasty, the Turkey and Leek pie is an absolute triumph. Well done to Tom and the team.....by the way that Quiz they held last week was terrific, especially that Quizmaster! ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing sticky toffee pudding”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visit this pub for lunch every 6-8 weeks with 5 friends and have never been disappointed. The service is excellent and there is always a good choice on the menu and daily specials. Well done Jei on the desserts.....sticky toffee pudding is amazing. We'll be back for more (:

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second meal”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Came back tonight thu 10/10/2013 after having beautiful meal last month for my birthday treat wasn't as impressed with my main this time BUT the dessert which apparently was made by a young lad working in here was scrumptious to you (the young lad ) 100% on that dessert was excellent thumbs up to the sticky toffee pudding !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Horseshoes also viewed

 

Been to The Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing