We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favourite local”
Review of Navigation Inn

Navigation Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Lapworth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our new favourite local”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went here on the day we picked up keys to the property we live in - and really enjoyed a lunchtime fish finger sandwich. Since then we've samples most of the bar menu as well as the restaurant menu at various times - the food has always been good. I really like the fish platter. Good beers too - helps to have my favorite as a house bitter!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    86
    25
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would return!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Had a family lunchtime meal. Has had a complete refurbishment and new management. The decor in the restaurant was very nice indeed, modern and bright, very pleasant surroundings. The meal choice was good with both restaurant and bar menus, and prices were reasonable. The good was lovely and service excellent. No complaints at all, happy to recommend and we will certainly be back ourselves.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinkytandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in a pub”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Set menus: bar meals as comfort food or set prices (2 courses @ £17 or 3 @ £20) from the restaurant. Varied selection - 6 each of starters, mains and desserts. We had one starter: smoked salmon, beetroot & horseradish sauce, 2 mains: beef medallions, 1 x baked hake, with bowl to share of seasonal vegetables; 2 desserts: dark chocolate torte with pannacotta ice cream & blackcurrants. All tasty & enjoyable. Long wine list some by the glass and local cask ales. Good ambience. The one waitress who was very pleasant was stretched at times to cover all tables. Book ahead - we only just got in for an early dinner !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sotontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something missing”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I agree with other reviews whereby the pub has had a great makeover but considering it's location surprised by how few folk were having lunch. Only two tables occupied on a week day when we were shown to our table and no one in the bar area.
Menus were given and eventually one of the staff asked if we wanted a drink but had not thought to give us a wine list. I have no idea if bread was meant to be served but we certainly were not offered any.
The food selected was ok but for the prices charged have had better locally . Staff friendly enough but no sign of anyone in overall charge and the place lacks any atmosphere. In no hurry to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knowle49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beer!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a sunday lunch here and we couldnt find fault with anything! the service was great, staff were polite and freindly (although they forgot my mustard) as was the food and the real ale. 2 courses for £14 was a bargain and the food was fresh and hot, great portion sizes and tasted superb! We didnt have a pudding but from what we could see being served looked fantastic. Highly reccomended and we'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bungle_19812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navigation Inn also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Lapworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Navigation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing