We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hogarths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hogarths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Certificate of Excellence
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We went here for New Year's Eve. All I can say is it's absolutely fantastic!! We were greeted on arrival with a glass of bubbly to start the evening before heading through to the restaurant where the food was to die for and the service was quite simply the best I have ever had, it was faultless!

The evening continued with a really good disco, bagpipes (which was incredible to hear live) all topped of with an unbelievable fire work display.

All I can say is book there you won't be disappointed. I will be back now to try Bar 8 their restaurant and that menu looked fantastic too.

What a delight to go somewhere and have everything how it should be!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    128
    48
    35
    19
See reviews for
202
235
9
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I have never and I repeat never, been refused a drink, as a resident, in a hotel, at 12am because, apparently, the bars are "closed". But my colleagues and I were here and not at all politely at that. Surly, downright rude staff refused to serve an amiable group because it was more than they could be bothered with. Really, very, very poor indeed and shockingly bad for a hotel that aspires to be sophisticated.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hogarths is a fairly classy place and we've enjoyed events there before. We were really looking forward to our New Year's Eve Party but this time it did not live up to expectations. On arrival we found that the advertised 7.00 for 7.30 had mysteriously turned into 7.30 for 8.00 and the reception staff were clearly happy to keep us waiting even later than that for stragglers. This was probably a unsubtle ploy to encourage more pre-dinner drinking at the bar which, incidentally, doesn't offer Gordon’s gin!!! What we thought would be a black tie event (at the price) was clearly not but we were fortunate in that some revellers had managed to press their jeans.
We have always been impressed by the food here on party nights even when there are lots of people to serve. However the food was distinctly below average – was it because the place was absolutely crammed? The goats’ cheese starter was little more than a squirt from a Primula tube and a lot less tasty too. The between-course sorbet (sorry “granite”) tasted little of the fennel, orange and lemon it was supposed to be. The rack of lamb main course was met with mixed reactions on our table – pink is fine, running with blood is not. One table member sent theirs back as they couldn’t stomach the amount of fat. As for dessert if we hadn’t been told it was Baked Alaska we would never have guessed. It reminded us, less than fondly, of school blancmange with an arctic roll centre stuck in the middle and we’ll never know what happened to the strawberry and champagne flavours that were supposed to accompany it.
The Piper turned up somewhat pointlessly half way through dinner although the Scots on our table did enjoy “Flower of Scotland”. At the end of the meal the DJ (who actually turned out to be quite decent) ran a ‘Heads and Tails’ game that was reminiscent of some dismal Round Table dinners we had attended in the dark and distant past. “The Motellas” singing troupe had a fair stab at some Tamla Motown hits from 50 years ago before we launched into the fireworks around midnight which were disappointing. So as 2013 closed we made our collective resolution: not to do this again at Hogarths.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodTimesSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is well run hotel with good décor, set in a garden environment. But only 20 minutes from Birmingham city centre. The rooms are big, modern, excellent showers.. coupled with good food.

Staff are helpful and friendly.. not your false smiles from chain hotels.

Outstanding hotel, I will be a regular in 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decided on a different venue this year and chose Hogarths as it was local and on visiting the hotel thought it was a perfect place for our staff to enjoy the festivities. What can I say other than it was the PERFECT place, Sarah looked after everything and was extremely accomodating when we had to reduce our numbers. The room was tastefully decorated, the food was superb and the entertainment (live band) and disco were spot on.
Thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well on the night and for making my job as organiser so easy this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I got married here on 29th December 2013 and i cannot fault this hotel one little bit...

From start to finish they were brilliant. Our orginal wedding planner left about 4 months before our wedding which we were nervous about but Katherine who replaced Emily was brilliant. Friendly and accomodating to all (and we asked a lot!) of our questions.

We had family travel from the states and the staff couldnt be anymore accomodating. They praised all of the waiting/bar staff stating how professional they all are.

I must give a massive thank you to Adam who oversaw the whole day. I couldnt fault him at all. I missed a friend of the table plan by accident and when i asked him if he could help he just told me to sit down and enjoy my meal and he will sort everything - which he did.

All of the guests that attended day and night said how lovely the venue is and great the food was.

Although i love a good shindig and would prefer the residents bar to be open longer i can see that having people milling around that bar (which is close to the reception area) might bring the standard of the hotel down as i know a lot of business people stay as its quite close to the NEC.

The wedding group breakfast the next morning is lovely, a lot of choice and its nice to be able to spend those couple of hours talking about the previous nights antics!

Overall i highly recommend this hotel for ANY celebration.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleywhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

what can i say? there aren,t enough words or space to say about the staff or atmosphere at this hotel. Got married here christmas eve, these people could not do enough for us. Overall quality and attention excellent, stayed on xmas eve with family and friends, the only problem was having to leave! i hope the staff here get the recognition they deserve in particular the head waiter wedding planner for the day. Am looking for an excuse to return asap .
many thanks Teresa and Anthony

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
15.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
5.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Hotel

Property: Hogarths Hotel
Address: Four Ashes Road, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 30 acres of beautiful, unspoilt woodland, Hogarths stands in secluded surroundings. With its inviting avenue of chestnut trees, historic moat and private island, it is a truly enchanting setting with picturesque grounds. Our hotel is a sanctuary for visitors seeking secluded and stunning surroundings, delicious food, exceptional wines and exemplary hospitality. Our charming former manor house has been carefully restored and extended to create a luxury hotel with 21st century comforts.All of our 49 bedrooms, consisting of luxury suites, superior and standard double / twin rooms, family and accessible rooms have been exclusively designed with luxury, comfort and all the fine finishing touches you would expect.Beautifully decorated to reflect the changing seasons of the year, there is one for every mood and occasion. All of our bedrooms offer impressive soft furnishings and contemporary designed en suite bathrooms.Whether you stay with us for work or play, we hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hogarths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Hotel Solihull
Hogarths Hotel Dorridge, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing