We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHristmas day lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hogarths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hogarths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CHristmas day lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely Christmas day lunch with my family in the music room, good food, good service all in all a very enjoyable afternoon. The staff managed really well to cater for a wedding and christmas day. The soup was really nice , turkey delicious and the home made christmas pudding wonderful. Being a bit of a chocoholic truffles were very tastie and morish. Impressed by the new extension, bar area, reception and bedrooms. Intend to visit more in the new year to sample other delights. Grounds are well kept and the view from the bar really nice, we all enjoyed our stroll back home down the country lane. Wishing you well for 2013.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments regarding your Christmas day lunch. I am delighted you had a good time and you our food and service. It is great to read that you like the new extension and I really do look forward to welcoming you back very soon – we have a number of events coming up including Dinner with Simon Weston; Mother’s Day and Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    127
    48
    35
    19
See reviews for
201
234
9
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

What a great find in a lovely location. Elegantly furnished and very stylish accommodation; great restaurant and service. Both at a reasonable price level. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandAlanReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found it reasonably priced for both business or pleasure. We really do appreciate you recommending the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have had the pleasure of using Hogarths Hotel for a corporate event I organised and also have stayed on a personal basis to celebrate my 1st wedding anniversary, I’ve also enjoyed a couple of special occasion meals there too. I cannot fault this hotel. The food, rooms, gardens and staff are all wonderful and I would recommend everyone try the Hogarths experience. The hotel has recently been superbly extended and tastefully modernised to a 42 bedroom property and has lost none of its charm, style and 5 star boutique appeal. I cannot say enough good things about Hogarths and if you are contemplating staying or using the hotel for a corporate event, I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSplodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful feedback, I am so pleased to hear how highly you recommend the hotel and it is lovely to hear you continue to return to us for many different reasons. I am delighted you like the new extension and refurbishment, the accommodation, the food and our gardens – we are extremely lucky to be set within 30 acres of beautiful grounds. I look forward to you visiting us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here overnight with a business conference on site the following day. Great high specification facilities with what looks like the whole building recently renovated. Excellent restaurant and bar, all highly recommended, looking forward to a return visit April 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and great comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your residential conference at the hotel and to hear you are returning next year, I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have written a trip advisor review about our previous stay at Hogarth's Hotel before but, wanted to say a few words on a recent stay.
We stayed here for our 2nd Wedding anniverary while we have been in the Solihull area visiting family and friends before Christmas as a little treat. We had a wonderful time and felt very well looked after and special.
The hotel has just spent alot of money having a refurbishment which is really outstanding. Very Chic and Stylish yet warm and intimate. We had dinner in the new restaurant which was superb, the food was delicious and great service. We like to think of ourselves as 'foodies' and have eaten at top chefs restaurants such as Rick Stein, Jamie Oliver, Paul Ainsworth, Simon Rimmer and Nathan Outlaw and Hogarths food was equal to any meal we have eaten at the top restaurants. We recommend our dishes the Braised Shin of Beef and Grilled Plaice, the '8 dripping cooked chips' are delicious too! Try the Banana and Maple Milkshake for desert served with Churros which are one of my favs and you do not see them on menus very often!
The new rooms are beautifully designs and very moden but warm and cosy - the beds are amazing - huge and lovely soft duvets!
Breakfast was great too and during our stay the staff went out of their way to be helpful and freindly and we really felt they were interested in us and our experience there.
Thanks Hogarths for a fabulous time we will be back hopefully soon! The Special deals you have been doing are excellent value for the service you provide...it is nice to have such a great experience that you feel was good value as it makes you happy to pay for it again!

Room Tip: As hotel is newly refurbished any room would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, especially as a returning customer writing for a second time. I am delighted you had a wonderful experience with us and you like the style of the hotel and the refurbishment completed earlier this year.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening in the Brasserie and the style of menu and variety of food available. It is also lovely to read that you found the staff attentive and friendly.
We hope you are able to return and enjoy another of our Special dinner, bed & breakfast pacakages and as our 100th review we would like to offer you a complimentary bottle of Champagne when you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot thank the staff at Hogarths enough. We were allowed to set up on Friday. I did the flowers and the cake so being allowed to set up on Friday was brilliant. Coffee was supplied regularly. Thank you. The wedding day was wonderful. All the staff without exception were very helpful, pleasant nothing was to much trouble. Our wedding coordinator for the day Adam was brilliant. Thank you, thank you thank you. Everything was perfect and you all helped to make it so.

Pam from Solihull

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely. We were not aware of noise. We were probably making it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely feedback, I am delighted your daughter’s wedding day was perfect and so happy you chose Hogarths as the venue. We do hope you will visit again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed with friends on a Winter Hideaway package which included Dinner B and B plus mulled wine and cinnamon bicuits on arrival. The hotel is fabulous, wonderfully decorated and spotless. We did have a small issue on arrival where we had been allocated a twin room instead of the superior family double we had actually booked but we were soon moved to a double room (although not the family room we had booked). We had a phone call a few evenings before to organise the time for out brasserie reservation and they happily accomodated our request to be seated with our friends.

The food was amazing and although the drinks were a little pricey the food was excellent value. We did have another issue when checking out over what we had been charged for but again, all sorted.

Definitely worth a look and I think we'll be back

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the gardens rather than the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear you like the style of the hotel and found it to be spotless. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Brasserie and found it to be good value for money.
I do apologise that there was some issues for the mix up with your rooms on arrival and also the check out with your bill; although I was pleased that our Receptionist managed to rectify this for you. I can assure you we have discussed your comments with our Reception Manager so we can prevent these issues in the future. I do hope you will return - we will ensure you have a room overlooking the gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
599 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
15.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,497 reviews
5.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Hotel

Property: Hogarths Hotel
Address: Four Ashes Road, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 30 acres of beautiful, unspoilt woodland, Hogarths stands in secluded surroundings. With its inviting avenue of chestnut trees, historic moat and private island, it is a truly enchanting setting with picturesque grounds. Our hotel is a sanctuary for visitors seeking secluded and stunning surroundings, delicious food, exceptional wines and exemplary hospitality. Our charming former manor house has been carefully restored and extended to create a luxury hotel with 21st century comforts.All of our 49 bedrooms, consisting of luxury suites, superior and standard double / twin rooms, family and accessible rooms have been exclusively designed with luxury, comfort and all the fine finishing touches you would expect.Beautifully decorated to reflect the changing seasons of the year, there is one for every mood and occasion. All of our bedrooms offer impressive soft furnishings and contemporary designed en suite bathrooms.Whether you stay with us for work or play, we hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hogarths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Hotel Solihull
Hogarths Hotel Dorridge, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing