We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hogarths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hogarths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself and my husband wanted somewhere to stay after a day's shopping and as we had been to Hogarths for a wedding a few years ago we decided to stay here. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and were checked in within a few minutes. Our room was in the new part of the hotel and decorated and furnished to a high standard and very comfortable, lots of attention to detail had been put into the way it had been styled. As part of our package we received mulled wine & freshly cooked biscuits which were delicious! We dined in Brasserie and had a delicious meal, the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. Had an excellent nights sleep in a very comfy bed and then a fab full english breakfast in the restaurant where again the staff were lovely. The hotel was been renovated recently and they have done an excellent job. We really didn't want to leave! We can highly recommend this hotel and will be definitely making a return trip in the not to distant future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbles1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your visit to Hogarths, I am pleased to hear you returned to us following a previous stay. I am delighted you liked the new extension and refurbishment and enjoyed the style and comfort of one of the hotel’s new bedrooms.
I am glad you enjoyed the Mulled wine & freshly baked biscuits that were included in the Winter hideaway package and hopefully these helped relax you both after a hard days shopping!. It is great to hear that you also enjoyed the food in the Brasserie during your stay and that the staff were attentive and friendly. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hogarths, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    123
    48
    33
    20
See reviews for
189
226
9
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

As a regular business traveller, its not often I take the time to write a review unless exceptionally good or bad! This hotel is a little gem tucked away in lovely surroundings. Attention to detail in all the rooms and very clean and welcoming. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and a rare pleasure to find such efficent and friendly staff, a credit to the Manager here. Will definitely return both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments.We take great pride in the training of our staff and ensuring our customer service is of the highest standard and I am so glad that they made your stay so enjoyable. I am delighted you will be returning and we look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here on 14th November and a wonderful exeprience it was. Although it was very busy, the staff were very attentive and friendly , the flow between courses was excellent. We ourselves particularily liked the Tapas style starters, for the variety of flavours and the sharing experience.The mains and sweets were a dream to be had , and in all we had a wonderful evening in a lovely setting, thanks to all involved.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed your evening in the Brasserie. I am pleased that you enjoyed the style of menu and food, the Brasserie menus are designed to offer a wide range of casual dining using seasonal produce. It is also lovely to read that the staff were attentive and friendly. We do hope you can return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came here on business for 2 nights arriving on Sunday night. The staff were great and allowed us to check in early as our flights had got us in before official arrival time. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable - beautifully re-decorated. We were even lucky enough to have a stroll around the grounds in glorious sunshine! The food was great and the atmosphere in both the bar and the restaurant was relaxing. Can't wait to return and try out their Fine Dining - we'll definitely be coming back for that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 39Nicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your visit to Hogarths. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the refurbishment, even having time to see the gardens and grounds, which we take great pride in. I am delighted to hear that all of our staff were friendly and helpful and you enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the bar 8 Brasserie. We look forward and very much hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here with colleagues for one night for work. We got a midweek business rate which was reasonable. I'ts a slightly odd out of the way place which I suspect mostly gets by on functions - the setting is lovely - there seemed to be very few guests midweek.

Staff are friendly and helpful - which was just as well as the heating didn’t work in my room and I had to change rooms at 11pm. Otherwise the room was very good, large and supplied with bottles of drinking water which is always a plus.

We ate in the Restaurant. Menu is a curious mix, only starters offered are tapas like though covering a wide range of cuisines and seemed a little pricey. Main courses equally varied, I risked the boulibase which was a mistake, it arrived luke warm and lacking in flavour. But my colleague’s dishes seemed better.

Breakfast was plentiful and pretty good, my poached eggs perfectly cooked, but let down by some cheap sausages.

A pleasant stay despite the room problems, but I wouldn’t return if paying myself based on the advertised rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you found your stay to be a ‘mixed bag’. We certainly appreciate your comments.
I am glad you found the rate to be reasonable and that you enjoyed the settings; we do host many functions and events but also have many customers staying for business travel or leisure.
I am pleased the staff were friendly and helpful, we take great pride in our levels of customer service. However, I am sorry the heating failed, I do hope this did not inconvenience your stay to much, we have now rectified this situation.
I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your meal with us, I have passed your comments regarding the boulibase and sausages to our Chef. The Brasserie lunch and dinner menus are designed by our 2 Michelin stared chef, Martin Blunos, to offer a wide choice of styles of casual dining using seasonal produce.
I am glad you would return to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Hogarths, where I hope we can improve on your stay. Should you wish to contact me to discuss this further, I would be more than happy to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

They have fairly recently added a new wing which have good size rooms with everything one could wish for. Huge bed, very good standard bathroom. The food was outstanding, I was fortunate to eat with colleagues in a private dining room but breakfast the next morning was just as good. All in all - loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, following your stay with colleagues. I am delighted you liked the ‘new wing’ and it had everything you wished for. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food, both breakfast and dinner. I hope that you are able to visit the hotel again and I look forward to welcoming your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband booked this Hotel for my 31's and I had a lovely weekend, Rooms are beautiful decorated and they looked very new, also we had dinner and food was lovely, drinks a bit pricey but overall the experience was superb.Also the staff was nice and friendly, and I couldn't have asked for a better birthday treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your stay to celebrate your birthday. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and the food. I am delighted to hear that all of our staff were friendly and welcoming ensuring a special birthday treat. We look forward and very much hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
4.3 mi away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
5.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Hotel

Property: Hogarths Hotel
Address: Four Ashes Road, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 30 acres of beautiful, unspoilt woodland, Hogarths stands in secluded surroundings. With its inviting avenue of chestnut trees, historic moat and private island, it is a truly enchanting setting with picturesque grounds. Our hotel is a sanctuary for visitors seeking secluded and stunning surroundings, delicious food, exceptional wines and exemplary hospitality. Our charming former manor house has been carefully restored and extended to create a luxury hotel with 21st century comforts.All of our 49 bedrooms, consisting of luxury suites, superior and standard double / twin rooms, family and accessible rooms have been exclusively designed with luxury, comfort and all the fine finishing touches you would expect.Beautifully decorated to reflect the changing seasons of the year, there is one for every mood and occasion. All of our bedrooms offer impressive soft furnishings and contemporary designed en suite bathrooms.Whether you stay with us for work or play, we hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hogarths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Hotel Solihull
Hogarths Hotel Dorridge, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing