We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurent review”
Review of Forest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurent review”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have eaten several times at the Forest. It clearly has aspirations to serve decent food although I would not call it value for money. That said, the quality of food is quite reliable. There is a mismatch between the food and the service. Staff are often not clued up about the menu and have difficulty explaining how the food is prepared. In that way the restaurant feels quite provincial and this is what prevents it from being a really good place to eat at. The crowd it attracts don't mind paying the prices, but it is light years from being a real player in the food stakes and is not really for anyone with high expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I find the content of your review hard to respond to with not many truly constructive comments about your visits that may help us improve except for some vague mention of staff menu knowledge.

At The Forest we aim to serve high quality food at prices that we consider offer good value for what we put on the plate with many of our dishes comparably priced to many local gastro pubs. I am not sure what you consider to be a "real player in the food stakes" but with a long term listing in the Good Food Guide, Michelin and two AA rosettes I am more than comfortable that we pitch our food offer at the right level. Our aim has always been to a good neighbourhood restaurant rather than a starchy fine dining experience.

Not withstanding the above, I appreciate that occasional lapses can happen in the level of service that we expect from ourselves and if you feel that on your last visit our service was not up to standard then please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    44
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
27
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We live local and only eat here so I cant speak for the hotel.

The restaurant is typically delivering very high quality food at decent prices - we go regularly on Saturday nites and we have not had a bad meal although occasionally there are limited options where food has run out. They have a couple of AA food stars which is very much deserved in terms of the food itself and for the money, its an excellent restaurant and bar. The food is a mix of homely classics but also demonstrates some intricate menus as well

Whilst food and atmosphere is very good, the service, whilst always friendly, is consistently amateurish and almost keystone cops at times ; I dont think I have ever been without some sort of mishap in terms of dropped glasses or crockery, forgotten orders, unchilled wine and general lack of attention to detail. The food here is very good and deserves much better and the restaurant management need to take a hard look at this - gives the impression that most staff are school kids with no proper training. Staff are almost always apologetic (even offering not to have a tip) but this smacks of poor management rather than the staff themselves

I think this could be a really fantastic restaurant but the approach to service/attention to detail (other than the food) needs a serious rethink - invest in the staff !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your dining experiences here at The Forest. I can tell that you appreciate most of the things that we try to do here in terms of our menu offer and mix with at least, as a "minimum", a friendly style of service.

I have,however, taken on board your comments about some of the less fortunate service issues that you have raised. Please be assured that they have been discussed with the whole team so that we can work to raise our front of house standard to hopefully at least match the quality being served by the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We have never stayed at the hotel, but have eaten in the restaurant a number of times. On every visit we chose the great value set menu option, and have always been extremely happy with our choice.
The food is well prepared and presented, often with fresh fish and local dishes.
The house wine is great value for money. Service is friendly and efficient.
If in this area I would certainly advise anyone to try the Forest and not be disappointed!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

As ever the food here was great. We did go on a Saturday night in the summer with a wedding party there also so very busy. The food never fails to be a great standard but service did let the night down. Had to wait a long time for drinks to arrive and a standard 10% service charge is cheeky when service is poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We live within 400 yards of the Forest and have eaten there many times over the last ten years.
Last night, we went with friends, the cooking of late has been so consistent and superb. We had an excellent evening, but a word of warning, on Fridays, the bar area and outside is packed, with a good crowd having a good time, but noisy. The restaurant is adjacent to the bar area and it was difficult at times to hear conversations. Still we are lucky to have a "local" that is good and consistent. BTW, also excellent real ales, including Wye Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONLEY, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Neat and tidy place, with clean comfortable rooms, but it was so hot in there, and it hadn't been a particularly warm day so couldn't understand why it was like a sauna in my room, even with the windows open all night it felt oppressive. And as the address suggests its very close to the station and the trains disturbed my sleep throughout the night as Dorridge is on a main line connection to London. Continental breakfast was good though, really enjoyed that.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Honley_UkDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We dine at the Forest frequently and are never disappointed. The food and the service are excellent and we are never rushed. The menu changes regularly and my wife, who is a fussy eater, always gets what she describes as an outstanding meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAViD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
1.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
837 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
641 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Property: Forest Hotel
Address: 25 Station Approach, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 bedroomed privately owned boutique hotel with a restaurant listed in Good Food Guide and Michelin serving modern european food in relaxed surroundings. Buzzy bar with an interesting wine list and 3 real ales. Great position for NEC and Birmingham International Airport, opposite Dorridge station with direct links to London Marylebone and Birmingham Moor Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Dorridge, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing