We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID - Very noisy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“AVOID - Very noisy hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Very tacky, dated decor in bedrooms. Bathrooms even worse, like something a local authority provide in their older housing stock.

This is the worst part - its a VERY noisy hotel. The walls are paper thin. You will hear every clank and bang from everywhere as the noise rattles through the place -ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT. So forget any idea that you will get a good nights sleep.

Very over-rated and over-priced. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    108
    69
    37
    22
See reviews for
82
100
11
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

Booked the hotel located in the village of the Meridan to be near to the NEC (5 minutes drive). The bedroom is OK, reburbished. Bathroom outdated. No SKY or free internet which for a below average hotel is not going to attract customers. The main let down was the restuarant and bar area. Drinks were way overpriced. The restaurant is a bit like a mausoleum. No atmosphere. Menu is reasonably priced although lacking in imagination. I took one look and walked across the road to the wonderful Bull's Head pub. The most fabulous game pie and glass of wine for 12. Good value. Brilliant gastro pub menu. Free Wifi. Rooms available in the stable area. Next time, I will stay there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40degreesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We were amazed to read the previous review and wondered if it was genuine?
We came to Meriden to attend our friends' Ruby Wedding celebration last night.
We booked three rooms at the Strawberry Bank. We arrived early and were greeted by a very helpful receptionist and shown our rooms which were immaculate. The receptionist made sure that our rooms were warm enough and made us a cup of coffee in the lounge area overlooking an attractive garden.
The hotel was very peaceful, our beds very comfortable, and we did not hear any noise from the next rooms.
We enjoyed a tasty full English breakfast this morning and checked out without experiencing any problems during our visit.
We would not hesitate to stay there again in future!

  • Liked — Quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

A cataologue of complaints. The staff were superb(what staff there was). 50 charachters is not ernough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhybotherBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marv8787
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

we booked this hotel and decided to look up some reviews about it, and after reading the reviews on this site we worried that we had booked the wrong place.
we couldn't have been more wrong! the room was lovely and the staff were extremely helpful.
we dined in the restraurant in the evening, we had 2 main courses for under £12 which were lovely and we havent been anywhere else where we have had food like this at such a great price.
i don't know what some people complain about, although i did notice that the other reviews were at least a year old, maybe things have changed.

  • Liked — the friendly staff, restaurant food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marv8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Everything looked promising until we walked down the corridor to our room and the first thing to hit us was the smell of someones fish and chips that they were eating in their room.

Then we saw the room......instructions everywhere, kept us reading in case we should go near the bed. And when we did!! I would have thrown it out years ago!! The mattress was so old and worn the springs could be felt through the sheets and blankets, I was not looking forward to peeling them back and lying down!! Thankfully the bar was open late and I was numb going to bed.

The one good point was the breakfast, top marks it really hit the spot, that's the only reason this over priced uncomfortable hotel gets a 2 out of 5.

Other than that keep away..........

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Just-ravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

Stayed there for two nights on business in March 07. Very thin walls - couldn't sleep due to extremely loud snoring from another room.

Tried breakfast on first morning. Toast was cold and far from crisp, coffee tasted nothing like coffee and the danish pastry was stale. Didn't bother on the second morning.

Reminded me of the Crossroads Motel! Set in a seventies time-warp. Not worth £89.50 per night for a single room. Try the Marriott at the Forest of Ardern. A different class.

  • Disliked — Thin walls and poor breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
3.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 72 Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing