We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restuarant Blues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Restuarant Blues”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and l visited the Strawberry Bank Hotel Restaurant to celebrate my birthday. It has been some considerable time since our last visit there and whilst the service was very good the menu choice offered now was very limited and not at all inspiring. The staff were very friendly and the food was OK. It looks as though it will be some considerable time again before we make a further visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGK027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    111
    69
    38
    22
See reviews for
84
106
12
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night on 01 July 2014.

Bit apprehensive following reading up on a couple of reviews but the room was cheap having booked via trivago (less than £40)

Ample parking outside and location was very good for where I needed to be i.e. Meriden. Meriden good location near the NEC and all Motorway links in area.

Check in was straight forward, Key to the room supplied was an actual physical key on a huge keyring which was something I'd not seen for some decades when staying in hotels. Room was booked as a single but was given a double room which was very clean but resembled something from the 70s with floral prints on the bedding, an olive bathroom and a 14inch box of a TV in the room which was tiny. View overlooked a big garden with no noise from any passing traffic which was good so it was very quiet.

Bed was too soft for my liking and probably due to its age not matress springs but was adequate.

Restaurant and bar was closed due to apparent refurbishment work although no sign of any construction onsite taking place. I didn't eat onsite although looking at the menu the 2 for 1 offer was a 2 for 1 when you had to add £2.50 to your original meal which appeared to be a bit strange.

One item of frustration was lack of mobile and no WiFi connectivity.

Breakfast was included in the price but was very basic. Only continental was available due to the kitchen in the pub next door being refurbished but based on the waiting on staff experience I got the impression this was just a typical day as nothing had been laid out.

Would stay here again as it was clean if I couldn't find anywhere else at short notice in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aledrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Came for a meal for my moms birthday to a tired and run down what they call restaurant! Was seated without been asked what we would like to drink, throughout the whole meal we had to go to the bar ourselves go get our drinks! When we finally got round to ordering steak we where then told there is none! Why wasn't we told this on arrival? Also when we asked who I assume was the manager (abrupt and lacked a smile) was told that as we are a table of 12 we should have pre ordered our food? We weren't told to do so when booking the table! I also feel that a group of 12 isn't a large group! Throughout the whole meal the waitresses/waiter looked scared to approach the tables! Also when we tried to get a waitresses attention she saw us and ran back into the kitchen! Service is embarrassing in this place and I certainly will not be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige221194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Room was clean, as was the bathroom. Double bed was horror, hard and old. Large parking, not too far from Birmingham. Watch out however, it's 15 minutes (fastest gps route) to NEC, not 5 as is said on site. Wifi not working properly, in the end, it did, but had to try at least 20 times before I got on. (I really needed it, otherwise I wouldn't have bothered). Old ladies at check-in didn't have a clue, night porter very strange guy, not comfortable with him. Nothing seemed to be his fault. Cooked breakfast mediocre, continental part not worth mentioning. Hotel needs to be refurbished and repainted and soon. If it had been 15 punds less, the price would have been fair.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I don't know where to start with the strawberry bank, I've never complained before I've eaten my meal before, but today was a first!! From walking in the main door and being greeted with a lovely smell of urine from the decaying toilets which are the first things you see, to walking through the cramped and dated bar and to finish with the worst attitude I have witnessed from a manager.
There were 6 of us all together celebrating Father's Day.
I ordered a 10oz rib eye steak which was priced at £16.95, with Stilton sauce which was an extra £1.95, well what arrived was a shock, a handful of chips, with a sorry looking steak, half a tomato frozen onion rings and.......nope that was it! The sauce then arrived some 5 minutes later which was clearly heated milk with some Stilton melted in to it. There was a similar looking meal sat in front of my father in law who had ordered the £15.95 combo.
I called for the manager and was told that it came pre cut so that's what you get, when I showed her the sauce she did offer to get me a new one, to late as my steak was already having a warming milk bath. She also pointed out that it was buy one get one free on main meals, so we weren't actually paying the high price that was advertised!
I must say however that my mother in laws salmon salad and my wife's lasagne(when it arrived ten minutes later than the rest of the meals) looked lovely and they assure me tasted good.
We tried to point all this out to the manager at the end,including the positives and was met with responses such as "I can't do anything about it, it's pre packaged" and "were part of a chain so what do you expect"
I've frankly had better tasting and better presented meals at weatherspoons which were a quarter of the price.
Also the website advertises the place as being a family owned and run venue, but clearly this is incorrect from what the manager is saying
I will not be returning and urge any one person thinking of visiting to avoid at all costs and try some of the other fantastic restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Booked on booking.com for one night. Only fifty pound with breakfast for 1 night double room.
The hotel was fine, only 10 minutes from NEC, comfortable beds, clean and tidy, polite and helpful staff.
Would stay again and recommend for a short stay over in that part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Blimey this place is so dated, the rooms look like the crossroads motel from back in the day.
The room had rock hard single beds and the smallest TV I have seen in years.
The receptionist informed me that the place has been sold recently and the new owners are planning a refurbishment so all being well it will be a decent hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: If I had paid full price I would have been a lot more upset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegalleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
3.1 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 72 Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing