We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for short business or private stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just spent a night at this Hotel after going to the NEC for the motorcycle show and can't complain. It's in a very good location and easy enough to find just a 10 minute drive from the NEC and the National Motorcycle museum. The rooms are a good size and very clean, yes they are a little dated and the bathroom is not the latest design but it was all clean and for the price I paid I am very satisfied. On balance I think that this is a great place for a short stop over either on business or for leisure purposes and I would stay again or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 456 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

me and my family went to this hotel for a meal saturday evening 5th november. the restaurant was lacking in atmoshphere with about 3 tables full. staff stared at us all the time we ate. the food was awful. everything was stone cold. swordfish was like cardboard. my steak was hard cold with chunks of cold congealed cheese stuck on.my daughter had beef wellington that oozed cold blood when she cut it and ws surrounded by a stone cold grey sauce. staff could not wait to get us out of there. we asked for a break before pudding and they stood staring holdiong onto the sweet trolley until we were so embarrased we had dessert. i eat out a lot and have never not left a tip but definatly did not last night. this meal for 11 of us cost 400 pnd. it was not worth 40. do not go there!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Set in nice surroundings with nicely maintaned function rooms. Bedrooms whilst of a good size have poor facilities, twin rooms with one single cupboard / wardrobe despite space for a double. Bathrooms also dated with poor flushing of toilets
Very disapointed with level of service of staff two vegetarian mains pre-ordered however first was not received until 20mins after everyone else had received their main course. There was a further 10 minute delay before the second vegetarian meal was received and then it had to be sent back because it was still frozen! Serving staff and bar staff did not appear to interact at all and customer service was poor. Would not recomend

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaCoventry_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

When the Manor hotel moved us the day before the wedding (all 24 of us) I was apprehensive as I had never visited the Strawberry bank hotel. It was truely lovely. The manager was wonderful , very helpful and friendly and worked really hard to ensure all our guests to book into their rooms early to get ready for the wedding (something the Manor had not guaranteed) they even said they'd open the bar for us when we got back at 1am from the wedding. They ensured this was the bar area away from other rooms so we didn't disturb any of their other guests. The breakfast was excellent , plenty of choice. When some of our guests hadn't surfaced the next day in time for breakfast they even said they'd keep some for them! really good servce very friendly and I'd certainly go back there

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had our wedding reception here on 29th July and it was wonderful. The planning with the owner months berforehand was thorough and very friendly. On the day we were met on the doorstep by the owner and a red carpet reception. Guests were directed to the conservatory and gardens for drinks. The gardens are ideal for photographs. The owner was an excellent Master of Ceremonies and the meal served was delicious and plentiful. We had 74 well fed and happy guests. The drink was served efficently and correctly by friendly staff. The room was well laid out with starched white linen and we were allowed to have the decor of our choice for tables. In the evening the room was cleared quickly and the recommended DJ who was excellent, played until midnight. Our complimentary room was huge, spotless with a comfortable bed and overlooking the gardens. The next morning we enjoyed a freshly cooked breakfast with a good choice of cold food as well and the hotel laid out the tables as requested so that the 19 guests who stayed overnight could sit together. The receptionists and indeed all staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Thank you Mrs Marin for making our wedding celebrations so perfect .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PILAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I am surprised to find some negative reviews about the Strawberry bank hotel here as my experience with it was something definitely enjoyable. I stayed at this hotel for three days along with my wife and kids, and have no grievance at all. The staff were warm and welcoming. The receptionist was quite friendly to us. The other staff too had a friendly disposition. Our room was clean with clean, comfortable and soft beds. The room overlooked a lovely garden. There was a quiet and pleasant atmosphere at this hotel. It was absolutely peaceful. The food was also great. One can book this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose_84155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have just returned from a short stay here. It was dreadful. The whole hotel is dated - fake flowers everywhere! The rooms are very basic and again dated - to be honest it was quite cold as well. I had a room that overlooked the carpark, on the ground floor - I was therefore unable to open the window at night. The walls are paper thin - you can hear everything - not great, especially when guests return in the early hours of the morning. The bathroom is even worse - very basic - wouldn't want to have a bath. The restaurant and bar have no atmosphere and again the decor leaves a lot to be desired. The food in the restaurant was however, very tasty. The breakfast was a complete disappointment. The danish pastrys/croissants were stale and the cooked breakfast was undercooked and soggy. Don't even bother with the coffee. All in all, and overpriced place to stay - avoid if you can!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
8.5 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
697 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 72 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: $66 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing