We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Celebrations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strawberry Bank

The Strawberry Bank
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Meriden
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“50th Birthday Celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A big thank you to all the staff for a very pleasant evening to celebrate my 50th birthday. The restaurant had a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, everyone was polite and efficient, and the food was very good. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    27
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A sad Occasion well handled.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We attended this restaurant after attending a funeral of a family member, so it was a very sad occasion, however we arrived and it was well sign posted to what occasion was taking place in each room. We were served tea and coffee or orange juice on arrival and were given enough chance to mingle with everyone before the buffet was bought out.
They put on a very impressive buffet and was offered tea and coffee throughout or there was a bar in the same room if you wanted alcoholic drinks.
l have to say the staff were very helpful nothing was to much trouble and although it was a sad occasion it was made a more pleasant afternoon and they let you stay as long as you wanted there was no rush for you to vacate the room. So thank you to all the staff that were involved on our sad occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DevoniaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well organised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for lunch on Christmas day (2nd year running) and found that although it was very busy the organisation was first class. The table was ready on time and the staff were prompt with the food and very efficient. The meat was plentiful and tasted good.I think the lady owner is the power behind the throne and it is down to her that the place runs with military precision.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“visit for christmas lunch 2012.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I and 2 friends had christmas day lunch at strawberry bank.
We were all delighted with the food, which was beautifully cooked, and very generous portions.
The dining room was very busy,but we were seated at our table exactly on time.
The organisation of the dining room was absolutley wonderful, considering the number of people
dining.The staff were very courteous and polite. They all did an excellent job.
To the Lady in charge of the dining room I would say congratulations in the way You kept
everything running so smoothly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trevor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well, it was alright,,,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

There are places that time forgot. This is one. Pros - old fashioned Sunday dinner with a gravy smell everywhere- and the sherry trifle is fabulous. Cons- food is variable. Home made steak and kidney - great. Roast beef - when a friend complained it was too tough to eat ( and it was) they suggested he had been using his starter knife to cut it. Possibly - but was taking the chew your food 100 times rule a bit far. Verdict - nice enought longstanding staff , food ok, reasonable price - but don't expect top quality

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DocHolliday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawberry Bank also viewed

 

Been to The Strawberry Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing