We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised”

The Strawberry Bank
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Meriden
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warwick
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well organised”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for lunch on Christmas day (2nd year running) and found that although it was very busy the organisation was first class. The table was ready on time and the staff were prompt with the food and very efficient. The meat was plentiful and tasted good.I think the lady owner is the power behind the throne and it is down to her that the place runs with military precision.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    27
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“visit for christmas lunch 2012.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I and 2 friends had christmas day lunch at strawberry bank.
We were all delighted with the food, which was beautifully cooked, and very generous portions.
The dining room was very busy,but we were seated at our table exactly on time.
The organisation of the dining room was absolutley wonderful, considering the number of people
dining.The staff were very courteous and polite. They all did an excellent job.
To the Lady in charge of the dining room I would say congratulations in the way You kept
everything running so smoothly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well, it was alright,,,”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

There are places that time forgot. This is one. Pros - old fashioned Sunday dinner with a gravy smell everywhere- and the sherry trifle is fabulous. Cons- food is variable. Home made steak and kidney - great. Roast beef - when a friend complained it was too tough to eat ( and it was) they suggested he had been using his starter knife to cut it. Possibly - but was taking the chew your food 100 times rule a bit far. Verdict - nice enought longstanding staff , food ok, reasonable price - but don't expect top quality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DocHolliday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quality & Value set menu”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked for the evening set menu which was £19.95 for 3 courses.

The food was of a good quality, was all fresh and freshly prepared, not frozen or out of a packet.

The place itself is a bit stuck in a time warp but hey I enjoyed the 80's and the bottom line is the food and this was good.

Service was also good and the choice of wine fairly extensive if not a little high.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CovDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is awful! The food is about the only redeeming feature and even that is dated. The rooms are a throw back to the eighties and the inground dirt has probably been there since then! The owners also appear to be rather cold and will hover around the table of those paying the big bucks but practically ignore the rest of the guests! I would not recommend this place to anyone. There is a lovely pub across the road where the food and the atmostphere is lightyears ahead of this place, I would suggest taking a right turn out of the Strawberry Bank!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawberry Bank also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Hockley Heath, Solihull
 

Been to The Strawberry Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing