We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good and not so...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a £79 deal which included 3 course dinner, glass of sparkiling wine and breakfast with upgrade to superior room. We also paid £49 to add one nights stay on a B+B basis. The room allocated was as far from reception as you could get. Up two flights of stairs then a few minutes walk through meandering corridoors. Finally in our room and we were impressed by the decent size of both room, bed and the 42 inch plasma TV. However we were not so impressed by a lack of a safe which the website assures us was to be present and also as a superior room the web site says you get botted mineral water which ther was no sign of. Upon enquiring at reception I was told that it was not part of our package to have any such 'options' yet my booking confirmation and their own site said we should. The supervisor eventually agreed to send some water on to us and said we could leave any valuables with reception - which I had no faith in so declined. Evening meal was really good nad you had plenty of choice from their ala carte menu. The steak was the best I have had for ages and the waiting staff were first class. Even though there was a wedding and an anniversary on the staff coped well and serving food and bar very quickly. Next day and breakfast was great with plenty of hot food on offer plus cereals, fruit, continental etc. Tea and coffee a little slow coming but just ask if you want serving quicker than waiting to be asked. We returned that night after a fab day out at Warwick Castle (must do this!) at 6pm to find our room door ajar. Fortunately nothing appeared to have been taken but that was more by luck as we were so far from reception that not many people would have walked past our open door. The toiltetries had not been replenished though. Our parents room was locked but the maid had been and set up the spare bed (stored under the double) for no apparent reason and also left a sheet detailing her work for the day with each room, their occupant and what needed doing. Plus a master key card that could open any room in the hotel! We told the housekeeping supervisor this and she said that she apologised and there would be severe repercussions for whoever was responsible. I would recommend a stay here as the location, food and service is really very good - just make sure you leave nothing you want to keep in your room and take your own bottled water if you don't need the hassle of asking for what was advertised.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you are not up to the hike ask for rooms on ground floor and near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goobs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    452
    218
    76
    57
See reviews for
185
586
30
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South east
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on two separate nights on our way to and from Wales. Both rooms were very clean, good size bathrooms with good hot showers, and both rooms had huge TVs!

We were on a deal that offered evening meals. Whilst these were fine, they are not 'gourmet'. We didn't expect them to be as catering on that scale can't be, it is a much abused word. If you are hungry don't have salmon as your main course, it was so small it was more like another starter. The breakfasts were very good both taste-wise and variety on offer.

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was very quick and efficient. Despite the cool weather ice-cold air-conditioning was on in the dining area but this was immediately switched off on request.

Room Tip: This is a large hotel and many rooms are quite a walk. Check if you have mobilty issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueboySoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here three nights, nice overall hotel, excellent check in and general service, breakfast was very good as was the evening meals in the Houston Grill, reasonably priced too.
The ground floor bedroom was a good size, very clean, french doors opening onto a nice patio \ smoking area with patio heaters large flat screen tv and nice bathroom, now here's the but....., as has been said in other reviews the room was very hot, no air conditioning but they left us a fan which only blew the warm air around, being on the ground floor we couldnt leave the french doors open and there wernt any other windows.
I think the problem with the heat is that there is a largish heated towel rail in the bathroom which couldnt be turned off, the pipes that fed this are buried in the wall turning the wall into a type of storage heater.
Would i stay here again, yes i would but would ask for a room on the 1st floor with opening window or an air conditioned room.
If the heat problems in the room were sorted out i would have rated this hotel Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stltdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Wales, easy to find on the sat nav. Impressive looking building with not a bad sized car park, which was very busy but we managed to get a space with a few more spare.

Check in was easy, the room wasn't far from reception and I thought the room was nice. A nice tv, which never got switched on as we didn't get the chance. The bathroom was nice, the only issues were the shower went hot/cold regularly and didn't keep temperature and the room was quite hot overall, with it being a ground floor room and the way the window opened I didn't like the idea of keeping the window open all night. I liked having the free wifi, which wasn't a bad speed.

We ate dinner in the restaurant, the menu wasn't too impressive and didn't have a great choice for vegetarians but they made me something special and the staff were friendly. The prices were to be expected, quite expensive. Breakfast in the morning was nice and quite with a good range of cereals, cakes, yogurt and hot foods such as bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns and beans along with toast. It tasted nice, but wasn't as hot as I would have liked. Overall a good stay, but improvements need to be made on the food and a few things in the room to help keep the temperature down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception if you don't want a room too far away.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a park and stay basis; we were on an early flight from Birmingham and left the car during our holiday and it was really good value for money. The room was for three of us and it was excellent with a kingsize bed and a double sofa bed. It had a huge flatscreen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, good sized bathroom with all the extras and most importantly was very quiet.

We left our car in the secure car park at the back of the hotel and were given a card to put in the windscreen.

The transfer from the hotel to the airport took less than 10 mins and on our return we had to contact the taxi firm and request a return taxi giving the number on a booking receipt that we had been given and the taxi arrived straight away to return us to the hotel to collect our car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willowcat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night because of it's vacinity to NEC and we were not disapointed.

The room was of excellent standard plenty of towels in the bathroom and a very comfy bed, I slept very well even though there was a wedding going on but i feel the noise was resonable.

We didn't eat at the hotel but only a short walk is the most amazing gasto pub.

We only paid £44.00 for a twin room which was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and I can't fault it. The room was only £37.50 per night for lovely kingsize double bed, huge tv, trouser press , excellent bathroom with all the extras. For the money it really is outstanding. I booked using late rooms and I'm not sure if the price I paid is generally available but if it is you should grab it! One point of caution: I didn't eat at the restaurant but it does look pricey. All in all a lovely upmarket hotel in a great location close to the motorways and nec at an unbelievably cheap price. Recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langmeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NH, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Manor Nec Birmingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. We are excited to announce that our new Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, Bar & Grill is now open; and this stunning restaurant offers affordable glamour and a delicious menu of fresh seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing