We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible customer care skills” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Joy

Fisherman's Joy
Ranked #17 of 19 Restaurants in Selsey
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible customer care skills”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The decor has stripped the place of any character it may have once had. The wooden floors and bare walls are not only unwelcoming (in total agreement with another reviewer about this) but creates an echo which ruins the atmosphere and makes it difficult to hear your companions conversation.

In previous visits, most of the bar staff have been welcoming and friendly. However the landlord/ landlady's mother (?) seems to believe that it is perfectly acceptable to scream at the young children of customers for minor misbehaviour (knocked over a snowman), when the issue could have easily been remedied amicably with an apology and rebuilding.

If they're trying to market their business as being family friendly, this is not the way to treat your customers or their children.

I, for one, will take my business elsewhere in future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Auntie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nice well priced food, shame about the lack of atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Been to the restaurant a couple of times, the food if basic is very good, and great value for money.

It is a shame the restaurant and the pub now lacks atmosphere,, the wooden floors and mainly black and white decor is not very welcoming.

Would I back more, but it's just the atmosphere that lets it down.

Great garden, very clean bar and restaurant and worth a visit,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday roast; other meals average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband, son and I had dinner here twice over the Christmas holidays. The first time was a Sunday evening and we sat in the restaurant area which was about 60% full so a good atmosphere. Husband and I both had the roast (lamb and vegetarian respectively) which was around £9. They were served with a large helping of roast veges including cauliflower cheese, broccoli and carrots. The vegetarian roast was great - imaginative and delicious - a goats cheese wellington. We couldn't wait to go back for a second meal, but were sadly disappointed. It was a Saturday evening and we ate in the pub area. Husband had the rack of lamb (not great) and I went for the chickpea curry (ok-ish). Very kid-friendly - generous-sized dishes for kids for around £7. The music playing in the pub on the Saturday night was 90s R&B which seemed out of kilter with the local clientele! I'd highly recommend The Fisherman's Joy for a Sunday roast but on other nights I think the food is a bit hit and miss. Maybe the amazing roast set our expectations too high!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“One year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This pub / Restaurant has been there for a long time, but changed hands about a year ago and lots of work seemed to be going on. We tried it for the first time. Service very good, food good and prices really good. All clean tidy and well done, lacks a bit of atmosphere, but nevertheless really good. We will definably be returning. If you have been before and? well I would say give it a another good try I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just a lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited 2 or 3 times in the last month and the food is good , prices are fair and the landlord is a nice friendly guy . Give this one a go . Thanks

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninjamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Joy also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Joy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing