We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay. Has a few niggles.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seaview

Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
Living room Another view of living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Front of the house
Living room
Another view of living room
Family room/Second living room
Another view of family room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Another view of Master Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Kitchen
Another view of kitchen
Family bathroom
En-suite
Landing
View of sea from front decking
Front decking
Front of the house
Back of the house
Lifeboat station
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selsey, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bunny5770
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Has a few niggles. ”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

All in all a great place to stay.
The house it's self is huge, loads of room for 6 to 8 people.
I found the bed in the master room to be very creaky, everytime you moved it would creak! Also the ensuite is an ok size but found the shower to small, there wasn't enough room to lift my arms up to wash my hair! There is the room for a nice big walk in shower or even a bath with over head shower but instead you get a tiny shower cubicle. Everyone else had to use the ensuite shower as the family bath room was a bath, it had a shower head but the holder was down near the taps, not much use for an adult wanting to stand up and shower.
Bedrooms are all a decent size and ample space to put clothing. Floor boards are really creaky for a recent property.
Downstairs there is loads of places to sit. But I can't figure out why the two living rooms are joined, you can't use the other tv because you end up hearing the other one over the top. Strange.
The dining room didn't get used by us seemed a bit compact so we opted to use the table in the kitchen. The garden is a bit over grown so didn't want to sit out there.
We were looking forward to using the front decking. However when we arrived there was only 1 bench on it and no table or chairs like in pictures :-(.
First morning I thought I would take a drink out and sit on the bench looking at the sea down the road. But when I looked out the people from next door had parked a huge 4 wheel drive family car right at the end of the deck, on the path (blocking the path, I have not marked the house down for this as it's not the owners fault.) I decided not to sit and look at the side of there car so used the kitchen seating instead.
The house is situated within a minute or two walk from the beach. Accessed by a private gate at the end of the road. You can see some sea from the twin and master bed windows if you look out of them. The beach itself is very quiet and clean, they where removing the lifeboat station when we were there so there was a humming early morning but nothing too annoying. It was quite nice going down in the morning and watching them at work. There is fishing boats to watch as well.
The beach is pebble but further round to the right (away from lifeboat station) there is a small sandy beach but it is tidal (about 10 to 15 minute walk along the beach)
The high street was bigger than expected with loads of choices for places to eat. There are 2 pubs within walking distance. The fisherman's joy- 10 minute walk along the road. Family pub. Good looking menu. Reasonable prices. There is a car park.
The lifeboat inn- 5 to 10 minute walk along the seafront towards the lifeboat station. Not so much a family pub as it's rather noisy. Outside no smoking seating available. Decent menu and prices. The fisherman seemed to use it a lot and where noisy when they had a few drinks down them.

All in all the house was great for our long weekend stay. We had lovely hot weather but the house stayed cool.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benji_-_7...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic home at the beach.”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family, my sister's family and my parents were looking for a place to stay over the May half term. First of all we were amazed at the price of the house in comparison to others in the area. When we arrived at the house we were amazed at just how close to the beach we were. The house itself was very spacious and had everything that our family needed. There is a lovely park just down the beach whe the children played every day.
Selsey, itself is ideally located for day trips to the wittering sand to Portsmouth which as a day trip for children surpassed all expectations.
I would highly recommmend this venue to anyone that wishes a fantastic family break by the sea.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markgB146...
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just had a long weekend here and was very happy. The property is in a quiet road right next to the sea! It is well presented and the Wifi and Sky TV went down very well with the kids. The house is very spacious was very clean on arrival and has a lovely enclosed garden. Appliances are of a high standard and there is plenty of room in the kitchen.
Communicating with Behzad(the owner) was never a problem and he always replied promptly to emails.
If you want a spacious house right next to the beach/sea this is the place. If I come back to Selsey I would book this property again

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Thank you for your comments and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property and in Selsey, hope to have you on board again when visiting Selsey next.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodlover...
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great family friendly house”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

House was perfect for our family gathering, the children loved the family room and we had some lovely walks along the beach. We arrived to find the heating on and a Christmas tree lit so we felt very welcome. Kitchen was well equipped for a large family gathering. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to another one sometime very soon.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valblow
welwyn garden city
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Most enjoyable stay at Seaview”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a lovely house which accommodated our family of 9 very comfortably. It is very well equipped with all facilities. There is a peaceful garden to relax in with plentiful supply of garden chairs and loungers . The house is very close to a pebbly beach and we had many evening strolls along the coast.

We visited a lot of local attractions, including Arundel, Portsmouth and Chichester. A bonus was that we had a complete week of brilliant sunshine.

There a few minor issues which could be easily rectified. As reported in earlier reviews, 2 of the bedroom blinds were broken. There were also 2 broken light fittings and badly fitting wardrobe doors in the 2nd bedroom. Also the window in the room with bunk beds could not be locked on the latch and it was unsafe to leave it open because of young children. Therefore it had to be left locked and it was very hot. Therefore the provision of fans in the bedrooms would be useful.

Overall though we had a very pleasant holiday and the owner, Bezhad, was very helpful . Our deposit was also returned within a few days

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie L
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful holiday home just a stones throw from the beach.”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very stress free booking experience, communication from the owner was spot on. When we arrived at the property we were delighted at how spacious and clean the house was, with plenty of room for seven members of my extended family. The local beach, although pebbles, was lovely and even though it was peak season was amazingly quiet. A perfect location to visit some amazing places within a half hour drive. The Weald and Downland Museum was a particular favourite. The beach at West Wittering compares to any I have visited on the Devon Coast and is only a 20 min drive. The house was very well equipped with all the mod cons you need. We would definitely love to return. - Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and cleanliness of the property and the great location.
Liked least: That I didn't book an extra week!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing