We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Tea Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steyning Tea Rooms

Steyning Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Steyning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional Tea Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had afternoon tea at The Steyning Tea Rooms following a walk to nearby Chanctonbury Ring. My wife had been here during the summer and was very impressed. Even though it was late afternoon in November we had booked, and I am glad we did, since every table appeared to be filled.

The service was polite and efficient and after a little wait our food arrived. There were 3 of us and we ordered 1 x "2 piece" afternoon tea and 2 x "3 piece" afternoon teas. Note: this was huge amount and we ended up taking a fair amount home in doggy bags.

The teas were simply fantastic - fresh sandwiches, huge scones with butter, jam and cream plus a traditional cake. The tea was loose leaf and served in a tea pot with china cups and saucers.

This is a lovely tea rooms and we had a very enjoyable and relaxing tea - highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 187MartinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    79
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous rhubarb scones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have visited these lovely tea rooms before on several occasions and have always been impressed.

The service is spot on and very friendly. The savoury food is lovely and the cakes and scones with jam and cream are to die for!

The ambience of the shop is lovely with old world charm, and always packed, inside and out.

I think it's a lovely place to while away an hour, with friends over a hot chocolate and a very special treat, a slice of fabulous homemade cake or scone!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyboys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gluten free delicious scones!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a gorgeous tea room and gluten free options are widely available. The scones are highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jac385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Rhubarb Scones Devine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A friend and I went to try this tearoom and It is amazing. We both had the large hot rhubarb scones with clotted cream and homemade rhubarb and vanilla jam, they were divine, the best ever scones I have ever had. We also had tea which was served in a china teapot with tea leaves and cups and saucers. A real old fashioned tearooms, also they do really nice sandwiches amongst other items such as homemade cakes. The staff were extremely friendly and made you feel welcome. Don`t just walk past, go in and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Keep returning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I wanted my sister from America to experience Cream Tea, and this was THE place to go!! AND she is to have gluten free only, and Steyning Tea Rooms were able to deliver this!! Our visit was GREAT!!! The quality of the scones were wonderful, the TEA was GREAT!!! I will continue to return!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steyning Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to Steyning Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing