We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, traditional tea room with modern twist”
Review of Steyning Tea Rooms

Steyning Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Steyning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, traditional tea room with modern twist”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After a recommendation from a friend I decided to celebrate my birthday with afternoon tea at the Steyning Tea Rooms. We were not disappointed!!! Tea was fabulous: egg and cress sandwiches followed by scones jam and clotted cream with big pots of tea. There was a choice of homemade scones. Tthe rhubarb scones with rhubarb jam are the best I can remember having in a long time! We were too full to sample the cakes but they looked yummy! Thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrannieBBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    81
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for afternoon tea or morning coffee”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have visited this restaurant on a couple of occasions and have been impressed with the quality of the food and drinks. The cakes are to die for and of ample size - forget your diet. The service is good but can be a bit slow at busy times but be patient because it is worth waiting for. You would have to go a long way to find better tea rooms.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in lovely village. Worth seeking out if in the area”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I found myself in the area with a couple of hours to kill. Couldn't thing of a nicer place to wind away a sunny Sunday morning; drinks, nice cafe food and wifi (BT - the waitress wasnt sure if this was the cafes or someone else's). Not perfect - waitress could be more smiley / welcoming, prices are ok but are the pricier side of ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant but too cramped”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely and quaint little tea room but was very cramped - I couldn't get my chair under the table as it was too big! Very nice coffee but tiny tiny cup for the £1.95 charged. Teacake very good, butter and jam in abundance, I wasted half of it. My friends cheese scone was not cheesy and was very stodgy/heavy - she couldn't eat it all. Fair value for money. Said goodbye and thanks to the waitress but she was too busy to acknowledge me :(

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimTea, Owner at Steyning Tea Rooms, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Emma,
I have responded to your friend about her cheese scone, but I am converned that you were charged £1.95 for a cup of coffee as a small filter coffee is only £1.70 and an Americano is £1.85.

If you would like to return to the tea rooms and make yourself known to me I will happily give you another coffee free of charge.

With regards to the chairs, your comments have been noted and we are looking into suitable replacements.

Kind regards
Kim
Owner Steyning Tea Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tea for 3”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely tea rooms, delicious lunches, fabulous cakes. A great little tea room in a nice little town well worth a visit for lunch or afternoon tea.

A real treat !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steyning Tea Rooms also viewed

Steyning, West Sussex
 
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to Steyning Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing