We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Steyning
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the lush, green South Downs, close to the busier towns of Brighton and Hove is The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill in Steyning - a picturesque grammar school town and one time home to Laurence Olivier. Decorated in a contemporary classic style and boasting a large verandah covered with huge parasols on which to enjoy views of the countryside as you dine, The White Horse is welcoming and unpretentious, with excellent, friendly service. The restaurants varied menu combines creativity with more traditional comfort style food using top quality local ingredients for a real flavour of your surroundings.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We enjoyed a very good lunch here with friends and would definitely recommend this restaurant. The food was of a very good standard and well presented and with good portions. Very good wine list as well.
The service was excellent, pleasant staff and a very nice ambience. All in all well worth a visit if you are in the Steyning area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rainebrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Very many thanks for such a great review, and apologies for the delay with my response. We have recently been lucky enough to employ a brilliant new chef and he was designed a brand new menu too.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can experience these great changes. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write this review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing lunch today here. Great choice of food and drinks menu is amazing. Had the Seabass which was three filets on crushed new potatoes and the creme Brule. Cheese board was massive. Really nice feel to the place and pleasant decor. Will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jenny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Very many thanks for such a great review, and apologies for the delay with my response. I am delighted to read that you had such a great time here last year. We now have a new chef and I am confident you would find the food even better than before!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can experience these great changes. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write this review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I moved to ashington in April and have been looking for a fantastic place to eat.
We can officially say we have found it. The staff are excellent and the menu has a brilliant balance
I have just had the best set of ribs I have ever eaten. (and I eat a lot of ribs) would totally recommend the white horse you will have an amazing dinner....... 10 out of 10
Stew n dee xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Stew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Very many thanks for such a great review, and apologies for the delay with my response. We have recently got a brilliant new chef in and a brand new menu too.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can experience these great changes. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write this review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This bar and restuarant had a much needed facelift when the current managers took over but it is starting to feel unloved again. There is a plethora of different tatty signs on the forecourt by the High Street and they have been running out of ales. Need to smarten up their act for the prices they charge!

3  Thank Steyningtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions on our bar and restaurant. As you may have noticed in the last couple of weeks all of our windows and have been painted on the inside and outside by our full time handyman and I am sure you will agree the outside areas look better than before with our new decking area.

We are currently awaiting our brand new signs to into our A boards at the front of the pub which are needed to ensure everyone knows about our up coming events.

We apologise that some of our ales have run out recently but at no stage have we never had any available, we always try to ensure that we have as many as 4 ales on draught.

We hope to see you again here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I popped in to The White Horse for lunch. We were greeted by a friendly efficient waiter and sat outside on the front decking. A very reasonable 2 course set Menu £9,95 and a more extensive Menu were offered. We went for the more varied menu and were not disappointed. We shared a platter of continental meats,salami.ham,pulled pork,salad olives and chutney with delicious bread. Home made Steak and ale pie with fresh veg and mash and Lamb steaks with fresh veg and mash were our choice of mains followed by ice cream. The portions were very generous and well presented.Ruddles beer soft drinks and coffee came to a reasonable £56 for 2 for an above average meal. We will definitely be dining at The White Horse again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseSmokehouse, Owner at The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We are so pleased when people comment on how much they enjoyed their experiences with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your food and hope that you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Steyning, Horsham District
Steyning, Horsham District
 
Steyning, Horsham District
Steyning, Horsham District
 

Been to The White Horse Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing