We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major need of update”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Springwells

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steyning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springwells
Ranked #1 of 4 Steyning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Major need of update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely friendly staff but the whole place is very tired and needs a major refit, especially for the prices that they are charging. The rooms are well equiped although we did not have a shower - just a bath with a sixties rubber shower head to clip onto bath taps. We were also travelling with a one year old and our room was on the top floor - up two flights of steep steps. The fruit bowl and fridge with cold milk was useful when our son was hungry at 7am (breakfast started at 8am). There was a good choice at breakfast and a high chair available.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
29
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family and I stayed at Springwells when my sister in law got married in the summer. To say that the service was above and beyond the call of duty woud be an understaement. From the first moment I called to make the booking, with the challenging request that they also provide a babysitter, they made me feel as if nothing was too much trouble.
When we arrived at the hotel we were pleased that it was well looked after and pretty - it's not uber-chic or anything like that, but clean and nice, with the pleasingly shambolic air that nice English country hotels have.
Our room (can't remember it's name, but it had a big four-poster bed and an ante-room that we put the kids in) was nice. The bed was enormous and the kids had lots of fun clambering all over it.
The babysitting service was very very useful.
Perhaps the thing that really made the trip stand out was the response when my two-year-old son had what I can only describe as a "nappy malfunction" which made one hell of a mess (and was somewhat jarring as we nursed our post-wedding hangovers). The staff swung into action and sorted everything out with no fuss and the smily and helpful approach that made the stay so enjoyable.
Breakfast was great too.
Hotel wasn't cheap, and it's not a super high-spec place, but for what we got I thought it was reasonable and like I say, the team working there made it worthwhile.
I guess some people would rather have a perfectly maintained, modern, chic place for their stay, But I really like this place, and so did the missus (and her sisters, who both stayed there).
Couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: Our room was massive and had a little ante room - it was great for the kids, and meant we got a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel takes you back in time with matching wallpaper and bed linen. Old fashion furniture but all very pleasant. In our room we had no shower, but a bath with plenty of hot water. White soft towels. Plenty of tea/coffee and fresh milk in a small fridge on the first landing. Staff friendly and accommodating, breakfast very good with pleasant service. A little over priced but I would still return when we are in Sussex again. Lovely village, we ate at The Chequers Inn in the evening and would recommend this. The local people use this pup and you can see why. Fresh cooked food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Not so much tired as narcoleptic, at just shy of 100 pounds a night, this hotel is poor value indeed. Yes, the staff are nice and welcoming, but does that compensate for the dusty jam pots on the breakfast table, the stained beds, the fraying carpets? I think not. Lowlight of the stay was the waitress bringing to the breakfast table to clear up an orange juice spillage a sponge/scourer that looked like it was used to clean the toilets. My girlfriend was forced to intervene saying 'don't use that - it's got hairs on'. A great shame given how nice the place looks from the outside. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is well positiones in Steyning, very clean all over, friendly staff .Very comfortable lounge area . I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

I agree that the hotel is a little tired on the inside but not unpleasantly so. I was given a free upgrade as the hotel wasn't busy and ended up paying £43.00 for large, attractive ensuite room (Willow) with a bath and shower, and some nice little extras such as fresh milk, newspaper, and use of the very pretty gardens and heated swimming pool. The breakfast was excellent and the service very friendly. One little niggle - the doors to the service/laundry room was always left open so every time you walked past you were greeted by the sight of mounds of dirty laundry and general chaos - not a terrible sight but not great!
Generally pleased and will definitely consider going back. Steyning was as lovely as ever and worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We booked Springwells for our wedding reception - lunch and evening. We were very impressed with the food, especially as it was a three course meal for 40 people, taste and quality was great, all guests agreed. The staff did all they could to ensure that we had a special day, with no request too much. We booked nearly all the rooms in the hotel, and met for breakfast downstairs in the morning which finshed the weekend perfectly.
We chose Springwells for its quaint charm, it may not have the look of a modern hotel but the decor (previously described here as "shabby chic") adds to the charm and gives it the feeling of home.
Special thanks to Pip and her staff for making us, our and family and friends feel so welcome. Looking forward to our return stay on our first anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steyning
0.7 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
9.3 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.8 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.7 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwells

Property: Springwells
Address: 9 High Street, Steyning BN44 3GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Steyning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Steyning
Hotel Class:3 star — Springwells 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Springwells Steyning, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing