We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation in a peaceful and beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mill Cottage

Welcome to Mill Cottage ! We hope you enjoy your stay !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Mill Cottage ! We hope you enjoy your stay !
Quirky mid terraced character cottage down a hidden twitten. Seasonal picture of the cottage during winter months.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to Mill Cottage ! We hope you enjoy your stay !
Quirky mid terraced character cottage down a hidden twitten.
Seasonal picture of the cottage during winter months.
Pets are welcome but please contact owner first as supplement may apply.
Sir Georges place a row of victorian workers cottages
An archway in the middle of the sir georges place  leads to mill cottage - down a twitten.
A stable door leads to a cosy sitting room with low ceilings and beams. Not suitable for tall people
An electric wood burner to keep you snug and take the chill off on an evening.
A small breakfast bar and loads of hidden storage with plenty to keep you entertained.
Country kitchen with all the mod cons
Front windows which open out overlooking cottage gardens with the noise of the mill stream close by.
All towels and bedroom and bathroom essentials are provided.  Travel cot can be provided on request.
Modern shower room.
With wet room style enclosure and under floor heating . Extra cupboard with washing machine upstairs
Private patio garden located at the rear of the cottage
Table for two in the patio garden with wisteria as the back drop.
Within a stones throw of the countryside and out onto the south downs national park
Close to Steyning high street with all the amenities and interesting independant shops
Steyning town dates back to the 16th century - beautiful sussex timber framed houses.
Close proximity to Brighton and the Sussex coast .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Steyning, Horsham District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Meander69...
1 review
“Great accommodation in a peaceful and beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage is set back from the road giving a sense of peace and tranquillity. The bubbling stream nearby adds to its charm. The bedroom is well furnished and the living room and kitchen give everything needed in a small space. Lovely walks into the South Downs from the doorstep. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith J
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Compact Cottge in great location”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Mill Cottage was perfect for our needs, 2 adults & a small dog. Cottage is well-appointed & has all necessary amenities which was ideal for a break from eating our every night! Steyning itself is well located with a range of local shops and pubs and close to lovely South Downs walks (some directly accessible from the village itself) but in any case it is close to main roads and easy journeys along the South Coast.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthfromW...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Delightful!”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Delightful little cottage - prettily decorated, well located, spotlessly clean and ... dog-friendly. The owner kindly put the heating on and left milk, teabags, soap etc. in the cottage. The garden has slightly convoluted access from the house but as I stayed in January this didn't bother me. Definitely recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazeejax
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable & well-located. Mind your head.”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We spent a week in Mill Cottage whilst visiting family in Brighton. The cottage is well located for dog walks, and village amenities as well as a short hop to the coast. The bed was comfortable and the underfloor heating in the bathroom a bonus. Being just one room wide, the cottage would warm up very quickly when increasing the thermostat. Whilst our telephone signal was poor when in the cottage, the free wifi was particularly speedy. Our only disappointment was that the garden wasn't attached to the cottage which meant having to accompany our dog each time we thought she might want to go outside - not a big deal but something we hadn't really anticipated. Prepare yourself for the low door frames, steep stairs and generally a very cosy environment. It's not a big space to be in but for a week's holiday, it was fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauljosep...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and charming”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of two and a half weeks at Mill Cottage, tucked away down a 'twitten' just a short walk from Steyning High Street. The cottage is very comfortable and provided everything we needed, to the extent that we extended our stay three times!

Steyning is a lovely town that offers a genuine sense of rural life but also benefits from being a short drive from Brighton and the coast, so Mill Cottage is an excellent place to stay for any traveller.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susi_of_B...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Tiny, cosy, quirky, well equipped cottage in a convenient location off the High street of Steyning. Very comfortable bed, great bathroom. Lots to do in the area. Only reservation - the stairs are narrow and steep and would be awkward for anyone with mobility problems, otherwise they add to the quirkiness!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Y
1 review
“A lovely little cottage”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautifully decorated little cottage with everything you could need for a relaxing holiday. The location is perfect for the lovely pubs, cafes and restaurants of Steyning and for walking on the south downs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing