We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Welcome, Great Food.... Poor Table service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarana

Tarana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Contemporary, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Tarana is on the site of what was 'Turners' Pub, keeping much of the original external facade. It is only once inside the restaurant, you really appreciate what here, you can explore the stylish, warm and friendly settings we have created to please our guests. Now experience for yourself the exceptional and unique quality we offer by visiting Tarana Restaurant.Our philosophy is simple, it is to transform our passion for Indian food into a totally enjoyable dining experience for our guests. This is achieved by offering a wonderful variety of authentic dishes, presented by attentive staff in a warm and friendly high quality setting.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Welcome, Great Food.... Poor Table service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Arrived for dinner on a Monday evening to a great welcome by a younger guy in a suit. He showed us to our table and then proceeded to offer to take out jackets before taking our drinks orders.
He then returned to take our food order and left to process this. Unfortunately thats where the good service ended. The other gentlemen who continued with the delivery of our food were very disinterested.
The main course arrived before I had had chance to eat the last of my poppadom, and unbelievably the waiter stood over, watching me whilst I uncomfortably eat the rest.... Not the best start.
When the main course arrived it was absolutely delicious! We ordered quite a few dishes, to which all upheld the same good quality.
Once we had eaten the tables were cleared by a waiter who never said a single word to us.
He wanted to take the top tablecloth, however just started lifting it, with all of our belonging on it. If he has advised us what he was about to do, we would of course helped him!

We were then given hot towels an orange segments, followed by the bill which contained a after dinner chocolate.

My final opinion of Tarana is that they have an amazing product in an amazing comfortable restaurant, which regrettably is let down by the serving staff and their lack of interest in the customer. Such a shame when they are so close to being Amazing!

I would return here....but only for a take away!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TastTheExotic, Manager at Tarana, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the service that we provided as we strive to maintain a high quality of staff service for all our customers. We do hope that you choose to visit us again.

Please check out our website for new, events and even book a table online!

Best Regards,

Jahan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    110
    47
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

A large group of us went to Tarana's on a Sunday evening. We were well looked after by the staff, the food was good and we had a very enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ceebee1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TastTheExotic, Manager at Tarana, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, we strive to maintain a high quality of food and service for all our customers.

Please check out our website for new, events and even book a table online!

Best Regards,

Jahan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Waited 25 minutes to be seated though we had booked. Waited over and hour between starter and main course . Food was barely warm on arrival. ..food was tasty but will not be returning again. Too many covers catered for than can be coped with....don't bother going on a Saturday night !!! Very disappointed!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Swarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TastTheExotic, Manager at Tarana, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to Tarana, we are very sorry that you had to wait to be seated, our team at Tarana try to avoid this situation as we strive to maintain a high standard of quality food and service.

We do hope that you chose to visit us again and look forward to seeing you.

Best Regards,

Jahan
Manager - Tarana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
173 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Midweek visit, place buzzing. Very friendly service and atmosphere. Popadoms to start, with a large selection of pickles and dips. Best I've come across. Extensive menu with all the usual dishes but also many that I've never come across before. Plenty of willing advice. More than happy to adjust heat of dishes. Price not cheap!! But good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TastTheExotic, Manager at Tarana, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent Tarana experience. We are pleased that you like our menu and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Don't forget to check out our facebook page for latest news and events plus our website for simple online booking!

Regards,

Jahan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“try it....it's really pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Varied menu with good descriptions for those not familiar with this restaurant's type of cooking.
Naga lamb was plentiful and tasty. Jalfreyzi was enjoyed along with Peshwari Nan. Usual pulau rice and sag bhaji, washed down with mineral water and a large kingfisher cost around £20 a head. Decor is excellent, and akin to the group’s daughter restaurants in nearby Lingfield. This is an Indian which has seen a lot of investment. And all the better for that. The staff are polite, helpful and pleasant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasilMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TastTheExotic, Guest Relations Manager at Tarana, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback regarding our food and décor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarana also viewed

Turners Hill, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
Turners Hill, West Sussex
 

Been to Tarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing