We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to be back”
Review of Lucknam Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucknam Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful to be back”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights back at Lucknam after having been abroad for 18 months. It was everything that we remembered and hoped it would be. In particular the staff are superb. Discreet, helpful and nothing is too much effort, in fact they seem to be able to anticipate what you want before you know yourselves.

We ate dinner both nights in the Brasserie and the menu was interesting and varied, the wine list also needs mentioning with an excellent and sensibly priced viognier one of the highlights.

The spa is also a welcome addition with some excellent facilities.

We had a deluxe room in the courtyard which was tastefully furnished, large but comfortable with a bathroom that my wife wanted to dismantle and take home with her.

Room Tip: Some courtyard rooms can only be accessed from outside so the weather can come into play when going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    123
    29
    15
    2
See reviews for
128
358
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed with colleagues for two nights in January, and was utterly charmed by the natural beauty of the parkland, the elegance of the house, the warmth of the hospitality, and the excellent quality of the cuisine. We ate in all of the different rooms available: cookery school, private dining room, conference room, restaurant and brasserie. Every morsel of food was delightful, and the people who looked after us combined impeccable service, with intelligence and humour, which made for some memorable meals. The property has been decorated and furnished with understated style, to produce a relaxing environment, where every thought has been given to guests’ pleasure. This is a very special hotel, which has a winning combination of truly exceptional comfort, hospitality and cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenleeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked Sunday lunch at this hotel and then got an offer from them to stay over on the Sunday night at a reduced rate. The hotel is lovely, a listed manor house set in extensive grounds with a fabulous formal restaurant and a less formal brasserie as well as a spa and horse riding. It is a few miles from Bath so handy for sightseeing in that area. All the bedrooms differ from each other and have the names of flowers. Even the standard double has a seating area, bathrobes, and gorgeous toiletries. It was a family birthday so the hotel staff had left a card and small box of chocolates in the room. All the staff were very thoughtful and attentive, service was top class without being obtrusive. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but as soon as I mentioned it the staff provided a tray. There are also two lovely lounge areas to have tea or coffee in, with newspapers, chess etc provided. All in all a very relaxing place to unwind and I am already planning to go back for a romantic break.

Room Tip: As the building is listed I don't think the hotel is allowed to install a lift, so there are sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wales_Solo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently stayed at Lucknam Park with my partner for 2 nights.It was just after new year and the christmas decorations and spirit was still firmly evident.
It is a most beautiful country house,with extensive parkland surrounding it .Very tastefully furnished but not overdone,the rooms exude warmth and welcome.
We had a large room looking over the front garden of the house and it was really spectacular.It even had a fireplace and fire to sit around in the evening for drinks before dinner.

There are 2 restaurants.The main one is much preferable.The chef degustation menu ,with matching wines must not be missed.The new restaurant is attached to the very new and superbly fitted out spa,and is more of a bistro.
The most wonderful experience is the friendly service,from the top down.Peter White is the manager,and he was faultless in his care and hospitality.
We would recommend this as one of the finest Country Houses in the market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laparios66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two nights' stay at Lucknam with colleagues. The brilliant team at this hotel provide what must be the most conducive atmosphere for constructive debate, creative thinking and team building. There were so many magical moments - probably the best was when when the 'working lunch' was wheeled in proudly by the waiting team. It was a feast of tiny individual gourmet savoury and sweet items, beautifully presented. We thought there was too much, but we ate nearly everything. The attention to detail is quite incredible and the charm and the warmth of all the staff make this a very special place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PMCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great venue and wonderful staff. Afternoon tea for two just before Christmas, a lovely Christmassy experience. The tea was to die for and had so much we had to ask for a box to take some home, which they seamlessly obliged with.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMincepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked to stay during Christmas week and had a lovely time. Although it was a great option for a stress-free Christmas, we would recommend this hotel more broadly to anyone looking for fantastic food, quality pampering and a lovely location.

Something of a cliche to be sure, but the staff made all the difference.Very friendly and professional across the board. As a simple thing, it is always a pleasure (for me at least) when the staff remember your name and seem genuinely pleased to help/guide you.

The rooms are a little small in comparison with some competitors, but just about everything else is faultless. The spa is among the best I've seen and the food in the main restaurant is of a very high standard. Having said that, the more casual Brasserie was also very good indeed.

We were warned that there would be too much food as part of the Christmas package and that was true.While this is a minor issue, it was almost ridiculous to have a package that included afternoon tea served almost straight after a three course lunch on Christmas Day and then segued into another 3 course dinner. Certainly not a place for weightwatching.

While certainly not a criticism of the hotel, be aware that train services from/to Paddington were a complete nightmare. If you are considering taking the train, plan the trip carefully...

Room Tip: Don't expect the quite expensive room rates to be a guide to spaciousness.Rooms below Deluxe are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colerne
10.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
782 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
711 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucknam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucknam Park

Property: Lucknam Park
Address: Studs Farm Lucknam Park, Colerne SN14 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Colerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lucknam Park 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lucknam Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucknam Park Hotel Colerne
Lucknam Park Chippenham
Lucknam Park Hotel Chippenham
Lucknam Park Colerne, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing