We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star quality all the way”
Review of Lucknam Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucknam Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Five star quality all the way”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful riding and spa break at Lucknam Park. The staff were unfailingly attentive and pleasant always remembering the little things like what tea you liked, the gluten free bread and your name! The stables and the horses were top quality and the riding on the estate good for experienced riders. The spa area is lovely especially the outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi and as in the rest of the hotel the staff were professional and attentive. We ate very well in both restaurants with the brasserie near the spa being especially good. We stayed in standard rooms which are a little small but very comfortable and although they could do with a lick of paint here and there were perfect for our needs. Overall an excellent experience and worth the high price tag.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine although small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    126
    29
    15
    3
See reviews for
130
363
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very much enjoyed my first, and hopefully not last, visit to Lucknam Park. The house and grounds are stunning. We had a standard room (looking out over the beautiful courtyard) as we were only staying for one night but for longer it might be advisable to book a larger room. The food in both the dining room and the brasserie was delicious with excellent service. Also the breakfast menu was very comprehensive and I particularly appreciated the ladylike-sized portions. I can't comment on the spa treatments but really enjoyed the large swimming pool and the steam rooms.

All in all, if you are looking for a tasteful,Michelin-starred country house experience look no further than Lucknam Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAMDick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sometimes you need to spoil yourself. This is a lovely hotel, and a fantastic Spa, and after this, our third visit, we will be back. The Michelin Star restaurant is the topper for me, and the Brasserie also delivers, only without the sense of fine dining. Previous reviews have mentioned some problems and, yes, they are there, but the two issues that irritated myself and my partner were dealt with in the right way and satisfied us. The true mark of customer focused service.
However, of some concern and the reason for 4 and not 5 marks here, is the attention to detail in the swimming pool area. It is clean, yes, and pool and steam room temperatures seemed to be correct to me, but there were too many towels left lying around when there was obviously next to no one in there. Surely, someone could come and manage this a little better for this class of hotel.
Service, I thought, was excellent throughout, but our waiters were all first class and not at all over bearing. Friendly, informative, attentive. Just what you want for a relaxing break.
Our room was above what we could expect and was well served, apart from a bizarre issue with some tea cups, but like I say, this was sorted elegantly.
We really look forward to returning and next time I would like to award them five. We'll see.

Neil, partner of Susan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystersandchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not sure this hotel lives up to expectations or prices... reception welcome was fine, and I was shown to my room. It was a courtyard deluxe room, and fine, although starting to look a little in need of updating in places - the shower edging and dripping tap - not what you expect in a very expensive 5 star. But the real shock was the Spa. I was given a lacklustre welcome - pointed towards the changing rooms. I wasn't offered a robe, and had to go back to get one and the changing room was dirty - tissues lying around, robe and towels spilling out of the laundry basket, and no hand towels. The spa itself was in similar disarray, it obviously hadn't been checked for a while - there were empty glasses all around the outside loungers by the hydro pool, one even balanced on the pool edge! The electricity cable had been pulled out of the water machine so no chilled water, and the japanese salt room and topaz room, were hardly heated! The treatments were excellent, but the tea given to me after my massage was served in a teapot with cracked lid. The pool outside the relaxation room had rubbish gathered in the pool drains.
The spa staff spent more time chatting to each other, and I twice had to ask reception to service the changing rooms... not good enough. It is an amazing facility, but needs good spa management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank filmfan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stunning and beautiful, etc etc etc, however a little repressed. Waiting staff looked petrified to show any personality, or looked quite bored. Not what you would expect from a Hotel of this standard.
Also waited over 25 mins to be served after the order was taken, Quite amusing to see the waiter panic when he realised.
In essence stunning but lacking in any sort of personality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful luxury weekend here.
The Michelin star restaurant was great: especially the cheese board!
The new spa was beautiful.
The grounds were very pleasant for a walk/run.
It looked great for horse riding, although we didn't do this on this occasion.
The staff were exceptionally service-oriented: nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel totally pampered.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My friend & I have just returned from our 4 night stay at Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa! As you arrive at Lucknam Park, you enter through the automatic gates & drive up a mile long drive way - it all seems quite dramatic as you approach the gorgeous building, surrounded by trees with gorgeous sunlight bouncing off the leaves. From the moment you arrive you're welcomed with first class service & treatment from the staff. They come out to you, park your car, take your luggage straight to your room & give you a guided tour of the hotel. The hotel's architecture & decor is simply divine, it is full if history & character. & the grounds are kept immaculate & so are the rooms. I was highly surprised with the level of cleanliness - the cleaners do a fabulous job & leave your room spotless in the morning & at turn down. The Spa at Lucknam Park is simply breathtaking! The best Spa I've ever been to definitely! It's everything you need and more - there's a big pool, a hydrotherapy pool, saunas, steam rooms, a fitness studio a relaxation room which you're taken to after having treatments, where you can spend as much time relaxing as you wish whilst sipping a fruit tea & eating strawberries! Me and my friend had a beauty treatment everyday which were all FABULOUS! Especially the Firming & Toning Body Wrap which is almost like a 4 in one; Salt exfoliation, Sea weed clay & wrap, head massage & what felt like a mini little facial, priced at £190 it's worth every bit of money & the treatment does last 2 hours.

Dining at Lucknam Park is wonderful. The Park restaurant is the more formal restaurant & of course Michelin Star. We dined here on the first night & was blown away by not only the amazing / top notch food, but the quality of service. You're treated like royalty! The Brasserie which is located through the courtyard next to the Spa is also fabulous! It's less formal & more casual - you can dine in your robe before 6pm & really relax. The food is fantastic there & the staff are lovely.

The location of Lucknam Park is wonderful & only 25 minutes away from Bath town, which we visited twice. All in all I cannot fault one single thing about my experience at Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa. Honestly now, it took me absolutely ages to decide on which Spa Hotel to visit & it was a toss up between Lucknam Park & Rudding Park & I'm delighted & satisfied with my decision. Lucknam Park welcomes all people, cultures, races, families, couples, friends - it really is a lovely, wonderful place to stay. You're made to feel at home & you'll leave wanting to visit again! I know I will one day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colerne
10.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
798 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,343 reviews
13.7 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucknam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucknam Park

Property: Lucknam Park
Address: Studs Farm Lucknam Park, Colerne SN14 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Colerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lucknam Park 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lucknam Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucknam Park Hotel Colerne
Lucknam Park Chippenham
Lucknam Park Hotel Chippenham
Lucknam Park Colerne, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing