We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend”
Review of Trimnells House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trimnells House
Ranked #1 of 1 Colerne B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night only wish it was longer.room lovely, very big and spotlessley clean. Breakfast the best I have had at b &b and cooked fresh to order. Sue the owner was so friendly and made our stay lovely. You have maney exstrs in the room and fridge in dinning room with sweets drinks and ice should you need it in the evening. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends stayed for 1 night. The owner was friendly and helpful. Everything you needed was there and rooms were really clean and well equipped. Not only did the breakfast smell good, it also tasted good. There was also a good selection of cereals and fruit. We all would stay there again with the rest of our families.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Yazz1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after our wedding and it was just what we needed to relax! Sue was very helpful on arrival and showed us to our large bright room and explained the facilities. Sue was able to tell us where to eat and have a drink. We spent the second day at the spa which was really nice although we decided to use the gym a bit too soon after breakfast! Later we went to the six bells for a drink and game of pool and then on to the Fox and hounds for a big pub meal! We recommend the macaroni cheese!

We loved our stay, both Sue and Mark made us feel very welcome and the room was extremely clean and had everything we needed!

We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I can imagine they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked an overnight stay at Trimnells as part of a family visit to Bath and the surrounding areas. We received a very warm welcome and were made to feel very much at home.The room was fantastic - light and airy and spacious, not to mention immaculately clean. Every small detail had been thought of and provided, right down to the ear buds and cotton pads.

Information about local places of interest were readily available and Sue was very helpful and knowledgeable about these places.

Breakfast was really good and all in all, I cannot recommend this Bed and Breakfast highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley-Anne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of the most gorgeous B & B's on our trip, the room was huge and superbly appointed with high quality toiletries. It looked out over a lovely garden setting. The village of Colerne is small and quaint, with two nice little pubs for dinner. Our hosts were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my new wife stayed here the day after our wedding before setting off for our honeymoon in Antigua.

We were offered a warm welcome and the room was clean and furnished beautifully. As Mark and Sue knew we were staying just after our wedding they had gone to the extra trouble of laying on some lovely little touches such as decorating the bed in hearts and putting some little hearts on the mantle piece.

These little touches were also there for our morning breakfast which was very tasty and plentiful (see picture).

We also had use of the spa facilities at Lucknam Park which were a real treat and really allowed us to relax during our stay.

We would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billett1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start... From the very beginning this place was a complete and utter nightmare! We had initial door bell attempts ignored and had to call twice via call to enter the out dated, house that is Trimnells house. We were unwillingly greeted by the male owner who was dirty, impolite and had no idea about how to treat customers upon arrival. There was no offering to help carry bags to our room, and the guest instructions were very vague. The spa treatment deal was not efficiently described and there was no opportunity to read any underlying terms and conditions. We was not told its period of validity, hence we did not have the opportunity to use the facility to its full potential during our stay. The information pack was in a scrappy looking folder with poorly formatted, outdated documents that did not give the guest any more information than one would already know as a non local visitor. The water in the rooms was not drinkable, both from the tap and from the water dispenser provided. The tea cups both had stains within them, which would be easily removed if yet were thoroughly cleaned. The shower gave out slow running water, whilst the plug was not fitted correctly. The facilities were very basic for a 4 star rated accommodation ... I have experienced better facilities at a 3 star public house! The rooms cleaning was minimal ... No new towels were given, the floors were not cleaned and the cleaning rag was left on top of the toilet?!? The breakfast selection was the average B&B menu ... Nothing exciting. The breakfast was compiled of average quality ingredients.. Cooked in an average fashion. I wasn't sure whether my mushrooms had hit a hot pan or not as they were so raw. On our final night myself and my partner were woken several times from the constant flickering of the main light in the bedroom and a member of the household walking around at 4 o clock in the morning! We certainly did not feel refreshed the next day! Upon leaving the male owner asked for payment though the stay had already been booked and paid for in advance as a gift. We were asked if we would be paying, despite card details already being transferred via a previous phone call. We found this highly unprofessional and rude. We certainly were not paying as we knew it was already paid for! He failure to store the card details appropriately the first time meant that we had to provide the card details again, the trip was booked for us by my mother and after telling us he couldn't get through to her via telephone we managed to contact her straight away. Apparently she hadn't received any missed calls and her phone was within signal and on. Suggesting that he had lied to us in an effort to take our card details. To be honest with you this was outrageous and completely unacceptable. Upon arriving home our mother was phoned AGAIN asking for her card details for the third time. This shows the complete lack of professionality and shows little customer care. Prior to the third phone call the card detail had gone through and the payment was received. For the entirety of our visit to trimnells house we felt uncomfortable, as if we were a trouble for the owners. We would not recommend staying here to ANYONE. There are many beautiful locations in and around Bath where you would receive a much better experience ... Possibly even a smile upon arrival!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trimnells House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trimnells House

Address: Trimnells House Trimnells, Colerne SN14 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Colerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colerne
Price Range: $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trimnells House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Colerne, within a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, Trimnells House offers high quality guest accommodation in four spacious, versatile and distinctive bedrooms all with their own en suite facilities. A detached Victorian Grade II Listed Farmhouse, Trimnells House is set in the beautiful North Wiltshire countryside, just a few miles east of the City of Bath, a World Heritage Site. Perfectly located for that authentic town and country experience! If you would like more information and increased booking options eg twin, triple rooms please enquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trimnells House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trimnells House Colerne, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing