We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great pub with superb service”
Review of Shoe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shoe Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Plaitford B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very warm welcome awaits you here, the staff are very freindly and you sense they are pleased to serve you.
The food is excellent and all home cooked, the quality is superb and backed with the service what more would you want.
Even though the food is cooked to order we didn't have to wait too long, in fact we were suprised at only 20 mins.
A great pub with friendly staff well worth a try.
The Ploughmans are to die for and the fish & chips should be renamed Whale and chips.
We will certainly visit here again soon I hope

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

I visited here to break a journey and stayed in the "small double" which was as described, but fine for one person. It's a shame that the front rooms are noisy, but to be fair this was stated before booking. Time the road surface was improved.
Everything else excellent. Really good food, good beer, good value especially wine which was not at the rip off prices you get some places!. Particularly good service, which together with the set up of the rooms gave the feeling that trouble was taken for guest's comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have eaten a few times in this pub, and the food is always good. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. It does get noisy some nights within the restaurant area, and sometimes I like just to chill out and to quietly chat to my wife - which can be difficult on some nights. It is great to see so many people are using this pub, and would recommend it to eat or drink. They do bed and breakfast. The rooms are basic and comfortable, but the rooms that are to the side of the busy A36 can be noisy - unless you are used to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located by the side of the main A36
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry-Thirsty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A real treat, the staff, food and ales are all faultless.
A good local pub serving excellent home cooked foods, superb and friendly service, always consistently good.
Occaisonal entertainment is laid on and the atmosphere here really can't be beaten, the portion sizes are large and specials are on offer, the menu choice is good and gives a good cross the borad selection.
Kerry the landlady is lovely always a welcoming smile nothing is too much trouble for her and she cares about her customers.
You will be hard to find a better pub.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On a recent trip to the Isle of Wight we stayed overnight at Shoe Inn to break up our journey before getting our ferry.
It is a lovely old inn and they have put a lot of thought and time into the decoration of their rooms. It does have 4 stars though I struggled with that due to the size of the room we were in, we had also been upgraded due to being the only guests that night and were told our original room was smaller.
Lots of lovely touches... quality loo roll, tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits, toiletries, hairdryer, good quality bedding, nice bathroom fittings/shower curtain, high quality towels and nice decor. But a very small room.
Once we were settled into our room we planned on an early night ready for our early ferry the next morning. The owners were aware of this from our booking asking for an early breakfast.
When taken to our room we were told we would have been in a front room but had been moved to the back and we'd have less traffic noise. All I can say is that I dread to think how bad the traffic noise would have been at the front. We felt and heard every large vehicle that passed... the building felt like it swayed. Being on the main Salisbury to Southampton road there was a lot of large vehicles passing.
We know that old buildings of character have problems such as small rooms and being on main roads but perhaps this should also be considered when giving star ratings so that people aren't disappointed on arrival.
We then heard a loud bang and then someone using a mic saying testing testing... a live band! Right beneath our room from 9-11pm. This was very loud and the room shook even more. My husband did go down the the bar about 8pm and was told it was a blues open mic night, no apology for the noise we would have to endure.
So after a noisy and disturbed night's sleep we had a lovely breakfast, very well cooked and tasty with lots of options.
I can recommend this as a place to stay but I would check that there isn't live music on if you want an early night for an early start.
We were in room 3 at the back of the property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireangel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night to do a falconry experience, when we got there we were greeted by the owners who were really friendly and helpful, the rooms are very modern and clean and we couldn't fault the food (big portions and home cooked). The only draw back we found was, you have got the noise from the pubs smoking area and there is a very busy road out side so you get traffic noise through out the night, and been a old building it vibrates and shakes the room when a lorry passes through.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Staying at The Shoe Inn was a delight. Having the experience of staying in a 15th Century way house. We had to stoop going through the doorways in the upstairs hallway where there are only four rooms. Ours was cozy and inviting. We ordered dinner from the restaurant (which is the main focus of the establishment) and enjoyed a made to order breakfast in the morning. Across the roadway, the inn stables horses. We fed them pears from the tree out front. It is our understanding that these are retired racehorses and that they can be ridden. Check with the innkeeper.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ray-n-Sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoe Inn

Address: Salisbury Road, Plaitford SO51 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Plaitford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plaitford
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoe Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing