We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would love to come back!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

As "Heartbeat' fans, we would have been happy to stay anywhere in 'Aidensfield'. However, what we found was this wonderful hotel in a very tranquil environment. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, our room was very comfortable and quiet, the bed was comfy, the shower was really good, and the meals were not only very filling, but very tasty. And how great was it to come in from the cold to a lovely warm and welcoming fire and a cheerful greeting at reception. Sadly, we were only able to stay for one night (13th September, 2013) as we were short on time but if we are ever fortunate enough to come this way again, we would not hesitate to stay here - absolutely loved it..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    114
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
511
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

stayed here four times so far have never been disappointed. this hotel for us ticks all the boxes bedrooms very comfortable and clean many with great views. we have all ways found the staff very friendly and helpful ,lounges are very cosy and comfortable. bar food or dining room the quality for has all ways been very good and very tasty.will be coming back again and again

Room Tip: over looking the esk valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLIVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a family tradition of stopping for coffee at the hotel on our way to Whitby, our hopes were for a much-needed coffee, pleasant surroundings, a warm fire and welcoming staff at the Mallyan Spout. The surroundings were indeed delightful and the fire warm, but the welcome was non-existent, the coffee weak and tasteless, without even a biscuit served to accompany it, and the behaviour of the receptionist dismissive, as if we were importuning her. After bringing the bill and being asked about the credit card machine, she simply went back to her reception desk, worrying my 88-year-old father and keeping us all waiting until my daughter went to pay at the reception desk, where she discovered that the machine was moveable. Since we were the only guests in the lounge, the staff did not appear over-extended so it was difficult to understand why our party of five was treated so uncaringly. This was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesYorkshire, Owner at The Mallyan Spout Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am very disappointed to read your review. I only wish you had raised your concerns before you left the building or at least got in touch with me direct once you arrived home! We pride ourselves on our customer service and I can assure you this will be looked into further. All of my staff are trained to the highest level with regard to customer care and know that the "customer" must always come first, so I can only apologise and give you my assurance that this will not happen again. If you would like to discuss this in more detail please feel free to contact me at the Hotel - Nicola Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

On the way to taking my grandparents on a day trip to Whitby, we stopped off in the picturesque village of Goathland, best known as the home of Heartbeat.

The Mallyan Spout Hotel is named after a local waterfall and has all the charms of an old-fashioned inn - log fire, portraits of wartime heroes, and wood paneling. Unfortunately, the staff at the hotel are distinctly less charming than the surroundings they work in. We had to wander around for a bit before we found a sullen waitress to ask for coffee, which was unceremoniously thumped down on a tray, leaving us to serve ourselves as the cups and saucers were still piled up. The coffee itself was abysmally weak, and when we asked for the bill and card machine the waitress disappeared and never came back. When I finally went to the front desk, assuming that perhaps the card machine wasn't portable, the equally grumpy receptionist took the payment with barely a word.

Highly disappointing as a stopping point for travelers to have a drink - would only recommend if the weather is awful and you need to warm up quickly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesCW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesYorkshire, Owner at The Mallyan Spout Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am sorry to read your review and do apologise if you felt in any way "undervalued" and only wish you had said something at the time. I have made a response under the other review that you have posted if you would like to read that. I do feel that two negative reviews from the same party is a little unfair!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went here by chance and absolutely loved it. Beautiful hotel with very nice staff. Very relaxed and informal. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and another sitting by the fire in one of the lounges. Breakfast was the best I have had. Lovely fresh fruit, smoked fish, and everything else we could wish for.

We went for 2 long walks from the hotel. There are lots of other routes we could have taken. It's always nice to find somewhere we can forget the car for whole days at a time. We did have a nice trip to Whitby too though.

We feel as if we have been there for much longer than two days. We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: I can't imagine what people are complaining about the church bells for. They are not loud, pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crunchie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mallyan Spout Hotel at the end of October. Never stayed before but eaten several times in the Spout Bar and the food has always been lovely. Stayed on a 3 for 2 night deal in Room 3. Standard room at front of hotel but just beware of the church across the road with the bells every 1/4 hour during the night! The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you, ate in the Spout Bar again (you get preferential treatment for being a resident with regards to seating) so a bonus. Breakfast lovely and the service great with what you want etc. Hotel clean and cosy with the fires roaring and the nice lounge area. Would stay again, in fact need to go there right now (if only!).

Room Tip: Just beware of the front rooms at the hotel overlooking the church for the bells but nice to look ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky170971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tranent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have had another wonderful 3 day stay at The Mallyan Spout Hotel.As soon as we arrived we could feel the warmth of the hotels atmosphere and the welcome from the staff.The hotels christmas decorations added warmth of the season and are tastefully done.During our stay all the staff looked after us attentatively and with professionalism,[must not forget the staff behind the scenes who keep everthing spick and span].We ate in the dinning room each evening with the food being served and presented to a hgh standard.Thank you all at The Mallyan Spout and wish you a merry christmas.Weather permitting we'll be back in January.

Room Tip: The rooms are always spotless and kept that way during the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patandtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,052 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
828 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,877 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing