We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our first stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went here by chance and absolutely loved it. Beautiful hotel with very nice staff. Very relaxed and informal. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and another sitting by the fire in one of the lounges. Breakfast was the best I have had. Lovely fresh fruit, smoked fish, and everything else we could wish for.

We went for 2 long walks from the hotel. There are lots of other routes we could have taken. It's always nice to find somewhere we can forget the car for whole days at a time. We did have a nice trip to Whitby too though.

We feel as if we have been there for much longer than two days. We hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: I can't imagine what people are complaining about the church bells for. They are not loud, pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crunchie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    105
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
88
491
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mallyan Spout Hotel at the end of October. Never stayed before but eaten several times in the Spout Bar and the food has always been lovely. Stayed on a 3 for 2 night deal in Room 3. Standard room at front of hotel but just beware of the church across the road with the bells every 1/4 hour during the night! The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you, ate in the Spout Bar again (you get preferential treatment for being a resident with regards to seating) so a bonus. Breakfast lovely and the service great with what you want etc. Hotel clean and cosy with the fires roaring and the nice lounge area. Would stay again, in fact need to go there right now (if only!).

Room Tip: Just beware of the front rooms at the hotel overlooking the church for the bells but nice to look ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky170971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tranent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have had another wonderful 3 day stay at The Mallyan Spout Hotel.As soon as we arrived we could feel the warmth of the hotels atmosphere and the welcome from the staff.The hotels christmas decorations added warmth of the season and are tastefully done.During our stay all the staff looked after us attentatively and with professionalism,[must not forget the staff behind the scenes who keep everthing spick and span].We ate in the dinning room each evening with the food being served and presented to a hgh standard.Thank you all at The Mallyan Spout and wish you a merry christmas.Weather permitting we'll be back in January.

Room Tip: The rooms are always spotless and kept that way during the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patandtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

You could go on and on and on about this hotel but it's easier to say every thing about it is brilliant, rooms, food and especially the staff.
The area is great for walking and the North Yorks Moors steam railway has a station in the village

Room Tip: Just book and turn up to see how relaxed this place can make you feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elumatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay but as the Hotel had been recommended to us to eat in we did.A fantastic Hotel to walk in loved the day rooms for the Hotel.We went into eat i chose the steak pie & chips-to die for! Succulent meat,melt in the mouth pastry & chunky crispy chips & a jug of gravy yum.My OH had the beefburger & loved it.A really massive portion & hot & full of flavour.bar staff friendly

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saxon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantica golden beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this hotel 16 and 17 November 2013. Excellent rooms, clean, comfortable, lots of extra touches in rooms. Food is really good no matter what time do day you eat. Murder mystery night very entertaining. Staff all friendly and very helpful. We'll done Malyan Spout. Will definitely return. room 14 excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmymack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have visited here a few times and decided to stay for a night. The room was great, the food in the restaurant was good. It may just us being paranoid but we felt that we were rushed through the restaurant and perhaps we didn't fit the required guest profile? We had a restaurant booking and went down early for a pre-dinner drink. Almost immediately, we were pounced upon by what we though was an over-attentive young lady who insisted on pushing the menu on us. Within minutes, she was back wanting us to order before we had finished our drinks and prior to our booking time. This continued for our short stay in the restaurant and we felt rushed so we left. Certainly not the romantic evening we had hoped for Maybe we were in the way of their other up-market guests that night. Breakfast the following morning was an experience, we can only say that a group of guests at the next table enjoyed very peculiar exchanges regarding their family ancestry and we felt it prudent to leave a soon as we could. We will stick to eating there in future as we felt Australians weren't welcome, just a nuisance to be rushed out as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing