We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT !!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our second stay, although we have used the restaurant before. Sometimes you go back to a place and it is not so good the second time round. Not so with the Mallyan Spout. From the time you check in until the day you leave nothing is too much trouble and the quality of food, rooms and staffing are superb. This year we had a junior suite. A little more money but if you want the wow factor then it is worth it hands down. We had room 23 which has the most magnificent view, and enough room to host a large scale party The very large bathroom has recently been refurbished and is modern with everything you could want. Lovely towels, nice dressing gowns etc
The only downside is that the room is at the top of the building up several flights of stairs so not really suitable for anybody with acute walking difficulties, but for us it only served to walk off the results of the superb dinners. Keep everything the same. No changes needed what SO EVER!!
Very well done

Room Tip: Splash out on the extra for a junior suite. Other tip take the half board option. Dinners are superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVIDJARCHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    113
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
94
505
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best uk hotels we have experienced. The staff are excellent nothing is to much trouble. Our room was great one of the suites and well worth the extra. The view from our window stunning. Walks in all directions. Easy access to moors and coast. Food very good with fresh multi choice breakfast and either bar or restaurant meals from 1200. Room service quick and efficient. We will return and know a warm welcome, relaxed atmosphere and good food will be assured.








Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

One of the best hotels we've stayed in. An ideal position to visit Whitby, the Coast and tour the North Yorks moors from the comfort of a genuinely friendly welcoming hotel. Our room was well decorated, cleaned daily and quiet with tremendous views. Food was wholesome, well presented and cooked whether served in the bar or restaurant. Breakfast was always excellent The staff deserve special mention being helpful, friendly and contributed greatly to the success of our 3 day stay. We highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdixon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Treat yourself to a little bit of luxury on the Moors, this grand old manor is an awesome place to have a good look around and unwind in the luxury of the past. Great room, great little bar and fantastic dining all make for a very special place indeed. Add the position, the views and the ambience and these guys are on a winner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunKarrathaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I think this is my third review of this hotel but It's important to update experiences as you go along and this occasion the experience was every bit as enjoyable as the first.

This was a 3 night stay as part of our "War Weekend"

Like any good old English gent I have to start with a small moan. 2 out of 3 breakfasts were under par for this fine establishment. First morning we were served with 2 hard boiled poached eggs!...mentioned this to the waitress and the next morning's eggs were perfect however, our last morning's breakfast was quite simply served cold...At best luke warm. We mentioned it but didn't make a song and dance about it. One of the evening meals was also brought to us cold when it should have been hot but a mention of this to the waitress saw her quickly replace the dish with a hot one.

This is the first time we had isssues with the food as in past occasions has been superb. The ingredients are top quality and very well cooked so it looks like we just got a less than perfect service by their own usual high standards.

I have to mention the staff. Superb, to put it quite plainly. Professional, pleasant, helpfull, attentive and everything you would expect from such a well run hotel. The room we had was excellent, clean, well appointed and a great view (saying that there isn't a bad view). The room looked immaculate every evening we returned. I would tell you which room to try and get but I'm not going to just in case I make a reactionary booking and I want it...I've got more chance of getting it if I keep it to myself.

Over all. If you want a classic, picture postcard, quintessenstial, English hotel with good old fashioned hard to come by, first class customer service, good food and comfortable accommodation then look no further than this Hotel.

As for the price. Let's just say that I've paid more for a more pretentious hotel that I wouldn't have boarded my dog in...If I had one. Rooms and food worth every penny and the drinks are on a par with other pubs / hotels in the area which makes all the more reason to stay right there as the lounges are very welcoming.

Already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Every room I have had has been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just had a last minute overnight stay on Friday at The Mallyan Spout. Great break as always. We have been coming here for many years and it is always just perfect. Thanks to all who make this work so well.

Room Tip: The suite at the rear of the hotel has amazing views & a huge comfortable bed. Please don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped here for coffee one morning whilst visiting the village of Goathland (or Aidensfield if you're a Heartbeat fan!). It's a charming Hotel with lots character and extremely friendly staff who go that extra mile. Coffee was excellent and the lounge area has comfy chairs and a log fire. Would definitely recommend this place. Hope to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,205 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing