We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$213
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$174
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
630
133
28
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
630
133
28
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmallyan spoutjunior suitelovely hotelcountry hotelbar menustandard roompublic areasduckboth nightshigh standardfour poster bedlovely foodfirst classlovely roomnight breakthe north yorkshire moorsbar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 812 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

On a journey to see family much further north we had a stop-over at this hotel. What a good idea that turned out to be. We had originally booked a standard room(bed and breakfast) for the night. The hotel very kindly up-graded us on the day so we ended up at the 'top of the house' as it were. A lovely big room with its own small lounge and wonderful views of the moors from two aspects of the room. With windows that opened we were able to enjoy all the different noises of all the wildlife that was in abundance.
We had dinner in the main restaurant which was excellent good and prompt service throughout. The breakfast next morning was equally as good as the dinner and was sourced with all local produce.
Staff throughout our stay were helpful to a fault.
I am sure we will be going back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade - we found out that the room we had was the owners favourite and we could see why.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeralPutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

After years of popping into the Mallyan for a few pints and / or a bite to eat whilst stopping in a nearby holiday cottage in Goathland we finally got to stay for 3 nights in May.
As per our previous experiences, the whole process from booking the stay to being taken to our room was a pleasure. Genuinely cheery staff on reception and behind the bar (all hail Colin, Jason, Mark, et all), great food in both the restaurant and the bar (which we were allowed to switch to for 1 of the nights) were the norm throughout incuding breakfasts.
Similarly our room was clean & homely (we had room 17, a superior double, which looked out to the lawns on the side of the building).
Relaxing after a meal with a nice bottle of wine on one of the sofas in the rooms to the front of reception was the perfect way to finish the day, usually chatting to other guests who all seem likeminded in their appreciation of the unique atmosphere to be found at the Mallyan.
The only blip was on Saturday night when we asked to switch to a table for 4 in order to sit with an Australian couple we'd met & who were also eating in the restaurant that night. We were told by the young lady managing the restaurant in Jason's absence that this wouldn't be possible so we sat adjacent to each other on tables for 2. This wasn't a problem other then most of the tables for 4 in the restaurant remained empty for the entire duration of our meals and the lady seemed distracted throughout when we asked for drinks or the bill.
But no matter, this only stood out because of the exceptional service at all other times throughout our stay.
In summary, as per the majority of other reviews, the Mallyan has all of the ingredients for the perfect escape from the rat race, and my campaign to have this experience made available on the National Health Service continues apace! Paradise found...another Black Sheep please Colin!

Room Tip: We had a standard double room originally booked but upgraded for £60 for 3 nights. The superior double was well worth it
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denbydaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Its rating of 3 star is a joke. It may not have a lift or a pool, but if you are looking for a hotel with excellent staff, with delicous food, and very nice rooms, this is the place. Even after a reservation issue (my fault) they ensured we had great rooms, with such comfy beds. We travelled five hours to get to this place, and I cant wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

just had a lovely 2 night stay at the Mallyan Spout, it was recommended by a work colleague and didnt disappoint. We had a small room on the top floor overlooking the church, it was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and again cannot fault the food or the service, our only complaint was the weather!
Would love to stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Delighted to be back here and the hotel has had a bit of a make-over since my last visit. Restaurant area much improved with new curtains and decor. Excellent bathrooms in general, with Room 11 being the best !

Friendly staff who seems to love working there and speak highly of the owners. My only niggle is
car parking not that great when busy and walk to front door you encounter a few potholes, which could be a problem if wet.

Room Tip: Get Room 11, and enjoy the view of the garden and the countryside, if its not covered in fog !
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews