We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dog friendly bar with great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly bar with great food.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a great hotel to stop at after a good walk down to the Mallyan Spout and around the surrounding, the bar is dog friendly and the food is excellent quality at reasonable prices. Excellent choice on the menu including a number of vegetarian dishes delicious deserts and welcoming staff. On Sundays there is a roast option in the main restaurant and although with a dog you are still able to sit in the bar and choose the cavery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    113
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
94
505
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Frum Tarn,Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A warm Yorkshire welcome,great personalities,great food,nothing too much trouble.When we went it was freezing cold & then it snowed,very picturesque.We went into Whitby on the local double decker bus,brilliant way to travel,ice & snow on the top road! Definitely worth the visit even in winter,a hotel for all seasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-Kev9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The review is for a meal we had in the pub, I have rated everything on what I feel deserves it but 'rooms' as I couldn't comment I've put 5 so not to put down your overall score..

Simply it was amazing! Me and my girlfriend was staying in Goathland last night and decided to go out for a meal for her birthday! I had lamb shank and she had the 8oz steak and she said its the best steak that she's ever had..

The staff where professional, very smart and extremely polite.

The pub was lovely, it was warm, inviting and a lovely building! Next time we are in Goathland we will be booking in here!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoakesRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived to a warm and efficient welcome our time spent at The Mallyan Spout hotel has been a fantastic, relaxing experience. Good sized comfortable room with gorgeous views over the, Esk Valley, log burners all day in the cosy lounges, excellent food, genuinely friendly and helpful staff, Black Sheep bitter on draught in both bars all set in Heartbeat territory. What else could you want?

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and all have great views.A larger room/junior suite at the back is best in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

came here again after our first visit in june this year - marvellous! staff are friendly, nothing is too much trouble, atmosphere is very warm and welcoming, room above and beyond excellent,again, another enjoyable, comfortable, didn't want it to end stay!!! will be back next year!!

Room Tip: junior suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 597sarah_s597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently returned form three nights at the Mallyan Spout Hotel on their winter warmer deal. It was excellent value staying in a lovely well run hotel. The staff were excellent, professional and friendly. Our room was beautiful and the food delicious. The location in Goathland is very handy for local walks or visiting the coast.
Treat yourself - visit the Mallyan Spout Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shushannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked the junior suite with sleigh bed for my partner's birthday. What you can't see on the photo on the website is that when you walk in there is a panoramic window at the far end of the room with the most stunning view !! Everything in the bedroom and sumptuous bathroom are very high quality. The only downside was that we couldn't open one of the windows because flies came in. One of the very attentive staff sorted this for us when we were having dinner. This was also excellent as was the breakfast the next morning - lots of menu choices and very well prepared and presented. The garden at the back of the hotel is a special haven with lots of room and great views to enjoy a glass of wine ! Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,206 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing