We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

All reviews absolutely spot on. Service second to none. Spotless, comfortable room (5), welcoming lounge with log fire, the best breakfast I have had in any hotel, hospitable and helpful hosts, who made recommendations on all things culinary and sights etc., evening making bookings for local restaurant. the only downside is that due to the level of positive reviews this property will be very difficult to find a place in soon!! I'll be back

Room Tip: Room 5 excellent single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIchardTerry59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
168
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Don't normally write these reviews, but having read a review earlier about a certain room in the B & B felt I'd best press my finger on the keyboard. We've stayed here a few times (they know us so well). We've stopped in Room 2 on numerous occasions and can confirm that the bed isn't lumpy or uncomfortable and that the shower doesn't go off on one! In fact, the room is fantastic with lovely views right across the moor. The only thing that might disturb your sleep are the woolly sheep walking across the common (sheep),they have a habit of shouting early on a morning, guess it better than an alarm clock. Liz, Keith & Kelly are the best hosts we've ever come across. Keith carries your bags, Kelly makes the tea & cakes and Liz just has a good old natter! Perfect. Nothing too much trouble for these people, from booking tables at the local pub, to sorting out a light supper when you don't want to go to the pub. As well as sorting out and booking you a dining experience on the North Yorks Moors Steam train. I don't know where to begin with breakfast..... but if they haven't got what you want it is probably because it hasn't been invented. Try the breakfast scones. One day Liz will find me breaking into the kitchen in search of. Slightly different experience all round to a B & B which we stopped in, in the next village which was awful. To quote 'you'll have what you are given for breakfast, if you don't like it, leave it'. Mhhhh we've not been back. Anyway it is so good that we've been back with two lots of friends who all agree with us that it is simply perfect. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant. But we both like room 2 & 4 - views across the moors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridget419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I like to have a weekend away for our anniversary, and this is by far the best of any guesthouse or hotel we've stayed at. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The rooms were spacious & spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were great, ample car parking.
We cant wait to go back to spend another weekend there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincolneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Anyone wanting to learn how to run a first class guest house doesn't need to call in the Hotel Inspector - they just need to book into the Fairhaven for a stay and see how it should be done.

It's hard to say anything about this wonderful place that hasn't already been said but trust me it merits all the rave reviews. I booked it on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews and am very glad I did. A very warm and friendly welcome on arrival and we were looked after wonderfully from then on - tea and cakes to unwind, fantastic breakfasts and a wealth of advice on the best places to go/see.

The location is ideal, just a five minute leisurely stroll to Goathland station on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway meant we could have a steam train trip into Whitby and then explore this fascinating town. Robin Hood's Bay was another gem the owners told us about. There's also a myriad of walks around the house itself (loads of maps and walking guides available in the guesthouse).

The house itself is in immaculate condition and the facilities are great. Loved the welcoming log fire in the sitting room. Watching the sheep, pheasants and various wildlife right outside the house was also great fun!

This was our first visit, but just like many of the other reviewers, it certainly won't be the last.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sahaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

this was the first time we had been to this b&b. and what a find. set in the village of goathland ,close to the shops and a short walk to the station. the accomadation was excellant. we had a supersize room. it was very clean and spacious. the hosts kieth,liz and kelly were absolutley first class,nothing was too much trouble and it was done with a smile on their faces. the breakfast in the morning was out of this world, and set you up for the day.we shall certainly be returning again. it was a excellant weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay, nothing negitive to say from the unloading of the car (with keiths help) to loading up ready to leave, nothing was to much trouble for them.
We stayed in Room 2, what a view and everything was working perfect even the shower TV and mobile , not like the recent review, oh! the matress was also prefect (almost late for breakfast, lucky the window was open and the sheep were about to wake us)
Still those nice little touches, Milk, water, fresh fruit,yoghurt always available in fridge anytime night or day FOC.
See you next year Mick & Sue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the second time our group of family & friends have been to stay at what can only be described as the most wonderfully perfect home from home. Liz,Kelly & Keith are fantastically friendly,welcoming & nothing is too much trouble. Our group of 15 had a lovely weekend,what with Liz's homemade cakes & Kelly's scons....and Keith entertaining the girls....We have yet again booked for next year & none of us can wait...As the sign in the hall states....you really do leave feeling you have new friends...Perfect place,Perfect hosts & Perfect holiday...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolafitzakerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Property: Fairhaven Country Guest House
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing