We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable 2-night stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable 2-night stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Keith, Liz and Kelly made us feel very welcome indeed! Fabulous hosts, thank you guys!

Our room (room 2) was comfortable enough, although the mattress needs replacing. This didn't stop us sleeping for the two nights we stayed however.

The view from the bedroom window was a sight to behold: just glorious and it was lovely seeing the local sheep roaming free.

Television (we were there on the night of the opening ceremony of the Olympics) was a non-starter. Still analogue, not yet digital, we couldn't get the wretched thing to work and whilst we hadn't come away to watch tele, it would have been good if it worked for the occasional programme during the evening. Not the owners' fault as any tv would have struggled to get a signal.

If you want to keep in touch with email, social networking or even to send and receive text messages on your phone, forget it, particularly if you're with O2. We could never get a signal and the wireless connection was decidedly dodgy.

Breakfasts were good though and the views from the dining room were glorious.

The shower in the ensuite is not good: water temperature control is either freezing or boiling and the shower head has a life of its own! The floor was soaked on both occasions my husband or I had used it. So be warned.

I'd stay again definitely, but if I was in Room 2 again I'd have baths and not showers.

Room Tip: Room 2 has stunning views across Goathland, so if you don't mind not having a shower that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyBatley, Owner at Fairhaven Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hi there

Thank you for your review. We would however, like to take this opportunity to respond. Firstly, whilst we understand (and appreciate) the use of Tripadvisor for guests to share their experiences, we would appreciate any feedback being raised directly with us during your stay in addition to here on the world wide web; that way we can offer any assistance immediately rather than in retrospect when the moment has passed. You were asked on departure if everything had been OK during your stay and you did not raise any problems prior to or on departure, other than the TV, which is beyond our control. You had asked earlier in the afternoon if the opening ceremony would be on the TV in the lounge and we confirmed that it would be.

I can only apologise again re: our TV signal, as you note we are not yet digital and I couldn’t get a better signal on your behalf when I came up to your room with you. This is partly why we continue to have the TV in the guest lounge, as it has perfect signal, for all guests to use.

You are the first guests to raise a negative issue with our mattresses. In fact guests who have been in this room for the last seven nights wanted to take the mattress home with them as it is so comfortable! I can only suggest that it is a case of personal preference in this instance; usually our guests ask for the make of our mattresses for future reference as they’ve found them so comfortable. Room 2’s mattress is less than two years old.

Similarly, the mobile phone reception is also beyond our control; Orange/T-Mobile have some coverage but no other provider covers our immediate area. We would have been happy to assist with wi-fi access had you mentioned it; we offer free Wi-Fi with the access code made available to all guests in the in-room guest information. Our broadband is as good as rural broadband can be and signal in the house is 99%.

We’re more than happy to take phone messages for our guests should someone need to get in touch with you, and have a payphone in the hallway for our guests to use.

Re: the shower in your en-suite – we would have been more than happy to address any issue during your stay, if we don’t know that you’re experiencing any difficulties, we can’t offer our assistance. Again, we have never had a guest raise any issue with it, and in cleaning our bathrooms daily, have not personally experienced a problem with water flow or temperature. The showerhead is securely held in a wall bracket, and can be lifted out by hand should you require it. Again the whole bathroom is only two years old.

I’m glad you enjoyed breakfast – we pride ourselves on the extensive menu of fresh produce we offer, and that our location and views were a hit.

Just to note, during your stay we booked tables at nearby restaurants/hotels on your behalf having recommended local eateries, as we do for many of our guests. And also agreed to a lunch-time check-in with just an hour and a half’s notice, so that you could make the most of your time in the area, and provided our welcome tea and coffee and homemade baking in the Guest Lounge, as we always do.

We are really saddened by the negatives raised here, especially when we are only just being made aware by discovering them here. We strive to achieve, in what is our business and our family home, and will happily take on-board any constructive criticism and feedback to continually improve our guests’ experience. It’s just a shame we couldn’t do that during your particular stay.

With our best regards

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
176
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Another stay at the Fairhaven. Cannot find any faults with this place. Everything was spot on.This time we took our friends along with us. They were very impressed.Went for a stroll down to Beckhole. Really nice walk and a fantastic pub in Beckhole.It is easy to see why they call Yorkshire God's own county.Beautiful countryside,friendly people,and sunshine on tap.........

Room Tip: Have one of the special breakfast.......smoked salmon and scrambled eggs........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy10142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My mum and I stayed at Fairhaven for a couple of nights and really wished it could have been a lot longer. Come Monday morning, we didn't want to leave.
When we arrived on Saturday, we were greeted by Liz who very kindly offered us tea and homemade cakes which we gratefully accepted after a long journey. We sat outside enjoying the peace and quiet and stunning views.
The house itself is beautiful and felt like home straight away. We were told that we could help ourselves to milk and yoghurts from the fridge in the breakfast room at any time.
The lounge was very comfortable and well stocked with a wide selection of books and DVDS.
Liz and Keith are a lovely couple and recommended places to eat during our stay.
The breakfasts at Fairhaven are amazing with a huge selection to choose from - fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals along with the "specials" (smoked salmon whilst we were there). The cooked breakfasts were delicious (especially the sausages!). Endless tea and toast completed the experience! After a breakfast like that, we were perfectly set up for the day ahead.
The rooms were lovely and the beds really comfortable. The view from my room at the front of the house across the moors was stunning.
Liz, Keith and Kelly really made our couple of days in Goathland very special and we will definitely be returning to Fairhaven (not soon enough for me!!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

You can't go wrong staying at this delightful inn. Liz, Keith and daughter Kelly are warm, witty, and helpful. From our afternoon tea in the lounge in front of a fire when we arrived to help with loading our bags when we left, they are generous with their time, suggestions, and hospitality. Breakfasts are delicious and Keith does an excellent job serving and chatting with everyone. We enjoyed watching the sheep grazing anywhere and everywhere, "with more rights than we have" according to Kelly. We had a lovely view of the moors from our room. Unlike so many old homes that are now B&Bs, this one has large rooms and feels very spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamapajamamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We used the B&B as a base for a few days of mountain biking. Liz, Keith and Kelly were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted on arival in the car park and they kept up a high level of service thereafter. Keith even dried our cycling shoes after we had ended the day by going through a couple of local fords. Look no further if you are planning a stay in the Goathland area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A very warm welcome awaits you at Fairhaven, where Liz, Keith and Kelly make you feel more like one of the family than a guest. The guest lounge is splendid and the rooms are smart, spotlessly clean and ours had a lovely view of the moors. The breakfast was also excellent, and a lot of choice was on offer. Everyone cheerfully goes the extra mile for the guests, taking time to chat, showing an interest in what you are doing, suggesting places to visit and offering great hospitality. A must for any stay in Goathland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Following yet another amazing stay in the Fairhaven last year, we returned with our group of classic car friends in May this year, for another long weekend. We booked the whole guest house and from arrival to departure, we were treated once again, like royalty. A huge thank you to Kelly, Liz and family for their outstanding and unique service. Rooms outstanding, food - delicious, treats of cakes and biscuits with teas and coffees often - just wonderful! We cannot recommend The Fairhaven highly enough to everyone. Our tip - don't wait - book now - if you can!

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolseleyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Property: Fairhaven Country Guest House
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing