We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In heartbeat land” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halmer Grange Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
king's lynn norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In heartbeat land”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our stay was for only four nights but in this lovely village I step back in time with first class service from the owners Janet and Richard. They made us most welcome. Breakfast was good. Had no trouble sleeping in the generous size beds. Everything clean and furnishing and style sent my wife home with a few ideas. Would recommend this guest house to anyone as top quality. meal at Mallyan Spout in village pricey but try the bar menus better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallace1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
236
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Occupied 3 rooms on a family holiday in May. Quiet location at end of village. A very pleasant stay indeed - comfortable beds, friendly welcome, spotlessly clean and an excellent breakfast. The Blackberry room is especially spacious with a lovely bathroom. We particularly liked having fresh fruit salad at breakfast, individual cakes and a chocolate in our room each day, and the general attention to detail. Easy Wifi access was also good. We ate at the Mallyan Spout Hotel (conveniently opposite the B&B), the Fox and Rabbit at Lockton and the Postgate Inn at Egton Bridge. All provided very good meals and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monmouth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent place to stay, owners janet and richard very welcoming and very friendly, set in quiet location, very relaxed atmosphere, breakfast fantastic. Fantastic walks. Was a pleasure to stay there and will return most definitely.close to Mallyan Spout hotel/restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gooseberry room which is on the ground floor twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival from owner Janet and enjoyed relaxing in the beautifully decorated sitting room, with a cake and drink. We stayed in the spacious "Blackberry Room", with its Kingsize, comfortable bed. The room was tastefully decorated, and provided for all our needs. We were spoilt for choice of breakfast menu. My husband is coeliac but this presented no problem for Janet, who provided gluten free bread, and cake. Janet and Richard have created a really delightful guesthouse and maintain a high standard of accommodation. It is well situated for travellers who enjoy walking on the Yorkshire Moors, or nearby coastline. Very close-by we found the Mallyan Spout Hotel served very good food and had a friendly atmosphere. We would without doubt recommend Halmer Grange and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penjen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A beautiful B&B in a lovely part of the world. Owners Janet and Richard couldn't do enough to help (without being overbearing) and there were plenty of thoughtful details to make us feel welcome. We stayed in the Gooseberry Room, which was a twin on the ground floor. It was very tastefully decorated, spacious and had comfortable beds and a TV with integrated DVD player. The shower was nice and powerful and there were home made cakes waiting for us on both days. Breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed. Overall this is a beautifully decorated B&B and more than worth the money. I couldn't recommend this more if you are planning to stay in the Goathland area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertrude_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent b&b. Owners very attentive and lots of special little touches - nice piece of cake on hospitality tray each day. Room lovely nicely decorated. Superb breakfast freshly cooked each day. Thoroughly recommend. Close to Mallyan Spout hotel/restaurant - good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolW5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stopped here as a final night in Yorkshire for my girlfriends birthday. Location is lovely, room was spotless and very comfortable, owners very friendly and helpful (even gave my girlfriend a birthday card) and the breakfast was brilliant with wide variety.
Mallayn spout hotel is lovely for an evening meal and only a couple of minutes walk. Centre of village is only 10 minute walk for heartbeat sightseeing and North Yorkshire moor railway.
Overall a fantastic place to stay and value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padge84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halmer Grange Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halmer Grange Guesthouse

Property: Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Address: Halmer Grange The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halmer Grange Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you when you stay with us at Halmer Grange Luxury Guest House in Goathland, North Yorkshire, the village where the television series 'Heartbeat' was filmed. Come and relax with us in this beautiful area and during your stay why not help yourself de-stress with one of our holistic therapies available to guests at a discounted rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing