We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth the visit, 101% from this great b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“well worth the visit, 101% from this great b&b”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just simply stunning, brilliant hosts, brilliant accommodation, excellent food, what more can i say.....we'll be back! Nothing was too much trouble, fresh milk, even a sewing kit, they disco shower heads had us creased up laughing...a hilarious touch!

Room Tip: blackberry room was immaculate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
236
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Sorry for writing this almost 2 years late. This place is just awesome. We had our one and half year old daughter with us and the arrangement they made for us was extraordinary. This ace scores on all counts. Peaceful, clean, spacious and most importantly very warm hosts. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PankajRN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As a holiday rep who works overseas this was a perfect escape to the countryside and I'm so blown away I had to write a review :) Stayed here between the 20th-22nd with a colleague and it was the perfect choice, everything about Halmer Grange was excellent and I'm so glad I came across it.

If you're thinking of doing the tourist things around the area this is the perfect location. It's just on the edge of Goathland with beautiful views (we stayed in the Blackberry room - the master suite) which overlooked the churchyard. There were cute little touches in the rooms - chocolates on the pillows, cake and biscuits and tea/coffee facilities, memory foam matresses and fluffy bathrobes. The room is very tastefully decorated and nothing has been overlooked! In the hallway there is an extensive DVD collection and bookcase which we found handy, and of course the wireless internet across the whole house. The breakfast was the best we've ever had! Janet & Richard were extremely friendly, accommodating and very hospitable.

I would definately stay here again and would like to thanks Janet & Richard once again :)

Lorraine & Mark

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A beautiful house in a beautiful setting. We received a warm welcome and were so surprised by how beautiful our room was. It was clean and tidy,beautifully decorated and had lots of extra touches. We had cakes in our room, there was wine glasses,cork screw, sewing kit, hairdryer, chocolates on our pillow etc. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals followed by a full english. We were made to feel very comfortable throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for Janet and Richard. This was reccommended by a friend who has stayed there several times and it didn't disappoint!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blackberry room which is very large and quiet, I think it's one of the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulou371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we had a lovely, relaxing & comfortable stay - the room was tastefully decorated, very clean & very comfortable - with added touches of being able to access fresh milk & cooled water with mints on the pillows & cakes on the tea-tray
the owner was very welcoming and nothing was any trouble. the owner also does alternative therapies - my husband had an indian head massage which he found very relaxing.
breakfast was extensive & enjoyable - we hope to be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyloolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed as a couple at Halmer Grange for three nights as we wished to tour area, The guest house was ideally situated (in Goathland home of "Heartbeat") for us to visit coast and moors.
Good for walkers and motorists.
The guest house was a top grade B&B, rooms were well fitted out very comfortable, and beds excellent, Substantial breakfast (and not too early), The proprietors were very welcoming and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.
Nearby church bells rang all night but we did not hear a thing due to efficient double glazing.
would definatly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: we chose middle range room (Gooseberry room) as this was on ground floor and had twin beds. no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a wonderful stay with Janet and Richard at Halmer Grange (8th Oct 2012).The best B&B that we have stayed in.The welcome from Richard couldn't have been warmer and nothing was too much trouble. The room was wonderfully decorated and the quality of the furnishings was excellent.The whole house was spotlessly clean and the breakfast choice was extensive. Little touches made this B & B special; the cake that Janet left in the room, the bathrobes and towels,the welcome from Richard when we arrived and the offer of a cup tea or coffee,
we stayed in the gooseberry room on the ground floor the beds were extremely comfortable.
The location was just right for us close to an excellent hotel which served good quality evening meals and had a relaxing bar. Parking was easy and secluded and the small church was a bonus opposite the property.
Highly recommended. We will return.

Room Tip: The gooseberry room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
7.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halmer Grange Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halmer Grange Guesthouse

Property: Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Address: Halmer Grange The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halmer Grange Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you when you stay with us at Halmer Grange Luxury Guest House in Goathland, North Yorkshire, the village where the television series 'Heartbeat' was filmed. Come and relax with us in this beautiful area and during your stay why not help yourself de-stress with one of our holistic therapies available to guests at a discounted rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Halmer Grange Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing