We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorhaven B&B

Moorhaven B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moorhaven B&B
Ranked #9 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have stayed at Moorhaven on a number of occasions over the past 15 years. The B&B is run very well by Cath, she is friendly and knowledgable about the local area. Rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable (one is en-suite). The shower is superb! Breakfasts set you up for the day with an unlimited supply of tea, coffee and toast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Part of the charm of tiny Goathland, a village high on the Yorkshire Moors, is the sheep that belong to the Duchy of Lancaster. These black-faced sheep have a common right extending back for hundreds of years to graze on the village green and surrounding moorland. We chose to stay at Moorhaven B&B while visiting because it looked cute and we did not want to spend a lot of money. We were put off by the smell of cigarette smoke when we entered, but when Cath, the innkeeper (and the source of the smoke smell), showed us our room, which did not smell of smoke, we decided to stay.
Our first floor room (meaning we had to go up one flight of stairs) was attractively decorated, had a sink and mirror and a well-appointed tea tray. Our windows looked out onto treetops and a small sheep feeding station. Even with our windows open all night we didn’t hear a peep out of the sheep or anything else. We had to go down the hall for the toilet, shower or bath, each of which was placed in a separate room, but these rooms were immaculate and we were never even aware that anyone else was in the B&B that night.
At breakfast we found out there were 6 other people who had spent the night. Although we were seated at separate tables, we all chatted amicably while enjoying a well-prepared full breakfast.
Our plan for the day was to take a hike around Goathland using a map we had brought from Hikes Through Britain. Cath’s daughter kindly gave us advice on which direction to travel on the trail so we would not have so much uphill work.
Moorhaven B&B is a delight with the only flaw being the cigarette smell in the common areas. Cost for two with full breakfast: £54. (September 2010)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javelina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in July with family and two dogs. Spacious, clean rooms with good facilities and excellent breakfast. Very friendly and helpful owner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We love watching Heartbeat and as hubby had business in Scarborough, our visit to Goathland was ideal. Goathland is a pretty Yorkshire village and known to any Heartbeat followers as 'Aidensfield'. Moorhaven B&B is a short walk from the centre of the village and an ideal location for peace and quiet away from the hoards of visitors who flock to this particular attraction throughout the year. The decor and furnishings are in keeping with this 1938-built former doctor's house and the owner, Cath is very informative of the local area and been directly involved when Heartbeat were on location. Her hearty breakfast will set you up for the day and the stunning countryside (including the roaming sheep) will make any trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneymoonerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goathland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
#5 of 10 in Goathland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorhaven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorhaven B&B

Property: Moorhaven B&B
Address: Moorhaven The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing