We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, we like quiet!”
Review of Mulgrave Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mulgrave Cottage
Ranked #8 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, we like quiet!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed with Pauline and Dennis for the Friday and Saturday nights, absolutely ideal. After a perfect quiet night we awoke to see the sheep outside and birds on the bird table. We had the cooked breakfast which was cooked to order just how we liked it so our plates were left clean. There was also plenty of choice of cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc. Coffee making facilities and a TV in the room means that this B&B lacks nothing, you will not ask for more.

Room Tip: There is only the one B&B room so personal attention is guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildunwoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 day stay in Goathland, my friend and i stayed at Mulgrave cottage .I have to say what lovely hosts Pauline and Dennis were,making us feel part of the family rather than guests,
The room was really nice,lovely breakfast,and very helpful people.
WELL RECOMMENDED.
,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My partner and I had 3 wonderful nights at this lovely cottage in early Aug '12. As we drove across the common and pulled up at the door, our hosts, Pauline and Dennis were at the door before we even got to knock! Their welcome made us feel at home straight away. They only have the one room so it is essential to pre-book. The cottage is so charming outside and inside, and lovely garden to rear. The guest room provides a grandstand view of the tranquil village of Goathland, its well fitted out with roomy ensuite. Pauline and Dennis are great hosts and have a wealth of local knowledge which enhabced our enjoyment of the area. Breakfast was cooked exactly as we asked. We enjoyed our stay so much, we were really sad to leave!

Room Tip: Stunning cottage and area but little or no mobile reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

At the beginning of July my husband and I spent 6 days at this charming little B&B with its quaint ambience both inside and out. We felt most fortunate indeed because not only was Goathland a beautiful area in which to be located in the North York Moors, but our hosts, Pauline and Dennis, were most accommodating and friendly in every way. They gave us helpful suggestions about where we could eat in the evening, we were not disappointed once, and places of interest we might like to visit during the day. Our room was very comfortable, and in the morning we ate a tasty breakfast in the most delightful dining room. There we could enjoy watching a variety of small birds outside the window while eating our meal. Pauline and Dennis are without a doubt good representatives of "English hospitality".
D&R from Norway

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at the mulgrave for three days and nights. What a lovely location for a visit to north Yorkshire. Pauline and Dennis being wonderful hosts with an extensive knowledge of what the area has to offer. Ideal place to pick up the steam train for a visit to Whitby or Pickering or anywhere else along the line for that matter. A lovely breakfast from Pauline to set you up for the day, would highly recommend the Mulgrave to anyone considering a visit to North Yorkshire. All in all a great few days was had. Also if you enjoy good food the Mallyan Spout just up the road is well worth a look-in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atolbolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was a brilliant stay fom start to finish. My husband and I booked the NYMR pullman to celebrate our ruby anniversary and were very pleased to find that Dennis and Pauline could accomadate us.We had a wonderful stay enjoying the beautiful surroundings,the peace and quiet, the friendly locals ,the quality acommadation and super breakfast but most of all meeting our excellent hosts,Pauline and Dennis. Everything was perfect. Next time we hope to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Thoresby, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I'm always a little weary when booking into a bed and breakfast. You just never know what your hosts are going to be like, I guess its the same for them too. However, after spending 4 nights at this cottage I can highly recommend it to any one wanting to visit Goathland.
Pauline and Dennis were very accomodating, it was like staying with old friends only we have never met them before. We had a good breakfast every morning and to be honest didn't need anything else to eat until tea time. Their knowledge of the area was extensive and very helpful when planning out trips out.
The room is very comfortable and the cottage very clean, homely and welcoming. Many thanks to Pauline and Dennis for their hospitality. We will definitely put you at the top of our places to stay and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goathland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
#5 of 10 in Goathland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulgrave Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulgrave Cottage

Property: Mulgrave Cottage
Address: Mulgrave Cottage Mulgrave Cottage The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your stay will be in a period Victorian Cottage built in the 1880s. Located in a small moor side village, the cottage is across the common in the centre of the village built from stone which came from the church. The cottage is listed in the AA book of British Villages, a guide to the most interesting and attractive villages. The upstairs bedroom has uninterrupted views of the village, Heartbeats Aidensfield, and surrounding moors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing