We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed here on business for a few weeks last summer and it was very good.

I ate in the dining room most nights and all of the food was great, the owners and staff are really friendly and the hotel is very tastefully decorated. The breakfast is extra good!

For the money you can't get much better.
It's in a nice area with plenty for tourists to do including walking, Whitby and the steam railway.

I will be visiting again for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oligominerale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed at Heatherdene Hotel over the easter break and really enjoyed our time there. The hotel is located in a beautiful area and the rooms at the hotel have wonderful views over the country side. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious with home made bread, jams, fresh fruit and cooked options. The hosts were friendly and helpful giving us great advice about walks in the area. Lots of nice touches such as easter eggs, and fruit to take on walks. Would definitely recommend you stay here and we hope to return.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We have been talking for years about visiting "Heartbeats Aidensfield" and finally made it this September. The village is amazing and very little changed from what you see on the TV programme, a bit busy during the day but it quietens down in the evening.
We stayed at the Heatherdene Hotel and really enjoyed our stay there.
Our room was on the top floor with a beautiful view over the countryside. The room was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The bathroom was also well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Breakfasts were excellent and we had dinner in the hotel on 2 of our nights which were also excellent, good food, well cooked and presented.
We ate in a nearby hotel called "Mallyan Spout Hotel" on our 1st night and had their Whitby Fish and Chips which was very good and the "Black Sheep Beer " on draught was a really good bitter.
We used our free bus pass and had a trip over the moors to Whitby which is a very nice albeit busy seaside town. We returned to Goathland on the steam train which brought back some memories.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondyboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend away and stayed for two nights in room 6. This room overlooked the street, but this wasn't a problem for us.

We were made to feel welcome the minute we pulled into the drive and again everytime we came back to the hotel.

Our room was very clean with kettle and water in the room. The bathroom had a shower with lovely products to use. The double bed was very comfortable and not small as I was expecting.

Breakfast was great and with good choices. It is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, but it's nice to be up early. Our papers were on our seats waiting for us in the morning. We kept forgetting to order them and only remembered as we were going up to bed, but they were still there!

We spent an evening in the living room playing Connect 4 and looking at the view while enjoying drinks from the bar. It was a very nice evening.

I cannot fault this hotel in any way at all!! There isn't any phone reception except when you hang out of the window, but we were offered the use of the hotels phone at any time. It was lovely to just switch off and relax for a few days.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! If you want the personal service, then this is the one for you.

My husband and I would give this hotel 10/10 and a huge thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazuk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

A splendid hotel with friendly staff, lovely breakfasts and comfortable rooms. My room had stunning views over the valley which the steam railway uses. We all enjoyed our three nights and will doubtless be back. The locals in Goathland were all friendly and Whitby was a pleasant surprise (and had a ride on a 70 year old lifeboat).
So I would highly recommend the Heatherdene as a central location for the North Yorkshire Moors ... the steam railway ... Pickering, Whitby, Kilburn ... some wonderful walking ...

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have stayed at the Heatherdene five times now and we absolutley love it. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a home from home feel. Jill and Tony who have the hotel are fantastic hosts from start to finish. Jill's cooking is second to none, excellent standard which you would pay much more for anywhere else. The menu changes every night with food choice for everyone. Tony always has a great choice of wine and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. We will back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2009

This is a perfect hotel in the North Yorkshire Moors. The rooms are spacious, extremely comfortable, perfectly clean and have stunning views. The welcome is warm, friendly and inviting. The location is convenient for the North Yorshire Moors Railway (if you have the chance do the Murder Mystery on the train) and is located in the heart of Heartbeat country. Most of all the food is stunning both in its excellence and its more than reasonable pricing. You will go the first time because a friend says you should. You will go back again and again because you want to.

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything
  • Disliked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thefawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
308 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast
Address: | North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming licenced guest house surrounded by stunning scenery within the village of Goathland.Goathland is a small village in the North Yorks National Park. It has a station on the North Yorkshire steam railway. Ideal for walking on the surrounding moors, Whitby and the coast is 7 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing