We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the gothland hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goathland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gothland hotel last week pleeeeeeeeeese do not!! right from the cold reception while booking in it went down hill from there the hotel is dark dingy and the bedrooms we last decorated when greengrass were a lad!! very over priced and not value for money at all. There are other b & bs in the village and infact a really nice one just next door to the hotel. Please if you really want to visit heartbeat stay somewhere else and just pop into the bar for a drink.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dennise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 344 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in 2011, and we visited everything Heartbeat while in the area. I read the negative reviews before we left, and thought we'd find out for ourselves. The one thing this hotel lacks is embracing its' Heartbeat connection. It seems they want nothing to do with the series, and everyone working here seems tired of hearing about Heartbeat. Instead, they should embrace it, and use it for their own advantage. After all, many people come because of Heartbeat. So smile!!! Answer our questions with joy. This way people will come back! The hotel has one lady there that never smiled, and was really cranky. We tried to ignore it, and just enjoyed sitting in the bar we had seen on TV. The breakfast was excellent, but their hot meals lacked salt, so was a little tasteless. The toilets were terrible, really hard to flush. Other than that the rooms were fine. We have visited Goathland every year since, but we haven't stayed here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annbjørg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Upon arrival we were given a warm welcome from Anna, With efficient and fast check-in, Where we were offered assistance with our luggage. Our family room overlooking Scripps garage was spacious and clean, Complete with tea and coffee and little extras such as biscuits and free postcards. Mention must be made of the superb breakfast each morning, On the subject of food, We had planned to visit another restaurant in the area for an evening meal, But found that the food on offer at the pub was on par with the breakfast already mentioned, So we dined in every night.
All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful,
The beautiful village was as expected, Easily recognisable from heartbeat.
The village church is also well worth a visit, (Try to find the carved wooden mice) Although if like us you are unable to find them all there is a note on the wall telling you exactly where to look....
Also not to be missed is a trip on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, Again Goathland station is a familiar sight to fans of heartbeat and Harry Potter.
If you are fans of heartbeat then this is a must, If not, I would still recommend Goathland and it's beautiful surroundings as a place to visit.
For us, The Goathland hotel AKA Aidensfield arms offered everything that we expected, and we would recommend it to anyone planing a visit to Goathland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwardiancol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed and dined at the hotel and pub a few years back and it was likely one of the most pleasurable experiences of all the wonderful times we had while traveling the British Isles. The room was quaint and provided all necessary amenities needed. Our room looked out over Scripps garage, which only means anything to fans of Heartbeat. The pub served a wonderful beef stew in a huge Yorkshire pudding. The pints were great as well as were the locals that made this stop so very memoirable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely, charismatic place to stay in small village. All the places shown in the heartbeat series were easily accessible and you really feel like you are living within the show. All the staff were extremely helpful and our stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nalasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Goathland Hotel came to our attention like many through the series Heartbeat. However, as rural folk from Australia we were keen to stay at a "country pub with rooms." The Goathland Hotel met all our requirements. I have observed some negative feedback and have wondered if some folk may have come with unusual or unrealistic expectations. Our objective was to stay at the country pub and enjoy the lovely village of Goathland. Both the Hotel and the village were quite enjoyable. The standout feature of the Hotel were the beautiful breakfasts, the hospitality and the opportunity to meet some of the locals. As a railway enthusiast I enjoyed catching up with some like minded chaps at the bar. I hope to return to the Goathland Hotel and enjoy the many walks and of course more time on the North Yorkshire Moor Railway.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ensuite and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were not disappointed, the heartbeat local was just brilliant, even though a little crowded and loud at times it was still full of character and charm. The food was good and filling . An absolute must for any heartbeat fan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
778 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
879 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,280 reviews
2.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#135 of 153 in Whitby
41 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arncliffe Arms
Arncliffe Arms
#1 of 6 in Glaisdale
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goathland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goathland Hotel

Address: Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO225LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: $139 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional local pub and hotel. We have become world famous by sheer accident but for the very reasons Yorkshire Television chose us we like to think that the very best of an English village pub has been delivered to an international audience. Our belief is that many come because of the fictional Aidensfield but return for the spirit that is Goathland. Essentially we offer the convenience of a small hotel but with a big personality. The hotel has eight en-suite bedrooms; they all have individual characteristics and views of our wonderful moors and timeless village. Our rooms reflect the traditional building and retain all the charm and character of yesteryear. The rooms are all fully equipped with 32" LCD Televisions with Freeview, Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities and of course all fresh white linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Goathland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goathland Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing