We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a beautiful village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goathland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Goathland Hotel came to our attention like many through the series Heartbeat. However, as rural folk from Australia we were keen to stay at a "country pub with rooms." The Goathland Hotel met all our requirements. I have observed some negative feedback and have wondered if some folk may have come with unusual or unrealistic expectations. Our objective was to stay at the country pub and enjoy the lovely village of Goathland. Both the Hotel and the village were quite enjoyable. The standout feature of the Hotel were the beautiful breakfasts, the hospitality and the opportunity to meet some of the locals. As a railway enthusiast I enjoyed catching up with some like minded chaps at the bar. I hope to return to the Goathland Hotel and enjoy the many walks and of course more time on the North Yorkshire Moor Railway.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ensuite and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 344 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were not disappointed, the heartbeat local was just brilliant, even though a little crowded and loud at times it was still full of character and charm. The food was good and filling . An absolute must for any heartbeat fan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I liked this hotel due to it's connection with "Heartbeat" and I found the staff to be very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but the shower was quite small and hard to use (shower head was attached on a weird angle and didn't dispense the water properly). I didn't enjoy the food at tea time (soup was very salty), but I did enjoy my breakfast. A little disappointed with the overall experience, but will again praise the friendliness of the staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at The Goathland Hotel for the third year in a row in 2013. There have been some room upgrades done since last year and the staff were as welcoming as ever.
We enjoy this unspoiled, Yorkshire village pub - it is not five star but very clean and comfortable and better than could be expected. There is just the right combination of “Olde Worlde” and modern comforts for an enjoyable "Heartbeat" experience. The focus of this hotel hasn't changed - it is still the daytime “Heartbeat” tourist trade, so we didn’t expect (or want) 5 star accommodation or treatment.
As usual the management and staff were very helpful and friendly at all times, the hotel and rooms were clean, the food was fine, and we have no complaints – the atmosphere was relaxing, we really enjoyed our stay and we can’t wait to return - in fact we have already booked for next year.
We are amazed at some of the negative comments made here by other guests. If we wanted five star accommodation, we wouldn’t have travelled across the world to seek out Goathland. We’re sure local Yorkshire folk won’t want change at The Goathland Hotel to suit the outsiders that don’t like it the way it is - and we’ll drink to that!
Thanks again Keith, Jean, Hannah and Sophie and all the rest of the staff who made us so welcome yet again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

You must the Goathland hotel for lunch ,always do when we are in Whitby they serve really good meals but the best for me is their ham,eggs and chips .....the best ever ! Not very adventurous eating I know to some but my goodness after a walk it's just lovely !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went on a Heartbeat weekend to see the sights of one of my favourite shows. Thought it would be good to stay in the Goathland Hotel aka Aidensfield Arms. Although it was just like walking onto the set, that's where the excitement ended. Laminated signs saying no photographs, a very small room with what can only be described as cupboard shower. Very expensive for what is offered. The hotel has a large restaurant area which if it was mine I would fill with Heartbeat memorabilia, after all that's the main reason people visit.
Goathland is a lovely village and the people very friendly, Whitby is nearby so well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuzzy4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have visited this hotel many times over the years and always look forward to going back. We find the staff very friendly and helpful. This is a country pub with rooms so if you are expecting a five star hotel then maybe this is not the place for you. The rooms have great views and are always clean and tidy. The whole area is stunning and we never get bored as the changes in the seasons change the landscape dramatically. The food is freshly cooked and made from good quality, locally sourced ingredients. A hearty breakfast sets you up for the day and the varied lunchtime and evening menu means that we can have a different meal every day ( we usually stay for four nights). A jug of Pimms in the garden after a day out walking or sight seeing is the perfect ending before having a meal followed by a few drinks in the bar and then retiring to the our room for a great nights sleep in their comfortable beds. We have been fortunate enough to travel all over the world, and have stayed in some very nice hotels, but we are always drawn back to this one for at least a couple of visits each year mainly because it is such a stunning area and we know that we will get a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smartmart4475832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
772 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#125 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#1 of 2 in Grosmont
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arncliffe Arms
Arncliffe Arms
#1 of 6 in Glaisdale
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goathland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goathland Hotel

Address: Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO225LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: $135 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional local pub and hotel. We have become world famous by sheer accident but for the very reasons Yorkshire Television chose us we like to think that the very best of an English village pub has been delivered to an international audience. Our belief is that many come because of the fictional Aidensfield but return for the spirit that is Goathland. Essentially we offer the convenience of a small hotel but with a big personality. The hotel has eight en-suite bedrooms; they all have individual characteristics and views of our wonderful moors and timeless village. Our rooms reflect the traditional building and retain all the charm and character of yesteryear. The rooms are all fully equipped with 32" LCD Televisions with Freeview, Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities and of course all fresh white linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Goathland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goathland Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing