We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goathland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having been Heartbeat fans for years, I booked two nights at The Goathland for my partner's birthday treat.
We were not disappointed. Everything was great. From the minite we walked in. The bar area very cosy with a log fire and the smell of a roast beef dinner was very welcoming. The staff were friendly and polite. The bedroom was cosy and warm and had a lovely view of the fields and sheep grazing in and around the car park. A good hearty cooked breckfast that kept us going all day. Excellant. The staff were helpful on our arival and suggested a day trip to Whitby on the steam strain from the station. This was a wonderful experience. Thanks must go to the staff who keep this line working and alive.
I would recomend The Goathland if you need a relaxing, slow pace of life. A time to unwind.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    54
    50
    48
    59
See reviews for
61
184
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

booked this hotel last minute to attend the whitby goth weekend, very over priced have stayed in far better places for half the price , on booking in we discovered the hotel doors get locked at 11pm unless u have an arrangement to stay out late , when we informed the staff we were going to be late on both nights of our stay we were told it was fine but if we were late the doors would be locked and we would be sleeping in the car , we couldnt work out if this was the landlords sense of humour or serious so we came home early which was very disappointing we felt like teenagers on a curfew , the food was ok but ordering breakfast from a menu was very odd and no vegan alternative , heart beat finished years ago really think its time to move with the times update your hotel or at least reduce prices to reflect the accommodation

Room Tip: dont book here if want a late night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goathland hotels

British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Coming from Canada, and yes, long time viewers of Hearbeat, we thought that we would book into The Goathland on our drive down from Edinburgh to London.
We were very well treated, both in our email communications before we arrived, and on the evening of our arrival. The staff were most welcoming and we were given an excellent room at the top with a view of the countryside.
In the morning the full English breakfast was all we could have asked.
We enjoyed the arrival of the steam trains (a short walk away) and the local train aficionados said that we were lucky to see three steam trains at the same time!
We were sorry that we hadn't booked a second night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brainsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Me, my wife and two children went into the goathland hotel for an evening drink (fourtunatly we were staying at a different B&B). On entering the Bar area we were made to feel uncomfortable by the 6 or so other drinkers who just stared at us as we waited for a drink (think deliverance). Then a woman (clearly foreign) told us we could not drink in the bar and would have to go to the lounge. I went back to the bar area and ordered some drinks, a pint, glass of wine, glass of pure orange and a lemonade (4 drinks 4 people). The waitress/bartender/maid/cleaner/doorman then presented we with 3 drinks (pint,wine and a very large pure orange juice). I asked about the lemonade and she told me I had asked for pure orange and lemonade! (Remember 4 people 4 drinks) I pointed out yes I did ask for a pure orange and A lemonade but NOT in the same glass. After quizzing me again about the order she reluctantly poured me two more drinks (only because I hadn't paid). I paid for the drinks (I think I must have got a round in for the local clientele as well, very expensive) and joined my wife and two children (yes 4 people you catch on fast, unlike the staff) at a dreary table in a dingy room only to be followed by hellga carrying out a head count of our table (1 errrr 2 errrrrrr 3 errrrrr dam it!!!!!! 4!!!!!!). There is a reason the locals either drink across the road or as we preferr the mallyan spout hotel and bar. We will never drink there again, but I don't think they will care anyway. Give us your money and get out, NEXT!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank MrDeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGoathlandHotel, Manager at The Goathland Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We find this review in extreme prejudice against or excellent international students and their key contribution to our small team and as such we decline to honour this review with a reply.

Hannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from our annual trip to this hotel and I must say that the changes to the menu suited us perfectly. Breakfast was freshly cooked and hot with plenty of choice, evening meals now have a greater variety on offer, from just a snack if you have already had fish and chips in Whitby to a more substantial meal if you need it. The staff are all very friendly and always willing to please, you only have to ask and if possible they will oblige.
The rooms are clean and very comfortable with great views, ours had been recently re-decorated and has lovely photos of the area stored on the t.v. as well as hanging on the walls. The beds have memory foam toppers and are very comfortable and ensure a good nights sleep.
The village is beautiful and well worth exploring, shops have a wide variety of goods and are reasonably priced, so you do not feel that you are being ripped off. The tea shop near the village hall serves excellent home made food. The station is just a couple of minutes from the hotel and a day rover ticket means that you can spend the whole day travelling up and down the line by train and so gives good value for money.
For this trip we were accompanied by my sister and brother-in-law who were making their first visit to this hotel and the area. We have often been asked why we always return to the same place year after year. They simply fell in love with the place, and like us, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 3&4 overlook the famous garage, other rooms have good views over the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartmart4475832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel in 1989 , before it became involved with " Heartbeat".
I am still visiting the hotel at least twice a year as I and my wife and friends thoroughly enjoy both the busy and quiet periods which the hotel experiences. Whilst the "Heartbeat" connection is fun in itself , the village is beautiful in it's own right and the hotel ideally placed for both moors walks and the steam railway station.
The hotel rooms are not huge but are adequate and have seen many improvements over the last few years with all having en-suite facilities , modern TV's, good heating and comfortable beds. Food is largely home- cooked and the staff friendly and helpful.
Whilst I would not say the Goathland hotel is " 5 star" it is full of character, kept spotlessly clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at The Goathland Hotel in July 2011 and again twice in 2012. We were hoping to find an unspoiled, Yorkshire village pub and expected the accommodation to be very basic. Well it wasn’t, not five star but very clean and comfortable and better than we expected. There is just the right combination of “Olde Worlde” and modern comforts for an enjoyable experience. The focus of this hotel is the daytime “Heartbeat” tourist trade, so we didn’t expect (or want) “celebrity style” accommodation or treatment.
The management and staff were very helpful and friendly at all times, the hotel and rooms were clean, the food was fine, and we have no complaints – the atmosphere was relaxing, we really enjoyed our stay and we can’t wait to return.
We are amazed at some of the negative comments made here by other guests. If we wanted five star accommodation, we wouldn’t have travelled across the world to seek out Goathland. We’re sure local Yorkshire folk won’t want change at The Goathland Hotel to suit the outsiders that don’t like it the way it is - and we’ll drink to that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
7.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goathland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goathland Hotel

Property: The Goathland Hotel
Address: Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO225LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional local pub and hotel. We have become world famous by sheer accident but for the very reasons Yorkshire Television chose us we like to think that the very best of an English village pub has been delivered to an international audience. Our belief is that many come because of the fictional Aidensfield but return for the spirit that is Goathland. Essentially we offer the convenience of a small hotel but with a big personality. The hotel has eight en-suite bedrooms; they all have individual characteristics and views of our wonderful moors and timeless village. Our rooms reflect the traditional building and retain all the charm and character of yesteryear. The rooms are all fully equipped with 32" LCD Televisions with Freeview, Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities and of course all fresh white linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Goathland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goathland Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing