We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day out for all ages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorp Perrow Arboretum

Thorp Perrow Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great day out for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is some years since we were last at this attraction and a lot of work has been done since them to increase its appeal to visitors of all ages. Considering how much rain we have had recently the ground was "Firm" rather than especially muddy! The Arboretum itself covers more than 100 acres and is well laid-out with woodland glades, surprise vistas, stately avenues and a lakeside walk (look out for the yellow notice "Danger - Crocodiles - No Swimming!". There is a children's Adventure/Climbing area where excess energy can be worked off, but for those who prefer to pause to admire the different views there are plenty of seats located throughout.
The Birds of Prey Section and scheduled 1.30pm Flying Display was popular with both young and old, whilst the Wildlife Park had a group of playful young meerkats to entertain us. We hadn't time to visit the walk-through wallaby paddock before it was time to be making our way back (via the tearoom, shop and plant sales area!) to our car. Allow plenty of time if you want to see everything. Spring bulbs and blossom are about to make a superb show.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Historybuff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    122
    10
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Delightful gardens with plenty to see.

We took a two-year-old and given that it was winter it was a little muddy. You'd be well advised to bring wellies and change into them in the car. However, it was gorgeous. My son loved all the trees and flowers, and was excited to spot wooden animals, a small wooden house in the trees, and a crocodile lurking in the lake.

There is a small section of animals in the back section which he loved, along with birds of prey.

The cafe food was delicious and priced as expected. Staff couldn't do enough.

Would definitely visit again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MJY79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Price needs to reflect seasonal (non)display & muddy paths.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

£8 for a walk in a park during winter is a lot to spend, especially when you're asked to pay another £3 for a 'catalogue' to know what you're looking at (the trees and shrubs are numbered so you've no idea what variety it is of x that they are without the catalogue) It would be like having products in a shop with no idea what they were - you'd just have to guess.
I know it's been quite wet recently, but this place is decades old, and it still has muddy paths - how come? Surely some grit, or other neutral material could be laid.
I would suggest that an out-of-season price nearer to what's charged by competitors - e.g. £3 Castle Bolton which also offers birds of prey.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Fletcher061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a fabulous day out. Not only are there fantastic themed gardens which take the whole day to walk around but there is a spectacular show twice a day and informative talk of the Birds of Prey. There is also a small zoo. Thorp Perrow is an all year round attraction and its great to see the changes in the gardens for Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. Highley recommended for all walks of life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

it was brilliant and i loved it has nice places to sit and has a little shop to buy your own little something nothing negative to say about it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorp Perrow Arboretum also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thorp Perrow Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing