We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage,great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Laburnum Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bedale, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Garry62
Co Durham
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage,great location”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed for 4 nights in this lovely homely cottage.It was very clean and had everything we needed and more (i needed a safety pin and found a full sewing kit).Owners provided us with detailed information re keys and directions before we arrived .Log fire was an added cosy bonus.The huge garden leads to a lovely riverside walk (a bit muddy in parts but all part of the fun) perfect for walking our little old dog Jack.Location was perfect,just a few minutes walk to shops and bars with the friendliest people and staff we have ever met.We also found an amazing pub in nearby Snape called The Castle Arms Inn.Beautiful food and the staff were so nice.(also very dog friendly).We had such a lovely break and when we visit this area again hopefully Laburnum cottage will be available for our stay.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAROLE C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The cottage was perfectly located for the amenities and hospitality of Bedale and surrounding villages, Lots of shops, pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend Panetti's and the Taste of India is the best indian restaurant I have ever eaten in. The staff were excellent and very helpful in recommending items from the menu and the wine. The garden is a gem, I can imagine it being lovely in warmer weather. The gate at the bottom of the garden leading to the beck was great to walk the dog. The cottage is very cosy and the open fire is really welcoming following a day walking. The bedrooms are a really good size with lots of cupboard and wardrobe space. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchardho...
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect christmas”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A comfortable cottage with open fire and cosy rooms. My family and I stayed here for christmas week. We found the cottage to have everything we needed and Bedale and surrounding area offered plenty to do and see.
I would recommend the cottage for any one wanting a base to discover the Yorkshire dales.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely cottage, clean, comfy, well equipped kitchen and had all home comforts. Bedrooms a good size and considering it looks a small cottage overall there is plenty of room inside.Travelled with family and dog so the garden was a real bonus. We went in October so could not sit out but would have been lovely in the summer. Located just off main street so easy to walk into town for shopping/ pub and would recommend the fish and chip shop! Lots to see and do nearby, we thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back next year.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden, good size kitchen and bedrooms
Liked least: Nothing it was excellent
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Franc...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“September Holidays”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Cottage was in ideal spot . Found the cottage very comfortable, clean ,and everything needed for self catering, lovely garden to sit out in . Found the stairs abit steep . Within walking distance to local shops. Ideal for walkers or taking the bus. If in Masham the Kings Head do a great meal .

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Su B
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable in great location”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We found this cottage suited our needs absolutely: very comfortable, very well-equipped with everything you could need. Everything was clean and new. The beds are the best we've had in holiday accommodation! Nice long garden: through a lockable gate you can access the beck and wander along the weir.

The location was good for us too: an easy stroll to the village centre which had small supermarkets, bakers, cafes and pubs. Bedale is a good place to explore Yorkshire dales and North York moors from, but there's plenty to do in the village itself too.

Would certainly return!

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieR16...
1 review
“Delightful cottage in a picturesque setting.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here in June and it was just lovely. The cottage is bright, spacious, clean and comfortable. Lovely quiet location just along from Bedale High Street with bars and restaurants. Ideal spot for exploring North Yorkshire. The garden leads down to the river which provides a perfect back drop for an evening meal. Great value. We'll be going back.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.