We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Tonic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Four Teas

The Four Teas
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Bedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Studham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Tonic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fabulous customer service - friendly, welcoming, helpful. The food was delicious, portion sizes just right (ok, really generous but I like that!) and a really good on the menu.
Will definitely be back!!!

Icing on the cake - our dog was made very welcome too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenjam79, Public Relations Manager at The Four Teas, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thankyou Lindsay for your review,lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope your dog gave us his/her approval too! Hope to see you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just right ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

A rainy day and a journey ahead; driving through Bedale, I wanted to find a pleasant tea-room with prompt service for a snack. The Four Teas met my expectations perfectly and the food I'd chosen was delicious. Amusingly, the menu explains about the four ladies who run this spot, and they describe themselves as 'old boilers'. From my experience, there's no need to be replacing any of them with a new model - this is a choice find and I'll look forward to popping in again.

Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenjam79, Public Relations Manager at The Four Teas, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thankyou very much for your lovely comments,we look forward to your next visit x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service and limited selection of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Service slow and the menu referred to a selection of cakes but the waitress apologised and said that they hadn't had time to bake, which was disappointing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippa54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenjam79, Public Relations Manager at The Four Teas, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I can only apologise sincerely for your dissapointing visit,i can assure you that this is very out of character for us not to have a good selection of cakes, the sunday and monday of that week we were exceptionly busy and as we try our hardest to gaurentee our food is as fresh as possible we bake as frequently as possible. We obviously werent prepared enough in advance that day which is something we will learn from and try to prevent happening again,i would like to hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. we are grateful for all feedback as we are still learning, we have a few new staff who are in training and i can only presume that they thought the answer you were given was correct. we are never too busy for any request where possible so again we apologise you were told that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice little Tea shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We called in here for a Cream Tea. Unfortunately at 15.00 they only had 1 scone left, shame really at this time of day. My wife had that - I am such a Gentleman!!! I had a lovely piece of cake, service is with a smile and always on hand as soon as a customer appears, without being over bearing and jumping on the customer.
Overall a very nice little Tea shop, prices are reasonable and it is very clean and tidy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenjam79, Public Relations Manager at The Four Teas, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thankyou very much for your review,glad you enjoyed your visit sorry there was a shortage of scones but in this instance i hope we are forgiven seen as you got to show what a gentleman you are. hope to see you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Food was great but hygiene not the best.

Scones were left uncovered with flies. After telling someone they covered them up then continued to serve them. I certainly don't want to eat food covered in flies.

Apart from that it is nice

Helpful?
2 Thank nmungur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenjam79, Public Relations Manager at The Four Teas, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are sorry this happened, we have got new glass domes that have no gaps and they are much better, so this shouldnt happen again,we do try our best to cover everything.Thankyou for mentioning it though as we welcome feedback whether we are going wrong or right and im Glad to hear you enjoyed the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Teas also viewed

 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Four Teas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing