We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic getaway with amazing breakfasts with home made bread and beautifully decorated rooms.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crakehall Watermill
Ranked #8 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed here in July for work and had a wonderful welcome from Alison and Lionel who do absolutely everything to make you comfortable and make you feel truly at home. The room was beautifully laid out with great furnishings, tea and coffee and even some bubble bath in the bathroom. There is a great big yorkshire breakfast to look foward to in the morning with Alison's homemade bread, and eggs and thick-cut bacon and plenty of fresh fruit.

The B&B is in the lovely village of Crakehall, but with the surrounding garden and watermill opposite you may not want to venture off the property. A really comfortable and relaxed place to stay - that I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

this was our first trip to the beautiful Yorkshire Dales and one made memorable by our stay with Lionel and Alison at Crakehall Watermill cottage, we stayed in the 2 bedroomed cottage which was beautifully presented and so welcoming, Alison and Lionel have thought of every detail to make your stay a superb experience, the beds were a joy to sleep in and the kitchen and the other rooms within the cottage had everything you could possibly require for a self catering holiday, nothing was to much trouble for Lionel and Alison who made us very welcome during our stay.
The cottage is surrounded by a lovely little stream and is set in a peaceful location, ideal for relaxing and unwinding after a days sightseeing.
The area around Crakehall is ideal for walkers and for sightseeing, we recommend a visit to The Cheese factory and you can witness the cheese being made on the premises and taste the samples too!!! also a visit to York is a must, and we also went on the steam train to whitby, this was a very enjoyable experience and very nostagic!!!
also Aysgarth Falls is lovely although you need to be able to walk through the woods for a distance to view the falls well worth a visit though, We also visited White Scar caves
these were well worth a visit although you need to be fit enough to climb 84 steps during your time in the caves and also there is a section within the caves where the ceiling is very low and you need to be able to walk with back bent so not advisable iif unable to bend or not agile.
There are many other places to visit during your stay in Yorkshire far to many to visit in one week so therefore would highly recommend a longer visit or a return trip, we will certainly be highly recommending Crakehall Watermill either for their self catering cottages or the Bed and Breakfast simply wonderful on all counts!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Crakehall Watermill House, a beautiful setting and very accessible to many places of interest. Alison & Lionel, a lovely couple, who made us very welcome. Very comfortable, immaculately clean, room with lovely en-suite, and very relaxing lounge for guests to use. The minute we arrived we felt relaxed and ready to enjoy our holiday. Enormous breakfasts - no need for lunch! Alison's tea and delicious home-made cakes always very welcome after a day exploring. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDWChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Alison and Lionel couldn't have been more hospitable....tea and homemade cake on arrival and Alison even gave us a lift to a nearby pub for dinner! The location is a real plus for this B and B as well. It's just 15 mins from the A1 and within easy reach of villages like Leyburn and Wensley. The rooms are spotless and a decent size and watermill setting itself is really picturesque. No complaints - we'd definately return!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Philippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Lionel and Alison, of Watermill House near Bedale, are the best possible hosts. Their home is welcoming, relaxed and totally unpretentious - perfect for a soothing holiday.
My recent visit (my fourth) was, as expected, a delight. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful, with attention to little details; little vases of fresh flowers from the garden greeted us and Lionel, as always, had a stock of peppermint tea ready for me, served with homemade bread for breakfast and homemade Yorkshire Tea loaf for afternoon tea. (Alison even copied the recipe for us!) It is a home from home.

I'm loath to share this secret place with many people, since I don't want it to be more booked up than it is, but as we usually book a year in advance, just to make sure, I hope that we will be OK for 2009.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityTeacherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Where do we start? This bed and breakfast is perfect. It is located in the village of Crakehall near Bedale. This is and ideal base to explore Yorkshire and the Lake District, or to just relax.

The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Our room had a large ensuite. There is a sitting room downstairs for the guests to use and plenty of reading material if you feel like relaxing.

Alison and Lionel are the perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They have a good knowledge of the local area and can advise guests of places to visit. Breakfasts were wonderful and Alison's homemade cakes and tea were very welcome after a day of travelling.

We would recommend this place to anybody wishing to explore the area of anyone just wanting a break.

(We had dinner at the Greyhound pub at Hackforth (next village)- great meal.)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestAks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Was treated to a surprise weekend away at the Crakehall Watermill b+b and was hugely impressed by the very warm welcome from Lionel and Alison.
The b + b was very cosy, and the rooms faultless - spacious, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was also lovely - a powerful shower and a good sized bath. The breakfast was hearty and tasty and we were also treated to some lovely homemade cakes from Alison when we returned from our walk.
All in all, a great stay in a very memorable bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank star_brite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedale hotels
0 mi away
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
Hillside Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Carthorpe
18 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
79 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 14 in Bedale
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crakehall Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crakehall Watermill

Address: | Little Crakehall, Bedale DL8 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Crakehall Watermill 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 high quality self-catering holiday cottages in the Yorkshire Dales sleeping 2, 4 and 6 guests. Watermill Croft, single storey former stables, sleeps 2 guests; Watermill Cottage, single storey, sleeps 4 guests and 1 well behaved dog is welcome, Miller's Retreat, 2 storey with 3 en-suite bedrooms sleeps 6 guests. Near to the market towns of Bedale, Leyburn & Masham. Peaceful location in the grounds of the historic Crakehall Watermill where stoneground wholemeal flour can still be produced and on the edge of the pretty village of Crakehall with village green, cricket field, church, dining pub, petrol station and small shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crakehall Watermill Bedale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing